StudiesFinances & Funding
Funding Options

Funding options – how to obtain funding

© Photo by Francesca Tirico on Unsplash

Although tuition fees no longer exist in Lower Saxony, it goes without saying that costs are indeed incurred at university, such as the semester fee, accommodation and living costs, and costs for learning materials. Here you will find a variety of possibilities to help you finance your studies:

  • BAföG (the state student loans & grants programme)

    Students with insufficient funds to pay for their living costs whilst at university may apply to the state student loans & grants programme BAföG (Federal Law on Support for Education and Training) for a grant/loan. Decisions about whether a student is eligible for BAföG and the grant amount are dependent on the income of the student’s parents and spouse, as well as on their own personal income and assets. Students who no longer live at home may receive up to €735 per month. BAföG is paid throughout the standard period of study of an undergraduate degree programme. Half of the amount is paid out as an interest-free loan; the other half is a non-repayable subsidy.

    The Studentenwerk Hannover (student services organisation) provides extensive information on the subject of BAföG and student funding. Please contact the Studentenwerk’s Social Advice Centre. The Students’ Union (AStA) also offers BAföG and social counselling.

    International students are only entitled in exceptional cases to a student grant under the state student loans & grants programme BAföG whilst at university. Students are strongly advised to obtain one-on-one counselling at the Social Advice Centre of the Studentenwerk Hannover.

  • Student loans and education funds

    When all funding avenues (BAföG, scholarship, part-time work) have been exhausted, another option is to take out a student loan.

    Various loan schemes exist. Students may opt for partial financing or full financing, for the coverage of the semester fee , or for help towards paying for their living expenses. In some cases, several options can be combined; repayment terms vary. Education funds are a new type of funding that ensure highly variable repayment terms.

    General information about student loans

    The CHE Centre for Higher Education (CHE) conducted an extensive examination of student loan providers in 2018.


    Education funds

    Education funds are another way for students to finance their time at university. In this case, the student is the investor’s “financial investment”, as it were. The student receives financial support whilst at university. The support is repaid over a specified period of time in the form of a certain percentage of the graduate’s income. To ensure that the “financial investment” is profitable, students who are expected to become high earners are more likely to receive support.

  • Scholarships

    A scholarship may also be a way of financing your studies. You will find all kinds of information about various scholarships here:

    • Stipendienlotse – scholarship database operated by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF); (German language only)
    • StipendiumPlus – website of the 13 largest organisations for the promotion of young talent


    Germany Scholarships and Lower Saxony State Scholarships

    Leibniz Universität Hannover gives its students the opportunity to apply for Germany Scholarships (Deutschlandstipendium) and Lower Saxony State Scholarships (Landesstipendium Niedersachsen).


    Leibniz Universitätsgesellschaft e.V. scholarships

    Leibniz Universitätsgesellschaft Hannover e.V. (previously the Freundeskreis) and the foundations it manages has been awarding scholarships to students in at least their third semester since winter semester 2007/2008.

    Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement or social engagement, following recommendation by a professor. For more details, please contact the Universitätsgesellschaft.

  • Study abroad scholarships

    A list of different scholarships for the promotion of study abroad is provided on the page entitled “Financing study abroad”.

  • Scholarships for international students

    Scholarships from the DAAD and other organisations

    The links below provide access to scholarship programmes and the database of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), as well as to addresses of individual foundations with websites where you can search specifically for scholarships. Please note that applications for such a scholarship must be submitted before coming to Germany.

    Leibniz Universität Hannover International Office will be happy to advise you.

  • Semester contribution scholarships for new students with social benefits

    Prospective students from families who receive certain benefits are often unable to raise the first semester fee which is due for enrollment. The Studentenwerk Hannover therefore provides one-time scholarships to affected students in the amount of the respective semester contribution.

    Semester contribution scholarships of the Studentenwerk Hannover (German language only)

  • Working part-time whilst at university

    Many students finance their time at university, either in part or in whole, by working part-time. Examples include bar work, trade fair jobs, jobs with various institutions or student assistant jobs at Leibniz Universität Hannover.

    Information about student employment

    The Deutsches Studentenwerk (German National Association for Student Affairs) has compiled key information about student employment:

    Information about secondary employment, €450 jobs and social insurance, provided by the Studentenwerk Hannover:


    Job-seeking

    Are you looking for a student job?

  • Working part-time – information for international students

    Legal requirements

    As an international student, your possibility to work is governed by your residence status:

      • Participants of German courses and of preparatory courses (Studienkolleg) may only work during the holidays in their first year of preparatory study.
      • The employment rules governing students from EU Member States, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland are the same as those for German students. The transitional arrangements on labour market access for citizens from the “new” EU Member States NO LONGER apply as of 1 May 2011.
      • As of 1 August 2012, international students at the core study stage who are not from the EU are permitted to work 120 full days or 240 half-days per year.


    This rule does NOT apply if you are employed as a tutor or student assistant at the university or the Studentenwerk: you may work for 86 hours a month as a student assistant (HiWi).

    Leibniz Universität Hannover International Office will be happy to advise you.

  • AStA loans

    If short-term funds are needed to bridge a cash flow shortage, students can apply for a loan from AStA.

QUESTIONS ABOUT STUDY COSTS?

Ask the social advice service of the Studentenwerk Hannover

The social service of the Studentenwerk Hannover offers support and advice on questions concerning student financing

Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten - Woher bekomme ich Geld?

Zwar gibt es in Niedersachsen keine Studiengebühren mehr, jedoch fallen für ein Studium natürlich trotzdem Kosten wie z.B. der Semesterbeitrag, Wohn- und Lebenskosten und Kosten für Lernmaterialien an. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie verschiedene Möglichkeiten, die Ihnen helfen Ihr Studium zu finanzieren:

  • BAföG

    Studierende, die nicht genug Geld haben, um den Lebensunterhalt während eines Studiums zu finanzieren, können BAföG (Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetz) beantragen. Ob und wie viel BAföG gezahlt wird, ist abhängig vom Einkommen der Eltern, des Ehepartners und dem eigenen Einkommen/Vermögen. Studierende, die nicht mehr zu Hause wohnen, können bis zu 670 € bekommen. BAföG wird während der Regelstudienzeit des Erststudiums gezahlt und ist zur Hälfte ein unverzinsliches Darlehen und zur Hälfte ein Zuschuss, der nicht zurückgezahlt werden muss.

    Das Studentenwerk Hannover informiert umfassend zum Thema BAföG und Studienfinanzierung. Wenden Sie sich an die Sozialberatung des Studentenwerks oder an die Service-Stellen BAföG. Auch der AStA bietet BAföG- und Sozialberatung an.

    Internationale Studierende haben nur in Ausnahmefällen Anspruch auf BAföG Förderung während Ihres Studiums. Es empfiehlt sich unbedingt eine individuelle Beratung bei der Sozialberatung des Studentenwerks Hannover.

  • Studienkredite und Bildungsfonds

    Wenn alle Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten (BAföG, Stipendium, Jobben) ausgeschöpft sind, kommt als weitere Möglichkeit ein Studienkredit oder das Studiendarlehen in Frage.

    Es gibt verschiedene Kredit-/Darlehensmodelle. Studierende können sich für eine Teil- oder Vollfinanzierung, die Übernahme der Semestergebühren oder die Unterstützung bei den Lebenshaltungskosten entscheiden. Teilweise sind mehrere Angebote kombinierbar und die Tilgungsbedingungen sind variabel. Bildungsfonds stellen eine neue Form der Finanzierung dar, diese gewährleisten sehr variable Rückzahlungsbedingungen.

    Studienkredite - allgemein

    Eine umfassende Untersuchung über die Anbieter für Studienkredite hat das Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung (CHE) im Jahr 2018 durchgeführt.

     

    Bildungsfonds

     Eine weitere Variante der Studienfinanzierung sind Bildungsfonds. Der/die Studierende ist sozusagen die „Geldanlage“ der Investoren. Während des Studiums erhält der/die Studierende eine Förderung. Die Rückzahlung erfolgt dann in einer festgelegten Zeit als bestimmter Prozentsatz des Einkommens. Damit sich die „Geldanlage“ rentiert, werden Studierende gefördert, von denen ein hohes Einkommen zu erwarten ist.

  • Stipendien

    Auch Stipendien können eine Möglichkeit zur Finanzierung des Studiums sein. Informationen rund um verschiedene Stipendien finden Sie hier:

    Deutschlandstipendium und Landesstipendium Niedersachsen

    Die Leibniz Universität Hannover bietet für Ihre Studierenden das Deutschlandstipendium und das Landesstipendium Niedersachsen an.

    Stipendien der Leibniz Universitätsgesellschaft e.V.

    Seit dem Wintersemester 2007/2008 vergeben die Leibniz Universitätsgesellschaft Hannover e.V. (ehemals Freundeskreis) und die von ihr verwalteten Stiftungen Stipendien für Studierende ab dem 3. Fachsemester.

    Die Stipendien werden nach Leistung bzw. Engagement und auf Empfehlung einer Professorin oder eines Professors vergeben. Einzelheiten können bei der Universitätsgesellschaft erfragt werden.

  • Stipendien für studienbezogene Auslandsaufenthalte

    Auf der Seite Finanzierung von Auslandsaufenthalten sind verschiedene Stipendien aufgelistet, die studienbezogene Auslandsaufenthalte fördern.

  • Stipendien für internationale Studierende

    Stipendien des DAAD und anderer Organisationen

    Folgende Links führen zu Stipendienprogrammen bzw. der Datenbank des DAAD sowie zu Adressen einzelner Stiftungen, auf deren Website Sie nach Stipendien gezielt suchen können. Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine Bewerbung für ein solches Stipendium bereits vor Ihrem Aufenthalt in Deutschland beantragt werden muss.


    Das Hochschulbüro für Internationales an der Leibniz Universität Hannover berät Sie gern.

  • Semesterbeitragsstipendien für StudienanfängerInnen mit Sozialleistungsbezug

    Studieninteressierte aus Familien, die bestimmte Sozialleistungen beziehen, sind oftmals nicht in der Lage, den zur Immatrikulation fälligen ersten Semesterbeitrag aufzubringen. Das Studentenwerk Hannover stellt daher betroffenen Studierwilligen einmalige Stipendien in Höhe des jeweiligen Semesterbeitrags zur Verfügung.

    Semesterbeitragsstipendien des Studentenwerks Hannover

  • Jobben im Studium

    Viele Studierende finanzieren ihr Studium oder einen Teil des Studiums durch Mini-Jobs. Das sind zum Beispiel Jobs in Kneipen, auf Messen, bei verschiedenen Institutionen oder als studentische Hilfskraft an der Leibniz Universität Hannover.

    Informationen zu studentischen Arbeitsverhältnissen

    Das Deutsche Studentenwerk hat die wichtigsten Informationen zu studentischen Arbeitsverhältnissen zusammengestellt:

    Informationen vom Studentenwerk Hannover zu Nebentätigkeiten, 450€ Jobs und Sozialversicherung:

     

    Jobsuche

    Sie suchen einen Studentenjob?

  • Jobben für internationale Studierende

    Rechtliche Voraussetzungen

    Als Internationale/r Studierende/r ist Ihre Möglichkeit zu arbeiten durch ihren Aufenthaltsstatus bestimmt:

    • Teilnehmer an Deutschkursen und am Studienkolleg dürfen im ersten Jahr der Studien vorbereitenden Maßnahmen nur während der Ferienzeiten arbeiten.
    • Studierende aus Ländern der EU, Liechtenstein, Norwegen und Island dürfen nach den gleichen Regeln wie deutsche Studierende arbeiten. Die arbeitsrechtlichen Übergangsregelungen für die "neuen" EU-Mitgliedsländer gelten ab 1. Mai 2011 NICHT mehr.
    • Internationale Studierende aus nicht-EU Ländern im Fachstudium dürfen seit 1. August 2012 120 ganze oder 240 halbe Tage arbeiten.

    Diese Regelung gilt NICHT, wenn Sie an der Universität oder beim Studentenwerk als Tutor bzw. Hilfskraft beschäftigt sind: Sie dürfen 86 Stunden im Monat als studentische Hilfskraft (HiWi) arbeiten. 

    Das Hochschulbüro für Internationales an der Leibniz Universität Hannover berät Sie gern.

  • AStA-Darlehen

    Um einen kurzfristig auftretenden Finanzengpass zu überbrücken, besteht die Möglichkeit ein AStA-Darlehen aufzunehmen.

FRAGEN ZUR STUDIENFINANZIERUNG?

Fragen Sie die Sozialberatung des Studentenwerks!

Unterstützung und Beratung bei Fragen zur Studienfinanzierung bietet die Sozialberatung des Studentenwerks Hannovers.