Bodies and committees of student self-administration

On this page you will find information on the different bodies and committees of student self-administration. How are they formed or elected, what do they do and how are they connected?

INFOGRAPHIC OF THE BODIES & COMMITTEES

In this infographic you can find all bodies and committees of student self-administration and their interactions. You can find more detailed information on the bodies in the sections below.

Official regulations regarding the different bodies can be found in the statute of the student body of Leibniz University Hannover
You can find a list of other relevant statutes on the AStA website

STUDENTS' UNION (ASTA)

AStA (Allgemeiner Studierendenausschuss) is the body representing all students at Leibniz Universität Hannover. According to §20 NHG it is the duty of the student body to represent the students at the university and in society in matters concerning university politics, social and cultural affairs. It is responsible for promoting the political education of students and the implementation of the university’s objectives. In this sense it represents its members politically. The student councils of the individual faculties (Fachschaften) form the basis of this organisation.

AStA consists of several officers, so that the different topic areas can be dealt with optimally and intensively. A major part of the work does not, however, consist of work specific to the different topic areas but of general issues such as maintaining contact to the student faculty councils and the structures outside the remit of the organised student body of this university.

STUDENT COUNCIL (STURA)

The task of the Student Council (Studentischer Rat, StuRa) is to make decisions on matters concerning the student body as a whole. It is comprised of nominated delegates from the individual Faculty Student Councils and of members elected directly by all the students.

The term of office of the members of the Student Council is two semesters and generally begins in the Summer Semester following the election.

The student parliament votes for an executive board which consists of three executives from the parliament body.

Elections to the decision-making bodies of the constituted student body are held in accordance with the regulations set out in the Lower Saxony Higher Education Act (NHG) as well as the charter of Leibniz University Hannover Student Body and the election regulations for the student body of Leibniz University Hannover.

COUNCIL OF ELDERS (ÄR)

The Council of Elders (Ältestenrat, ÄR) is an organ of the student body. It consists of five student members, who are elected for a one-year term of office by the Student Council.

The Council of Elders is responsible for monitoring the activities of the organs of the student body and for interpreting its rules and regulations. In addition, it can act as an arbitration tribunal in private legal disputes between students.

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF STUDENTS (VV)

A university-wide general assembly of students (Studentische Vollversammlung, VV) convenes when especially important and acute issues such as protest actions or similar are to be discussed. All students of the university are entitled to participate. The general assembly confirms the suggestion of the Senate on the appointment or dismissal of members of the presidential committee, and comments on the development and economic plans of Leibniz Universität.
Likewise, the general student representative body (AStA) can also conduct a general ballot, for example the annual decision on the semester ticket.

STUDENT REPRESENTATION WITHIN THE FACULTIES (FSR & FR)

All the students of one faculty combined form the student body of a faculty (ger.: Fachschaft) of this faculty. Students automatically become members of this body by their enrolment in a degree programme of that faculty. It is possible for students to be in multiple student bodies, if they study programmes involving multiple faculties. This is very often the case for students in the interdisciplinary bachelor’s degree programme (FüBA) e.g. when they study Biology and German. With this subject combination, a student would be a member of the faculty student body of natural sciences and the body of humanities.

The student body of a faculty elects the faculty student body council (ger.: Fachschaftsrat (FSR)) for a term of two semesters. The FSR has one Member per started 100 students in the student body with a minimum of five members. An FSR represents the interests of the faculty student body university-wide.

 The FSR is advised by the faculty student body general assembly (ger.: Fachschaftsvollversammlung (FSVV)). An FSVV is the assembly of all members of a given faculty student body. Decisions made by the FSVV are recommendations, which have to be discussed by the FSR.

Subject sections (ger.: Fachgruppen (FG)) are usually subdivisions of one faculty student body. An FG can also consist of parts of different student bodies. In most cases, subject sections include the students of all degree programmes regarding one subject of study, e.g. all students of political sciences in the FüBA, the 1-subject-bachelor’s and the master’s programme. This division of the faculty student body is not mandatory. The Faculty of Mathematics and Physics for example has no subject sections, and with thus “only” an FSR and no subordinate student councils.

The students of an FG constitute the subject section general assembly (ger.: Fachgruppenvollversammlung (FGVV)), which advises their student council (ger.:  Fachrat (FR)). Student councils are elected for one year, usually during an FGVV. An FR represents the interests of the students in its subject section university-wide. They often organize orientation events for new students, field trips or student-lead seminars. Furthermore, there are multiple student cafés and newspapers run by student councils. These councils are often the connection between students and the department administration.

Colloquially student councils, in German “Fachrat”, are often wrongly called “Fachschaft” or “Fachschaftsrat”. Additionally, not all student councils are called “Fachrat”. For example the student council of the subject section History is called “Studierendenrat Geschichte”, for historic reasons only.

Student councils are the part of student self-administration that students will interact with the most, and in which they can participate the easiest.

INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS COMMITTEE

The international students committee (Ger.: AusländerInnenkommission) is a ‚special committee of the student body’ („Besonderes Organ der Studierendenschaft“) according to §5 of the bylaes of the student body. It represents the interests of international students at the LUH and in the preparatory foundation course (Studienkolleg). The committee consists of three parts:

The general assembly of international students (Ger.: AusländerInnenvollversammlung (AVV)) consists of all international students (without German citizenship) at the LUH and in the preparatory foundation course. It is the highest decision-making body of the international student committee. The most important duties of the AVV are the election of the standing committee of international students, principle decisions in university policy regarding international students, formulating a budget plan, and controlling the work of the other parts of the international student committee.

The standing committee of international students (Ger.: Ständiger AusländerInnenausschuss (SAA)) has 5 members (called 'Referenten' in German), that are elected by the AVV for one year. The standing committee controls the work of the international student spokespersons and the adherence to the budget plan. The SAA also supports the spokespersons and approves special financial expenses.

During the university elections the two international students spokespersons (Ger.: AusländerInnensprecherInnen (AS)) are directly elected for one year by the international students. The spokespersons implement the decisions of the AVV and SAA, and represent the interests of international students in daily university politics at LUH.

AUTONOMOUS FEMINIST COLLECTIV (AFK)

The autonomous feminist collectiv (Ger.: Autonome Feministische Kollektiv (AFK)) is a ‚special committee of the student body’ („Besonderes Organ der Studierendenschaft“) according to §5 of the bylaws of the student body. Sometimes it is also called “Women’s collective”. It represents the interests of all students, which identify as women, which includes FLTI*persons (WomenLesbiansTransInter). The AFK supports gender equality and cultural and social issues regarding women. The AFK consists of at least four members, which are elected for one year by the general assembly of women (Ger.: Frauenvollversammlung (FVV)).

All female students of the LUH are automatically voting members of the FVV. The general assembly determines the general guidelines of the AFK, controls the work of the collective, formulates the AFKs budget plan and gives statements on matters regarding women.

REPRESENTATION OF UNIVERSITY SPORTS

The representation of university sports (Ger.: Sportreferat) is a ‚special committee of the student body’ („Besonderes Organ der Studierendenschaft“) according to §5 of the bylaws of the student body. It is the representation of all members of university sports, including students and employees. The representation is a cooperation of the representatives of all universities involved in university sports. Its members are called sports representatives (Ger.: SportreferentInnen). The representatives are elected by the assembly of chairpersons (Ger.: Obleuteversammlung (OV)).

Chairpersons (Ger.: Obleute) are elected for one semester, as representatives of one sport group of the university sports. All chairpersons are automatically members of the OV. Additional members of the OV are members of the sports representatives, the training supervisors of the sport groups and the members of the University Sports Centre advisory board (Ger.: ZfH-Beirat). All members of the OV have the right to speak and make proposals, but only the chairpersons have the right to vote. Non-student chairpersons lose their right to vote in matters regarding student self-administration (e.g. the election of the sports representatives).

The OV has multiple tasks. It gives assignments to the sports representatives and controls and supports them. It decides on a budget plan and gives statements or recommendation on university-political matters. Its most important task is the election of the sport representatives.

The sport representatives are elected for one year and must be enrolled students at a university involved in university sports. According to the statute of the members of university sports, the representation of university sports usually consists of three representatives of the LUH and one representative per other university.
The sports representatives have among others, the following tasks: formulating a budget plan, representing the members of university sports in the University Sports Centre advisory board, planning and running of the university sports festival and providing financial support for students to participate in competitions of for training supervisors to attend additional training courses.

Organe und Gremien der studentischen Selbstverwaltung

Auf dieser Seite erfahren Sie alles zu den verschiedenen Organen und Gremien der studentischen Selbstverwaltung. Wie sie entstehen oder gewählt werden, was sie tun und wie sie zusammenhängen.

SCHAUBILD DER ORGANE & GREMIEN

Zum vergrößern klicken

Auf diesem Schaubild finden Sie alle Organe und Gremien der studentischen Selbstverwaltung und wie diese miteinander interagieren. Detaillierte Erläuterungen zu den einzelnen Organen finden Sie auf dieser Seite in den entsprechenden Abschnitten.  

Die genauen Regelungen und Bestimmungen zu den einzelnen Organen finden sie in der Satzung der Studierendenschaft der Leibniz Universität Hannover
Eine Sammlung verschiedener relevanter Satzungen finden sie auf der Seite des AStA

ALLGEMEINER STUDIERENDENAUSSCHUSS (ASTA)

Zum vergrößern klicken

Der AStA vertritt die Studierendenschaft der Leibniz Universität Hannover. Gemäß § 20 NHG ist es u. a. die Aufgabe der Studierendenschaft, die hochschulpolitischen, sozialen und kulturellen Belange der Studierenden in Hochschule und Gesellschaft wahrzunehmen. Sie hat die Aufgabe, die politische Bildung der Studierenden und die Verwirklichung der Aufgaben der Hochschule zu fördern. In diesem Sinne nimmt sie für ihre Mitglieder ein politisches Mandat wahr. Basis dieser Organisation sind die Fachschaften der Fakultäten.
Der AStA besteht aus mehreren Referentinnen und Referenten, um die unterschiedlichen Themenfelder optimal und intensiv bearbeiten zu können. Ein Großteil der Arbeit besteht jedoch nicht aus referatsspezifischer Arbeit, sondern aus gemeinschaftlichen Aufgaben wie zum Beispiel der Aufrechterhaltung des Kontakts zu den Fachschaften sowie den Strukturen, die aus dem Rahmen der Verfassten Studentenschaft dieser Universität herausreichen.

STUDENTISCHER RAT (STURA)

Zum vergrößern klicken

Aufgabe des Studentischen Rates ist es, über Angelegenheiten der Studierendenschaft zu entscheiden. Er setzt sich aus benannten Delegierten der einzelnen Fakultätsfachschaftsräte und aus unmittelbar von allen Studentinnen und Studenten zu wählenden Mitgliedern zusammen.
Die Amtszeit der Mitglieder für den Studentischen Rat beträgt zwei Semester und beginnt in der Regel im Sommersemester, das auf die Wahl folgt.
Der Studentische Rat wählt sich aus seiner Mitte eine Geschäftsführung bestehend aus drei Geschäftsführer/innen. 
Die Wahlen zu den Organen der Verfassten Studierendenschaft erfolgen nach den Vorschriften des NHG sowie der Satzung der Studierendenschaft der Universität Hannover und der Wahlordnung für die Studierendenschaft der Universität Hannover.

ÄLTESTENRAT (ÄR)

Zum vergrößern klicken

Der Ältestenrat ist ein Organ der Studierendenschaft. Er besteht aus fünf studentischen Mitgliedern, die vom Studentischen Rat für eine Amtszeit von einem Jahr gewählt werden.
Dem Ältestenrat obliegt die Überwachung der Tätigkeit der Organe der Studierendenschaft und die Auslegung der Satzung und der Ordnungen der Studierendenschaft. Außerdem kann er als Schiedsgericht bei privaten Rechtsstreitigkeiten zwischen Studierenden angerufen werden.  

VOLLVERSAMMLUNG ALLER STUDIERENDEN (VV)

Zum vergrößern klicken

Eine universitätsweite Vollversammlung (VV) der Studierenden wird einberufen, wenn besonders wichtige und akute Anlässe wie beispielsweise Protestaktionen oder ähnliches diskutiert werden sollen. Potentielle Teilnehmer sind alle Studierenden der Universität. Die Vollversammlung bestätigt den Vorschlag des Senats zur Bestellung oder Entlassung von Mitgliedern des Präsidiums, nimmt Stellung zu den Entwicklungs- und Wirtschaftsplänen der Leibniz Universität.

Analog zur Vollversammlung kann der allgemeine Studierendenausschuss (AStA) auch Urabstimmung durchführen lassen, beispielsweise die alljährliche Entscheidung über das Semesterticket.

FACH(SCHAFTS)RÄTE (FSR & FR)

Zum vergrößern klicken

Die Studierenden einer Fakultät bilden die jeweilige Fachschaft dieser Fakultät. Die Mitgliedschaft erfolgt automatisch durch die Einschreibung in einen Studiengang einer Fakultät. Es ist also möglich, dass Studierende in mehreren Fachschaften gleichzeitig Mitglied sind, wenn sie Studiengänge an mehreren Fakultäten studieren. Dies ist für Studierende im Fächerübergreifenden Bachelor sehr oft der Fall, wenn sie z.B. Biologie und Deutsch kombinieren. Sie wären mit dieser Kombination Mitglied in den Fachschaften der naturwissenschaftlichen und der philosophischen Fakultät.

Die Fachschaft wählt den jeweiligen Fachschaftsrat (FSR) für eine Amtszeit von zwei Semestern. Pro angefangene 100 Fachschaftsmitglieder umfasst der FSR ein Mitglied, mindestens jedoch fünf. Ein FSR vertritt universitätsweit die Belange der Studierenden einer Fakultät (seiner jeweiligen Fachschaft).

Dem FSR steht beratend die Fachschaftsvollversammlung (FSVV) zur Seite. Eine FSVV ist die Versammlung der Mitglieder einer Fachschaft. Die von einer FSVV gefassten Beschlüsse sind Empfehlungen, die vom FSR beraten werden müssen.

Fachgruppen (FG) sind in der Regel Unterteilungen innerhalb einer Fachschaft. Sie können jedoch auch Teile verschiedener Fachschaften zusammenfassen. In den meisten Fällen umfassen Fachgruppen die Studierenden aller Studiengänge eines Studienfachs, z.B. alle Studierenden der Politikwissenschaften im Fächerübergreifenden Bachelor, 1-Fach-Bachelor und Master. Die Unterteilung einer Fachschaft ist jedoch nicht zwingend notwendig. So hat z.B. die Fakultät für Mathematik und Physik keine Fachgruppen und somit „nur“ einen FSR und keine untergeordneten Fachräte.

Die Studierenden einer FG versammeln sich in der Fachgruppenvollversammlung (FGVV) um ihren Fachrat (FR) zu beraten. Die jährliche Wahl des Fachrates erfolgt in der Regel auch auf einer FGVV. Die Fachräte vertreten die Studierenden ihrer Fachgruppe universitätsweit und organisieren oft Einführungswochen, Exkursionen oder studentische Seminare. Ebenso gibt es an der LUH mehrere von Fachräten geleitete oder ihnen zugehörige studentische Cafés und Zeitungen. Fachräte sind oft die Verbindung von Studierenden eines Fachs zur jeweiligen Institutsleitung.

Umgangssprachlich werden Fachräte auch oft fälschlicherweise als „Fachschaft“ oder „Fachschaftsrat“ bezeichnet. Zusätzlich dazu haben manche Fachräte aus historischen Gründen andere Namen. Der Fachrat des Fachs Geschichte heißt z.B. „Studierendenrat Geschichte“.

Fachräte sind das Organ der studentischen Selbstverwaltung, mit dem Studierende am häufigsten interagieren und in das sie sich am leichtesten selbst einbringen können.

AUSLÄNDERINNENKOMMISSION

Zum vergrößern klicken

Die AusländerInnenkommission ist laut §5 der Satzung der Studierendenschaft ein „Besonderes Organ der Studierendenschaft“. Sie vertritt die Interessen und Belange der ausländischen Studierenden an der LUH und am Studienkolleg. Die Kommission besteht aus drei Organen:

Die AusländerInnenvollversammlung (AVV) ist die Versammlung aller ausländischen Studierenden (ohne dt. Staatsbürgerschaft) an der LUH und dem Studienkolleg. Sie ist das höchste beschlussfassende Gremium der AusländerInnenkommission. Zu den Aufgaben der AVV gehört die Wahl des ständigen AusländerInnenausschusses, hochschulpolitische Grundsatzentscheidungen in Bezug auf ausl. Studierende, die Erstellung eines Haushaltsplans und die Kontrolle der Arbeit der anderen Organe der Kommission.

Der Ständige AusländerInnenausschuss (SAA) hat fünf Mitglieder (Referenten), die von der AVV für eine Amtszeit von einem Jahr gewählt werden. Der Ausschuss kontrolliert die Arbeit der AusländerInnensprecherInnen und die Einhaltung des Haushaltsplans. Ebenso unterstützt er die SprecherInnen bei ihrer Arbeit und beschließt besondere Finanzausgaben.

Die AusländerInnensprecherInnen (AS) werden im Rahmen der studentischen Wahlen von den ausl. Studierenden für eine Amtszeit von einem Jahr gewählt. Es werden immer zwei SprecherInnen gewählt. Die SprecherInnen setzen die Beschlüsse der AVV und des SAA um und vertreten die Interessen der ausl. Studierenden in der Hochschulpolitik der LUH.

AUTONOMES FEMINISTISCHES KOLLEKTIV (AFK)

Zum vergrößern klicken

Das Autonome Feministische Kollektiv (AFK) ist laut §5 der Satzung der Studierendenschaft (dort noch „Frauenkollektiv“ genannt) ein „Besonderes Organ der Studierendenschaft“. Das Kollektiv ist die Interessenvertretung aller Studierenden der LUH, die sich als Frau verstehen, und fasst hierunter auch FLTI*-Personen (FrauenLesbenTransInter). Das AFK fördert die Gleichstellung aller Geschlechter und frauenspezifische kulturelle und soziale Belange. Das AFK besteht aus mindestens vier Referentinnen, die von der Frauenvollversammlung (FVV) für eine Amtszeit von einem Jahr gewählt werden.

In der FVV sind alle Studentinnen der LUH automatisch Mitglied und stimmberechtigt. Die Vollversammlung legt die Arbeitsrichtlinien des AFK fest, kontrolliert die Arbeit der Referentinnen, beschließt den Haushaltsplan des AFK und gibt Stellungnahmen zu frauenspezifischen Angelegenheiten ab.

SPORTREFERAT

Zum vergrößern klicken

Das Sportreferat ist laut §5 der Satzung der Studierendenschaft ein „Besonderes Organ der Studierendenschaft“. Es ist die hochschulpolitische Vertretung der Sporttreibenden (Studierende & Beschäftigte) im Hochschulsport. Im Sportreferat kooperieren die hochschulpolitischen Vertreter aller am Hochschulsport beteiligten Hochschulen. Die SportreferentInnen werden von der Obleuteversammlung (OV) gewählt.

Obleute sind die gewählte Interessenvertretung einer Sportgruppe des Hochschulsports. Sie werden für eine Amtszeit von einem Semester gewählt. Alle Obleute sind automatisch Mitglied der OV. Zusätzliche Mitglieder sind die SportreferentInnen, die ÜbungsleiterInnen der Sportgruppen, die hauptamtlichen MitarbeiterInnen des Zentrums für Hochschulsport (ZfH) und die Mitglieder des ZfH-Beirats. Alle Mitglieder der OV haben Rede- und Antragsrecht, jedoch haben nur die Obleute Stimmrecht. Bei Angelegenheiten der studentischen Selbstverwaltung (z.B. der Wahl der SportreferentInnen) verlieren nichtstudentische Obleute ihr Stimmrecht.
Die OV hat mehrere Aufgaben. Sie vergibt Aufgaben an die ReferentInnen und kontrolliert und unterstützt diese in ihrer Arbeit. Sie beschließt den Haushaltsplan der Sporttreibenden und gibt Stellungnahmen oder Empfehlungen zu hochschulsportlichen Angelegenheiten ab. Die wichtigste Aufgabe der OV ist die Wahl der SportreferentInnen.

SportreferentInnen werden für eine Amtszeit von einem Jahr gewählt und müssen immatrikulierte Studierende an einer beteiligten Hochschule sein. Nach der aktuellen Satzung der Sporttreibenden setzt sich das Referat i.d.R. aus drei ReferentInnen der LUH und je einer ReferentIn der anderen Hochschulen zusammen.
Zu den Aufgaben der SportreferentInnen gehören unter anderem die Erstellung des Haushaltsplans, die Vertretung der Sporttreibenden im ZfH-Beirat, die Veranstaltung des Hochschulsportfestes und die finanzielle Unterstützung von Studierenden zur Teilnahme an sportl. Wettkämpfen oder von ÜbungsleiterInnen zur Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen.