Welcome to Leibniz Universität Hannover

The path for successfully settling in is already paved during the appointment process. An outstanding climate for negotiations and the university’s commitment to consider the individual concerns of applicants, create the conditions for gaining exceptional academics. Besides suitable facilities, this also includes numerous services for newly-appointed professors.

Dual Career Service

The  Dual Career Service  is aimed at the partners of newly-appointed professors and provides support with career perspectives in Hannover and the surrounding region. For this purpose, Leibniz Universität Hannover coordinates a network comprising all higher education institutions in Hannover, non-university research institutions, funding bodies and the city of Hannover, as well as companies, organisations, associations and foundations.

Family service

The family service at the Equal Opportunities Office supports professors with children in achieving a balance between work and family life. This includes quick, needs-oriented options for arranging child care during the school term, in the school holidays and in the event of an emergency.

University administration contact person

In order to welcome newly-appointed professors, initial guidance is provided by the university's central administration. In particular, during the first 100 days at Leibniz Universität Hannover, a contact person from the university’s central administration will be available to assist newly-appointed professors in all aspects.

Human resources development

In addition to initial guidance regarding staff development opportunities, Human Resources Development,  in department 1 also offers individually-tailored external coaching, an information day and an informal evening for newly-appointed professors together with the President and the Vice President for Appointment Issues, Human Resources Development and Continuing Education. At the information day, newly-appointed professors will gain an insight into the goals and development perspectives of Leibniz Universität Hannover. Additionally, they will gain an overview of opportunities and services, as well as becoming acquainted with contact persons in administration and in the presidential board.
Moreover, a comprehensive range of offers are permanently available for qualifications and development of management skills according to individual needs.

Willkommen an der Leibniz Universität

Bereits im Rahmen des Berufungsverfahrens werden die Weichen für ein gutes Ankommen gestellt. Ein ausgezeichnetes Verhandlungsklima und die hohe Bereitschaft von Seiten der Universität, auf individuelle Belange der Bewerberinnen und Bewerber einzugehen, schaffen die Voraussetzung für die Gewinnung hervorragender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Dazu gehören neben einer angemessenen Ausstattung auch eine Reihe von Services, die neuberufenen Professorinnen und Professoren zur Verfügung stehen.

Dual Career Service

Das Angebot des  Dual Career Service richtet sich an Partnerinnen und Partner neuberufener Professorinnen und Professoren und unterstützt diese bei der beruflichen Neuorientierung in Hannover und der Region. Die Leibniz Universität koordiniert dazu ein Netzwerk, dass neben allen hannoverschen Hochschulen, außeruniversitären Forschungs- und Fördereinrichtungen und der Stadt Hannover auch Unternehmen der Wirtschaft sowie Verbände, Vereine und Stiftungen umfasst.

Familienservice

Der Familienservice im Hochschulbüro für ChancenVielfalt unterstützt Professorinnen und Professoren mit Kindern bei der Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie. Dazu hält er schnelle und bedarfsgerechte Angebot für die Organisation von Kinderbetreuung, Kinderferienbetreuung und Kindernotfallbetreuung bereit.

Zentrale Ansprechperson der Universitätsverwaltung

Um Neuberufene willkommen zu heißen, wird von zentraler Seite eine strukturierte Startbegleitung angeboten. Insbesondere während ihrer ersten 100 Tage an der Leibniz Universität steht neuberufenen Professorinnen und Professoren in allen Fragen eine zentrale Ansprechperson der Universitätsverwaltung zur Verfügung.

Personalentwicklung

Das Sachgebiet Personalentwicklung im Dezernat 1 bietet neuberufenen Professorinnen und Professoren neben einer Erstberatung zu spezifischen Personalentwicklungsangeboten auch ein externes Coaching zu individuellen Bedarfen, einen Informationstag und einen Kaminabend für Neuberufene mit dem Präsidenten und dem Vizepräsidenten für Berufungsangelegenheiten und Personalentwicklung. Am Informationstag erhalten die Neuberufenen einen Einblick in die Ziele und Entwicklungsperspektiven der LUH sowie einen Überblick über die Angebote und Services und lernen Ansprechpersonen in der Verwaltung und im Präsidium kennen.
Darüber hinaus gibt es dauerhaft umfassende Angebote zu Qualifizierungen und zur Führungskräfteentwicklung, die je nach individuellem Bedarf wahrgenommen werden können.