StudiesBeratung & Hilfe
Information for refugees

Information for refugees

Starting university in a new country is often a challenge for refugees who have had to leave their countries for all kinds of reasons. On this page, Leibniz Universität Hannover provides key information about studying and the support services available at the university:

GET TO KNOW THE UNIVERSITY:

Guest Auditors

Refugees who cannot or may not yet start studying can, for example, attend courses free of charge as guest auditors to get an impression of the university and everyday university life. After registering, you may regularly attend your own choice of courses. It is possible to take exams and thus collect credit points for prospective academic studies at Leibniz Universität Hannover.

Courses for prospective students

All other courses for prospective students are, of course, also open to you. These can be found on the  Student Advice Office website. Orientation courses are usually free of charge. If, however, fees happen to be charged, feel free to contact us.

JuniorSTUDIUM

The aim of JuniorSTUDIUM is to enable you to spontaneously attend seminars and lectures free of charge to get an impression of everyday university life. Without registration, seminars and lectures in all kinds of subjects can be attended spontaneously.

University Sport

Guest students are welcome to take part in the university sports for free.

APPLICATION

  • Master’s Studies

    You can find information about the application process, application deadlines and evidence of language proficiency here.

  • Bachelor’s Studies

    If you’re interested in embarking on a Bachelor degree, please first read the information for prospective foreign students from countries outside the EU. This information contains details about the application process, important deadlines and language skills. You cannot apply directly for a place on a Bachelor’s degree programme at Leibniz University Hannover. All applications are made via uni-assist. Guidelines are available in German, in Arabic and in English language. Our student assistants in the ServiceCenter will gladly assist you with your application. Refugee applicants may receive a cost exemption from the university after a personal consultation that exempts the fees charged by uni assist.

  • German Language Skills

    German language skills must be proven for almost all study programmes in Germany. German language skills are also very helpful when studying an English-language degree programme, as the administration of the university is mostly executed in German language. You can find providers of German courses in Hannover here. In addition, there are special free German language courses in Lower Saxony for prospective students with a refugee background, so-called "IHF courses".

    IHF-courses in Hannover 2018

  • Maths Skills

    Starting in April, the Institute of Algebra, Number Theory and Discrete Mathematics offers preparation courses in mathematics. The courses are designed to renew the knowledge that prospective students gained at school or previous studies in their home countries.

Loss of Credentials

If you are no longer in possession of your school certificates or university documents, the options available to you for accessing higher education will be clarified individually on a case-by-case basis. In the case of lost credentials, please either directly contact Ludolf von Dassel, the student advisory services or the admission office in our ServiceCenter.


Initial important information about accessing higher education without documents can be found on the study in lower saxony website.


FINANCING AND COSTS

A semester fee is charged each semester for studying at Leibniz Universität Hannover.
Hannover Student Services awards refugees, amongst others, a grant to cover the semester fee, and advises international students on issues concerning financing university and finding accommodation.

The Bildungsberatung Garantiefonds Hochschule JMD and the church development service (KED) also provide information about financial issues, and may be able to provide financial support.

"Bread for the World" and the Heinrich Böll Foundation offer scholarships for students with a refugee background, to which you can apply BEFORE the beginning of your studies. Further scholarships can be found at www.stipendienlotse.de

Information sheet on scholarships for refugees
PDF, 148 KB

CONTACT PERSONS

LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITY
GENERAL
Ludolf von Dassel
Address
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
008
Address
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
008

StudiumBeratung & Hilfe
Informationen für Geflüchtete

Informationen für geflüchtete Studieninteressierte

Für Geflüchtete, die aus den verschiedensten Gründen ihre Heimat verlassen mussten, stellt die Aufnahme eines Studiums in einem neuen Land häufig eine besondere Herausforderung dar. Die Leibniz Universität möchte Ihnen auf dieser Seite die wichtigsten Hinweise rund ums Thema Studium sowie Unterstützungsangebote der Leibniz Universität Hannover vorstellen.

DIE UNI KENNENLERNEN

Gasthörendenstudium

Alle, die an einem Studium interessiert sind, können am Gasthörendenstudium teilnehmen, um erste Erfahrungen vom Studienalltag an der Leibniz Universität zu gewinnen. Nach der Anmeldung können Sie regelmäßig Veranstaltungen an allen neun Fakultäten sowie Sprachkurse am FSZ besuchen. Gasthörer erhalten Zugang zum Campus-WLAN und Stud.IP.

Weitere Informationsveranstaltungen

Selbstverständlich stehen Ihnen auch alle weiteren Veranstaltungen für Studieninteressierte offen, diese finden Sie auf den Seiten der Zentralen Studienberatung. In der Regel sind die Veranstaltungen zur Studienorientierung kostenlos, sollten im Ausnahmefall für einzelne Veranstaltungen Gebühren anfallen sprechen Sie uns gerne an!

JuniorSTUDIUM

Im Rahmen des JuniorSTUDIUMS können Sie kostenlos und unverbindlich Seminare und Vorlesungen unterschiedlichster Studienfächer besuchen, um in den Studienalltag "hineinzuschnuppern". Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Hochschulsport

Gasthörende können gerne kostenlos am Hochschulsport teilnehmen.

STUDIENBEWERBUNG

  • Masterstudium

    Hinweise zum Bewerbungsverfahren, zu Bewerbungsfristen und Sprachnachweisen für Masterbewerbungen aus Nicht-EU-Staaten finden Sie hier.  

  • Bachelorstudium

    Wenn Sie sich für ein Bachelorstudium interessieren, lesen Sie bitte zunächst die Hinweise für BewerberInnen aus NICHT-EU-Staaten. Dort finden Sie Informationen über das Bewerbungsverfahren, wichtige Fristen sowie Hinweise zu Sprachkenntnissen. Eine Bewerbung für Bachelorstudiengänge erfolgt an der Leibniz Universität Hannover über Uni Assist. Einen Leitfaden dazu gibt es in deutscher Sprache, in arabischer Sprache sowie in englischer Sprache. Unsere studentischen Hilfskräfte in der Infothek im ServiceCenter unterstützen Sie gerne bei Ihrer Bewerbung.

  • Deutschkenntnisse

    Für fast alle Studiengänge in Deutschland müssen Deutschkenntnisse nachgewiesen werden. Und auch beim Studium eines englischsprachigen Studiengangs sind Deutschkenntnisse hilfreich, da die Verwaltung der Universität meistens auf Deutsch ist. Hier finden Sie Anbieter von Deutschkursen in Hannover.

  • Mathematikkenntnisse

    Das Institut für Algebra, Zahlentheorie und Diskrete Mathematik bietet ab April Kurse in Mathematik an, um die Kenntnisse aus der Schule oder eines früheren Studiums im Heimatland vor Beginn eines Studiums in Deutschland zu erneuern.  

Verlust von Zeugnissen

Sollten Sie nicht mehr über ihre (Schul-) Zeugnisse oder über ihre Universitätsdokumente verfügen, so wird im Einzelfall individuell geklärt werden, welche Möglichkeiten des Hochschulzugangs Sie dennoch haben. Bitte sprechen Sie in diesem Falle den Ansprechpartner Ludolf von Dassel, das Team der ZSB oder direkt das Zulassungsteam Admissions im ServiceCenter an.


Erste wichtige Informationen zum Hochschulzugang ohne Dokumente sind veröffentlicht auf den Seiten der Koordinierungsstelle für Studienberatung in Niedersachsen


STUDIENFINANZIERUNG UND KOSTEN

Für das Studium an der Leibniz Universität ist pro Semester ein Semesterbeitrag zu entrichten. Das Studentenwerk Hannover vergibt unter anderem an Geflüchtete ein Stipendium für den Semesterbeitrag und berät Internationale Studierende zu Fragen der Studienfinanzierung (z.B. Bafög) sowie zum Thema Wohnen.

Auch die Bildungsberatung Garantiefonds Hochschule JMD informiert zu Finanzierungsfragen und bietet ggf. finanzielle Unterstützung an, ebenso wie der KED (Kirchlicher Entwicklungsdienst).

"Brot für die Welt" und die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung  bieten Stipendien für Studierende mit Fluchthintergrund an, auf die man sich bereits VOR Studienbeginn bewerben kann. Weitere Stipendien finden Sie unter www.stipendienlotse.de

Informationsblatt zu Stipendien für Geflüchtete
PDF, 148 KB

ANSPRECHPARTNER

LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITÄT
ALLGEMEIN
Ludolf von Dassel
Adresse
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
008
Adresse
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
008