UniversityJobsJob Exchange
Juniorprofessur (m/w/d) für Partikel-Methoden in der Mechanik

Junior Professorship (m/f/d) in Particle Methods in Engineering Mechanics

We strive for universality, diversity and interdisciplinarity. With more than 30,000 students, three Clusters of Excellence, 5,000 members of staff, over 150 institutes and an outstanding infrastructure, Leibniz University Hannover offers an innovative environment for top-level education and research in a comprehensive range of subjects.

The Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geodetic Science invites applications for the following position within salary scale W1 of the Lower Saxony salary system (NBesO) with tenure track leading to salary scale W2 NBesO to be appointed at the earliest possible date: Junior Professorship (m/f/d) in Particle Methods in Engineering Mechanics

The initial appointment will be limited to three years (with the possibility of an extension for a further three years). After positive evaluation, the candidate will receive a tenured professorship (salary scale W2).

The job announcement is part of the Joint Federal Government-Länder Tenure-Track Programme to promote junior researchers. It is aimed at young researchers with outstanding potential for a successful academic career.

The Position

The main focus of the research is on innovative modeling and particle methods for the numerical solution of discrete problems in mechanics as a basis for future-oriented advancements in engineering. Research topics are, for example:

  • Cross-scale coupling with FEM for large-scale processes, such as long-term forecasts for infrastructure structures
  • Innovative modelling and numerical analysis approaches for simulating the behaviour of granular media as well as fluid-particle interaction (e.g. foundation soil, sedimentation)
  • New approaches and techniques for modelling and simulation of complex manufacturing processes (e.g. for structural concrete) or additive manufacturing

Your Profil

We are seeking for an early career researcher with outstanding scientific record in computational mechanics who will establish the innovative focus of the position in research and teaching at Leibniz University Hannover at an international level.

The successful candidate will be expected to hold selected courses in English language. In the mean term participation on the teaching of basic engineering mechanics classes in German language is expected.

What we can offer you

LUH offers excellent working conditions in a vibrant scientific community combined with an exceptional standard of living in a modern city surrounded by nature. In addition, LUH provides numerous opportunities for further education and training as well as many services to support families. The Dual Career Service at LUH is aimed at the partners of newly-appointed professors and provides support with career perspectives in Hannover and the surrounding region. As a central point of contact for international researchers, the Welcome Centre provides information on non-academic queries concerning your stay in Hannover.

General duties and employment requirements are specified in the Lower Saxony Higher Education Act (NHG). For detailed information on employment requirements, please contact the Appointment Matters department.

Leibniz University Hannover promotes equal opportunities, diversity and a balance between work and family life (Equal Opportunities Office). For this reason, female researchers are particularly encouraged to apply. Furthermore, we welcome applications from international researchers. Preference will be given to equally-qualified applicants with disabilities (Representative for employees with disabilities). Upon request, part-time employment is possible.

Please submit your full application by January 31st, 2022 exclusively via the appointment portal of Leibniz University Hannover at:

https://berufungen.uni-hannover.de  

For further information, please contact Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Beer (Phone: +49 511 762-5986,
Email: beer@irz.uni-hannover.de).

Information on the collection of personal data according to article 13 GDPR can be found at https://www.uni-hannover.de/en/datenschutzhinweis-bewerbungen/

UniversitätStellenangebote & Arbeit an der UniJobbörse
Juniorprofessur (m/w/d) für Partikel-Methoden in der Mechanik

Juniorprofessur (m/w/d) für Partikel-Methoden in der Mechanik

Universalität, Diversität und Interdisziplinarität sind unsere Stärken. Mehr als 30.000 Studierende, drei Exzellenzcluster, 5000 Beschäftigte und mehr als 150 Institute: Mit einer hervorragend ausgebauten Infrastruktur bietet die Leibniz Universität Hannover Raum für innovative Lehr- und Forschungs-bedingungen auf Spitzenniveau in einem breiten Fächerspektrum.

An der Fakultät für Bauingenieurwesen und Geodäsie ist folgende Position der BesGr. W1 NBesO mit Tenure Track nach BesGr. W2 NBesO zum nächst möglichen Zeitpunkt zu besetzen: Juniorprofessur (m/w/d) für Partikel-Methoden in der Mechanik

Die Stelle ist befristet auf drei Jahre (mit Verlängerungsmöglichkeit um weitere drei Jahre). Bei positiver Evaluation erfolgt die Berufung auf eine Lebenszeitprofessur der Besoldungsgruppe W2.

Die Ausschreibung erfolgt im Rahmen des Bund-Länder-Programms zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. Sie richtet sich an Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler in einer frühen Karrierephase und mit einem außerordentlichen Potenzial für eine weitere Karriere in der Wissenschaft.

Die Position

Der Schwerpunkt der Forschungen konzentriert sich auf innovative Modellierungen und Partikel-Methoden zur numerischen Lösung diskreter Probleme in der Mechanik als Grundlage für zukunftsweisende Weiterentwicklungen des Ingenieurwesens. Forschungsthemen sind zum Beispiel:

  • Skalenübergreifende Kopplung mit FEM für großskalige Prozessabläufe, wie z.B. Langzeitprognosen für Infrastrukturbauwerke
  • Innovative Modellierung und numerische Berechnungsverfahren zur Simulation des Verhaltens granularer Medien sowie Fluid-Struktur-Interaktion (z. B. Baugrund, Sedimenttransport)
  • Neue Ansätze zur Modellierung und Simulation komplexer Herstellungsprozesse (z. B. von Beton) oder additiver Fertigung

Ihr Profil

Gesucht wird eine hervorragend ausgewiesene Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin oder ein hervorragend ausgewiesener Nachwuchswissenschaftler im Bereich der numerischen Mechanik, die/der diesen Schwerpunkt in Forschung und Lehre an der Leibniz Universität Hannover mit internationaler Sichtbarkeit etabliert.

Es wird erwartet, dass die künftige Stelleninhaberin oder der künftige Stelleninhaber ausgewählte Lehrveranstaltungen in englischer Sprache hält. Mittelfristig wird auch die Beteiligung in den Grundlagenveranstaltungen der Bachelor-Studiengänge in deutscher Sprache erwartet.

Wir bieten Ihnen

Die LUH bietet exzellente Arbeitsbedingungen in einem lebendigen wissenschaftlichen Umfeld, eingebettet in die hervorragenden Lebensbedingungen einer modernen Großstadt im Grünen. Zudem unterstützt die LUH ihre Mitarbeitenden durch vielfältige Weiterbildungs- und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten und vielseitige Angebote zur Familienunterstützung (Familienservice). Der Dual Career Service der LUH unterstützt Partnerinnen und Partner neuberufener Professorinnen und Professoren bei der beruflichen Neuorientierung in der Region Hannover (Dual Career Service). Als zentrale Anlaufstelle für internationale Forschende informiert das Welcome Centre rund um nicht-akademische Fragen zu Ihrem Aufenthalt in Hannover (Welcome Centre).

Die Aufgaben im Allgemeinen und die Einstellungsvoraussetzungen ergeben sich aus dem Niedersächsischen Hochschulgesetz (NHG). Detaillierte Information zu den Einstellungsvoraussetzungen erläutert Ihnen das Berufungsmanagement (Referat für Berufungsangelegenheiten).

Die Leibniz Universität fördert Chancengerechtigkeit, Vielfalt sowie die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie (Hochschulbüro für Chancenvielfalt). Wissenschaftlerinnen sind daher besonders zur Bewerbung eingeladen. Auch Bewerbungen von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus dem Ausland sind ausdrücklich erwünscht. Schwerbehinderte Menschen werden bei gleicher Qualifikation bevorzugt berücksichtigt (Schwerbehindertenvertretung). Auf Wunsch kann eine Teilzeitbeschäftigung ermöglicht werden.

Bitte bewerben Sie sich bis zum 31.01.2022 ausschließlich über das Berufungsportal der Leibniz Universität Hannover unter:

https://berufungen.uni-hannover.de  

Für Auskünfte steht Ihnen Herr Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Beer (Tel.: 0511 762-5986,
E-Mail: beer@irz.uni-hannover.de) gerne zur Verfügung.

Informationen nach Artikel 13 DSGVO zur Erhebung personenbezogener Daten finden Sie unter: Datenschutzhinweis bei Bewerbungen