ResearchStrategic Research Cooperations
Academic Alliance Braunschweig-Hannover

Academic Alliance between TU Braunschweig and Leibniz Universität Hannover

TU Braunschweig and Leibniz Universität Hannover work closely together under the umbrella of the academic alliance. It is their goal to further develop their scientific excellence together and to position themselves sustainably in international competition.

The academic alliance between the two universities was developed under the direction of the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK). A masterplan identifies common strategic development goals. It pools complementary scientific strengths in the promising research fields of mobility, metrology and life sciences.

The research lines derived from this are Mobilise, QUANOMET and SMART BIOTECS. The state of Lower Saxony will fund the alliance for five years, with start-up funding of 27 million euros – amounting to nine million euros per line of research for five years or 1.8 million euros per annum.

 

Lines of Research

MOBILISE

The goal of this line of research is to plan and design the mobility of tomorrow and to provide scientific and interdisciplinary support. Within the scope of numerous projects in the fields of digitalisation, energy system transformation, production and lightweight construction, scientists are developing approaches to solving current social, ecological, technological and economical challenges. Mobilise is built on numerous public-funded joint projects and capitalises on the structural basis of already established research centres at both universities. This includes the Automotive Research Centre Niedersachsen in Braunschweig and the L3S Research Centre in Hannover.

The proposal for the project ‘ Sustainable and Energy-Efficient Aviation (SE² A)’ is part of the line of research ‘Mobilise’.  It was submitted for funding under the ‘Excellence Strategy’ enacted by the German Government and the federal states.


QUANOMET

QUANOMET concerns the development and application of metrological methods in the field of nano- and quantum technologies. QUANOMET aims to further develop more precise measurement methods. It also influences other fields such as medical diagnosis and climate research. The requirements of metrology and especially quantum metrology are very complex and require an interdisciplinary approach. QUANOMET is excellently equipped for this. The combined expertise of Leibniz Universität Hannover, TU Braunschweig and PTB (the German National Metrology Institute) is a worldwide unique selling point regarding precision manufacturing processes, analytics and measurement technology.

The draft proposal for the project ‘QuantumFrontiers’ (Light and Matter at the Quantum Frontier: Foundations of and Applications in Metrology) was developed as part of this line of research. It was submitted for funding under the ‘Excellence Strategy’ enacted by the German Government and the federal states.


SMART BIOTECS

The line of research SMART BIOTECS focusses on the production of new medicines and the development of intelligent implants. SMART BIOTECS covers the entire value chain from basic research to patient-tailored solutions by combining existing expertise in natural products chemistry, biotechnology, micro/nanotechnology, pharmaceutical process engineering, material sciences, process and production engineering, as well as electrical engineering. Researchers are successfully working together with several partners to combat neurodegenerative and infectious diseases and to develop regenerative therapies for an ageing society. In particular, partners include Hannover Medical School (MHH) and Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI) in Braunschweig.

Furthermore, the line of research SMART BIOTECS is cooperating with the excellence clusters ‘REBIRTH – From Regenerative Biology to Reconstructive Therapy’ and ‘Hearing for All: Models, Technology and Solutions for Diagnostics, Restoration and Support of Hearing’.

CONTACT

Dr. Birte Otten
Address
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Building
Room
012
Address
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Building
Room
012

ForschungStrategische Forschungskooperationen
Wissenschaftsallianz Braunschweig-Hannover

Wissenschaftsallianz der TU Braunschweig und der Leibniz Universität Hannover

Die TU Braunschweig und die Leibniz Universität Hannover arbeiten unter dem Dach der Wissenschaftsallianz eng zusammen. Ihr Ziel ist es, ihre wissenschaftliche Exzellenz gemeinsam weiter auszubauen und sich im internationalen Wettbewerb zukunftssicher aufzustellen.   

Die Wissenschaftsallianz zwischen den beiden Universitäten ist unter Federführung des niedersächsischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) entwickelt worden. Ein Masterplan identifiziert gemeinsame strategische Entwicklungsziele. Er bündelt die komplementären wissenschaftlichen Stärken in den besonders Erfolg versprechenden Forschungsfeldern Mobilität, Metrologie und Lebenswissenschaften.

Die daraus abgeleiteten Forschungslinien heißen Mobilise, QUANOMET und SMART BIOTECS. Das Land Niedersachsen finanziert die Allianz fünf Jahre lang mit einer Anschubfinanzierung in Höhe von insgesamt 27 Millionen Euro - pro Forschungslinie sind das neun Millionen Euro für fünf Jahre bzw. 1,8 Millionen Euro pro Jahr.

 

Die Forschungslinien

MOBILISE

Die Mobilität der Zukunft zu planen und zu gestalten sowie wissenschaftlich und interdisziplinär zu begleiten, ist das Ziel der Forschungslinie Mobilise. Im Rahmen zahlreicher Projekte aus den Themenfeldern Digitalisierung, Energiewende sowie Produktion und Leichtbau entwickeln die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Lösungsansätze für aktuelle gesellschaftliche, ökologische, technologische und wirtschaftliche Herausforderungen. Mobilise baut dabei auf zahlreichen gemeinsamen, öffentlich geförderten Verbundprojekten auf und nutzt die strukturelle Basis bereits etablierter Forschungszentren an beiden Universitäten, darunter das Niedersächsische Forschungszentrum Fahrzeugtechnik in Braunschweig und das L3S Research Center in Hannover.

Der Antrag "Nachhaltige und energieeffiziente Luftfahrtsysteme" ist Teil der Forschungslinie "Mobilise". Er wurde für die Förderung im Rahmen der "Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder" eingereicht.


QUANOMET

QUANOMET umfasst die Entwicklung und Anwendung metrologischer Verfahren im Bereich der Nano- und Quantentechnologien. QUANOMET zielt auf die methodische Weiterentwicklung immer präziserer Messverfahren und wirkt damit auch in andere fachliche Bereiche hinein, etwa in die medizinische Diagnostik und die Klimaforschung. Die Anforderungen an die Metrologie und besonders die Quantenmetrologie sind äußerst komplex und erfordern eine hoch interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise. Hierfür ist QUANOMET exzellent aufgestellt: Die Kombination der Kompetenzen der Leibniz Universität, der TU Braunschweig und der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt (PTB) stellen hinsichtlich der Präzisionsherstellungsverfahren, Analytik sowie Messtechnik ein weltweites Alleinstellungsmerkmal dar.

Im Rahmen dieser Forschungslinie wurde die Antragsskizze "QuantumFrontiers" (Licht und Materie an der Quantengrenze: Grundlagen und Anwendungen in der Metrologie) entwickelt und für die Förderung im Rahmen der "Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder" eingereicht.


SMART BIOTECS

Um die Herstellung neuer Arzneimittel und Entwicklung intelligenter Implantate geht es in der Forschungslinie SMART BIOTECS. SMART BIOTECS deckt dabei die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von der Grundlagenforschung bis zur patientenspezifischen Lösung ab, indem die vorhandenen Kompetenzen in den Bereichen Naturstoffchemie, Biotechnologie, Mikro-/Nanotechnik, Pharmaverfahrenstechnik, Materialwissenschaften, Verfahrens- und Produktionstechnik sowie Elektrotechnik gebündelt werden. Um neurodegenerative Erkrankungen und Infektionskrankheiten zu bekämpfen oder auch regenerative Therapien für alternde Gesellschaften zu entwickeln, arbeiten die Forscherinnen und Forscher schon jetzt sehr erfolgreich mit diversen Partnern zusammen, darunter insbesondere mit der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover (MHH) und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung (HZI) in Braunschweig.

Darüber hinaus kooperiert die Forschungslinie SMART BIOTECS intensiv mit den Exzellenzclustern "REBIRTH - From Regenerative Biology to Reconstructive Therapy" sowie "Hearing for All: Models, Technology and Solutions for Diagnostics, Restoration and Support of Hearing".

KONTAKT

Dr. Birte Otten
Adresse
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
010
Adresse
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
010