StudiesBefore Your StudiesApplication & AdmissionHow to apply at Leibniz University Hannover
Bachelor application - for prospective students from outside the EU

Bachelor application - for international applicants (from outside the EU)

Außenansicht des Hauptgebäudes der LUH (Welfenschloss) mit Niedersachsenross im Vordergrund Außenansicht des Hauptgebäudes der LUH (Welfenschloss) mit Niedersachsenross im Vordergrund Außenansicht des Hauptgebäudes der LUH (Welfenschloss) mit Niedersachsenross im Vordergrund © Zentrale Studienberatung / LUH

Are you a citizen of a country outside the EU and have you obtained your school leaving certificate outside the EU? You are interested in an undergraduate degree programme (bachelor or state examination) at the Leibniz University Hannover? Here you will get all the important information about the application process.

VIDEO: BEFORE YOU APPLY


WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR STUDYING AT LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITÄT HANNOVER?

Qualification for admission to higher education − the right school-leaving certificate

To be able to study in Germany, you will need a school-leaving certificate that is recognised here as a “qualification for admission to higher education”. This means that your school-leaving certificate should be equivalent to the German Abitur. An overview of how international school-leaving certificates are assessed can be found on the information portal “Anabin”:

Knowledge of German

All Bachelor’s degree programmes at Leibniz Universität Hannover require proof of German language skills.

  • At the time of applying, you must already have acquired at least language level B1.
  • Proof of language level C1 must be provided at the time of enrolment, e.g. in the form of DSH2, TestDaf 4x TDN4, telc C1 Hochschule or Goethe C2.
  • Comprehensive information about the necessary language certificates

The test for proving level B1 German language skills can be taken at any recognised language school in Germany, or at a Goethe-Institut or university abroad; the test for level C1 German certificates must be taken at a certified language school.

We regret that you will be unable to apply for a Bachelor’s degree programme at Leibniz Universität Hannover if you have no knowledge of German. Unfortunately, provisional enrolment is not possible either.

Degree programmes with special admission requirements

Several degree programmes are subject to additional requirements, such as a pre-study placement, a special language certificate or an aptitude test. You can find out which degree programmes at Leibniz Universität Hannover are subject to additional requirements.


WHEN CAN I APPLY?

Applications for the winter semester (starting on 1 October): applications for all Bachelor’s degree programmes and the preparatory foundation course (Studienkolleg) can be submitted between 15 April and 31 May.

Applications for the summer semester (starting on 1 April): students can only apply for the Bachelor’s degree programme in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (BSc) and the technical preparatory foundation course (Studienkolleg T-Kurs).


HOW CAN I APPLY FOR A PLACE AT LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITÄT HANNOVER?

You cannot apply directly for a place on a Bachelor’s degree programme at Leibniz Universität Hannover. All applications are made via uni-assist. Uni-assist assesses whether your school-leaving certificate entitles you to start studying straight away or whether you must first take an additional test (“assessment test” following a preparatory foundation course). Uni-assist then forwards your application to Leibniz Universität Hannover. Applications for the preparatory foundation course are also made via uni-assist.

VIDEO: THE APPLICATION PROCESS


WHAT IS THE PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING VIA UNI-ASSIST?

  • Step 1: Register with uni-assist

    You must first register with uni-assist. To do this, you simply answer a few basic questions, such as your name, address, date of birth, etc.

    www.uni-assist.de --> Online Portal --> Link to Online Portal --> Registration

    You will then receive an email containing a confirmation link, which you need to open to complete registration. You can now use your application number to access your online account.

  • Step 2: Search for degree programmes and create an application

    You can now use the online portal to search for your ideal degree programme and create an application. At Leibniz Universität Hannover, you can only apply for one Bachelor’s degree programme at present. However, you may apply to several higher education institutions simultaneously via uni-assist.

  • Step 3: Upload the necessary documents

    After creating your application, you must first upload the necessary documents electronically onto the online portal. Such documents include certificates, German language certificate, your curriculum vitae and passport.

  • Step 4: Check application and send it electronically

    CHECK APPLICATION AND SEND IT ELECTRONICALLY

    Carefully check the details you have provided. If all details are correct, you then send your online application electronically.

  • Step 5: Print out and sign the application form

    You must then print out and sign your application form.

  • Step 6: Send your application form together with all necessary paper documents by post

    In order to complete your application, you must send the original application form that you have signed as well as certified copies of all the necessary documents by post to:

    uni-assist e.V.
    11507 Berlin
    GERMANY

Important information concerning applications via uni-assist:

A processing fee of €75 is charged for your first application via uni-assist. Uni-assist must receive proof of payment before they can process your application.


Any questions?


Our team at the information library in the ServiceCenter will be happy to help you apply via uni-assist.


The information library is located in the ServiceCenter of Leibniz Universität Hannover, Main Building, Welfengarten 1.


If you have any questions about your application but are unable to come to the information library, please email us at: studienberatung@uni-hannover.de


WHAT HAPPENS AFTER APPLYING?

Use your online account at uni-assist to view the status of your application and to check whether your fee was transferred successfully. Uni-assist will confirm receipt of your application documents by email. You will also receive an email and a letter stating that your documents are being assessed.

After checking the documents, uni-assist sends your application to the desired university.

If you are then offered a place at Leibniz University Hannover, the university will send you a letter of acceptance by post. You must accept this place within the specified period. If you miss this deadline, your place will be offered to another applicant. You will also receive the invitation to the Studienkolleg from the university.

Please note that a personal enrollment is required at the ServiceCenter.

After accepting the place, you will receive all of the documents relating to your degree programme in good time before term starts, for example your LeibnizCard.

VIDEO: AFTER APPLYING


WHAT ARE PREPARATORY FOUNDATION COURSES (STUDIENKOLLEG)?

If the assessment of your school-leaving certificate determines that it is not equivalent to the German Abitur, you must first take a test in Germany before you can study here. This test is called an “assessment test” (Feststellungsprüfung). You will take a preparatory foundation course for two semesters to prepare you for this assessment test. Each semester may be repeated once.

You may only attend one of the following preparatory foundation courses:

  • T courses for all technical, engineering, Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning, mathematics and science majors (subjects taught: German, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Computer Science)
  • M courses for majors in Biology, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Medicine, Pharmacy and similar subjects
    (subjects taught: German, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Computer Science)
  • W courses for all economics, social science and law majors
    (subjects taught: German, Mathematics, Business and Economics, History, Politics, English and Computer Science)
  • G courses for German, History, Philosophy, Law and humanities majors
    (subjects taught: German Language and Literature, History, Social Studies)

The maximum number of participants for each course is 20.


ENTRANCE TEST FOR A PREPARATORY FOUNDATION COURSE (STUDIENKOLLEG)

Before being accepted to a preparatory foundation course, applicants must first take an entrance test to determine their German language and Mathematics skills.

German language test

This test consists of several short texts and/or single sentences with gaps where the correct word, or word part, should be inserted. To do this, candidates require the following basic knowledge of the German language:

  • General vocabulary (no technical language)
  • All active and passive voice tenses (excluding the subjunctive)
  • Declension of adjectives and nouns
  • Subordinate clauses
  • Prepositions

The German test lasts 60 minutes. Use of dictionaries is not allowed.

Mathematics test

  • Basic calculations using whole numbers and fractions
  • Basics of algebra (calculating using letters)
  • Simple linear equations with one or two unknowns
  • Quadratic equations
  • Power calculations
  • Basic geometry (simple calculations involving 2- and 3-dimentional shapes, Pythagoras’ theorem and intercept theorems)
  • Linear functions and their graphical representation on a coordinate system

The mathematics test lasts 45 minutes. Calculators may not be used. Example of an entrance test


ASESSMENT TEST AND EXTERNAL ASSESSMENT TEST ("FESTSTELLUNGSPRÜFUNG & EXTERNE FESTSTELLUNGSPRÜFUNG")

Assessment test

If you are accepted onto a preparatory course, you will attend this course for two semesters. Each semester may be repeated once. At the end of this course, you will take a final test, called the assessment test (Feststellungsprüfung).

The assessment test consists of a written part and an oral part. The type of test you take influences the subjects you will be permitted to study at university. Once you have passed the assessment test, you have to apply once again for a place at a university (taking into account the subjects you are permitted to pursue).

Universities use a selection procedure to award places on subjects with restricted entry. The grades achieved at home in your school-leaving certificate and in the assessment test (Feststellungsprüfung) play a decisive role in such selection procedures.

External assessment test

If you believe your level of knowledge is high enough not to have to attend a preparatory foundation course, you can sit the assessment test externally. You will take the same test as students who have spent one year on the preparatory foundation course.

Take great care not to overestimate your level of knowledge. The failure rate among those taking the test externally is very high. The test can only be repeated once. Assessment tests following a preparatory foundation course offered by universities of applied sciences do not qualify for entry to a university.

Assessment tests following a preparatory foundation course offered by universities entitle the candidate to study (any of the subjects permitted) at any university or university of applied sciences in Germany.


WHEN CAN I APPLY FOR A PREPARATORY FOUNDATION COURSE?

Applications for the preparatory foundation course are also made via uni-assist. It is not possible to apply directly to the course.

Applications for the winter semester (starting on 1 October): the application period for all preparatory foundation courses is from 15 April to 31 May.

Applications for the summer semester (starting on 1 April): students can only apply for the technical preparatory foundation course (Studienkolleg T-Kurs).

Please Note:

If you wish to apply for a different foundation preparatory course starting from the summer semester, you must apply via another higher education institution in Lower Saxony. For more information about the higher education institutes in Lower Saxony, visit www.studieren-in-niedersachsen.de.


IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON VISA

Visa

Many international students need a visa to study in Germany. Please contact the Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs for information about visa requirements.

  • a) Visa for purpose of university application

    Those who have not yet received admission to a university and who must first meet the requirements for entry to higher education, e.g. by attending a German course, may apply for a visa for the purpose of university application.

  • b) Student visa

    Those who have already been admitted to a university or a preparatory foundation course usually require a student visa. Any international applicants and students requiring further information or support should contact the International Office.

Do you have any other questions about studying at Leibniz Universität Hannover?

Our service hotline will be pleased to assist!

If you have any questions related to your studies, feel free to visit our ServiceCenter or call our service hotline (+49 511 762 2020). Alternatively, email us at

StudiumVor dem StudiumBewerbung & ZulassungStudienplatzbewerbung
Bachelor Bewerbung – aus Nicht-EU-Staaten

Bachelor Bewerbung - für Studieninteressierte aus Nicht-EU-Staaten

Außenansicht des Hauptgebäudes der LUH (Welfenschloss) mit Niedersachsenross im Vordergrund Außenansicht des Hauptgebäudes der LUH (Welfenschloss) mit Niedersachsenross im Vordergrund Außenansicht des Hauptgebäudes der LUH (Welfenschloss) mit Niedersachsenross im Vordergrund © Zentrale Studienberatung / LUH

Sie sind Staatsbürger/in eines Landes außerhalb der EU, und Sie haben Ihren Schulabschluss außerhalb der EU erworben und interessieren sich für ein grundständiges Studium (Bachelor oder Staatsexamen) an der Leibniz Universität Hannover? Hier erhalten Sie alle wichtigen Informationen rund um das Bewerbungsverfahren.

VIDEO: VOR DER BEWERBUNG


WELCHE VORAUSSETZUNGEN BRAUCHE ICH FÜR EIN STUDIUM AN DER LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITÄT?

Hochschulzugangsberechtigung - der passende Schulabschluss

Sie benötigen für ein Studium in Deutschland einen Schulabschluss, der hier als „Hochschulzugangsberechtigung“ anerkannt ist. Das bedeutet Ihr Schulabschluss sollte dem deutschen Abitur entsprechen. Eine Übersicht über die Bewertung internationaler Schulabschlüsse finden Sie in dem Infoportal „Anabin“.

Deutschkenntnisse

Für alle Bachelorstudiengänge der Leibniz Universität Hannover müssen Deutschkenntnisse nachgewiesen werden.

  • Zur Bewerbung sollte mindestens das Sprachniveau B1 vorliegen.
  • Zur Immatrikulation muss das Sprachniveau C1 nachgewiesen werden durch DSH2, TestDaf 4x TDN4, telc C1 Hochschule oder Goethe C2

Die Deutschnachweise B1 können an allen anerkannten Sprachschulen in Deutschland oder an Goetheinstituten im Ausland oder an Universitäten im Ausland abgelegt werden, die Deutschzeugnisse auf dem C1-Niveau bei den hierfür jeweils zertifizierten Sprachschulen.

Ohne Deutschkenntnisse können Sie sich leider nicht für einen Bachelorstudiengang der Leibniz Universität Hannover bewerben. Auch eine vorläufige Einschreibung ist leider nicht möglich.

Studiengänge mit besonderen Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Einige Studiengänge verlangen zusätzliche Voraussetzungen, wie zum Beispiel ein Vorpraktikum, einen besonderen Sprachnachweis oder eine Eignungsprüfung. Informationen dazu finden Sie unter Voraussetzungen zum Studium.


WANN BEWERBE ICH MICH?

Bewerbung für das Wintersemester (Beginn 1. Oktober): die Bewerbung für alle Bachelorstudiengänge und für das Studienkolleg ist möglich zwischen dem 15. April und dem 31. Mai.

Bewerbung für das Sommersemester (Beginn 1. April): eine Bewerbung ist ausschließlich für den B. Sc. Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik möglich sowie für den T-Kurs am Studienkolleg zwischen dem 01.Dezember und dem 15. Januar.


WIE BEWERBE ICH MICH AN DER LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITÄT?

An der Leibniz Universität Hannover können Sie sich nicht direkt für Bachelorstudiengänge bewerben. Eine Bewerbung erfolgt ausschließlich über Uni Assist. Uni Assist prüft, ob Ihr Schulabschluss es Ihnen ermöglicht, direkt ein Studium aufzunehmen, oder ob eine zusätzliche Prüfung („Feststellungsprüfung“ am Studienkolleg) notwendig ist. Uni Assist leitet Ihre Bewerbung anschließend an die Leibniz Universität weiter. Auch eine Bewerbung für das Studienkolleg erfolgt über Uni Assist.

VIDEO: DAS BEWERBUNGSVERFAHREN


WIE FUNKTIONIERT DAS BEWERBUNGSVERFAHREN ÜBER UNI ASSIST?

  • Schritt 1: Registrierung bei uni-assist

    Zunächst ist eine Registrierung bei uni-assist erforderlich. Hierfür müssen einige Grundfragen z.B. zu Name, Adresse, Geburtsdatum, etc. beantwortet werden.

    www.uni-assist.de --> Online-Portal --> Link zum Online-Portal --> Registrierung

    Anschließend erhalten Sie eine E-Mail mit einem Bestätigungslink, der geöffnet werden muss, um die Registrierung abzuschließen. Mit Ihrer Bewerbernummer können Sie nun auf Ihren Online-Account zugreifen.

  • Schritt 2: Studienangebot suchen und Bewerbung anlegen

    Im Onlineportal kann nun der entsprechende Studiengang ausgesucht und eine Bewerbung angelegt werden. An der Universität Hannover können Sie sich momentan nur für einen Bachelorstudiengang bewerben. Es ist jedoch möglich sich gleichzeitig an mehreren Hochschulen über uni-assist zu bewerben.

  • Schritt 3: Die geforderten Unterlagen hochladen

    Nach dem Anlegen der Bewerbung müssen die geforderten Dokumente zunächst elektronisch im Online-Portal hochgeladen werden. Hierzu zählen z.B. Zeugnisse, Deutschnachweise, Lebenslauf, Pass.

  • Schritt 4: Antrag überprüfen und elektronisch übermitteln

    Bitte überprüfen Sie alle Ihre Angaben sorgfältig. Wenn alle Angaben korrekt sind, muss der Online-Antrag elektronisch übermittelt werden.

  • Schritt 5: Bewerbungsantrag ausdrucken und unterschreiben

     Anschließend muss der Bewerbungsantrag ausgedruckt und unterschrieben werden.

  • Schritt 6: Den Antrag mit allen geforderten Papierunterlagen einschicken

    Um die Bewerbung abzuschließen, müssen der unterschriebene Antrag im Original sowie alle geforderten Unterlagen in beglaubigter Kopie eingeschickt werden, an:

    uni-assist e.V.
    11507 Berlin
    GERMANY

Wichtiger Hinweis für die Bewerbung über uni-assist:

Für die erste Bewerbung über uni-assist wird eine Bearbeitungsgebühr von 75€ verlangt. Es muss ein Zahlungsbeleg bei uni-assist eingegangen sein, damit die Bewerbung bearbeitet werden kann.


Haben Sie Fragen?


Gerne unterstützt Sie unser Team in der Infothek im ServiceCenter bei der Bewerbung über uni-assist.
Sie finden die Infothek im ServiceCenter der Leibniz Universität Hannover, im Hauptgebäude, Welfengarten 1.


Falls Sie nicht vor Ort sein können, wenden Sie sich mit Fragen zur Bewerbung gerne per Email an: studienberatung@uni-hannover.de


WAS PASSIERT NACH DER BEWERBUNG?

Über Ihren Online-Account bei uni-assist haben Sie die Möglichkeit den Status Ihrer Bewerbung einzusehen und zu prüfen, ob das Geld erfolgreich überwiesen wurde. Uni-assist teilt Ihnen zudem per Email mit, wenn Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen eingegangen sind. Auch über die Prüfung der Unterlagen erhalten Sie per Email und per Brief Bescheid.

Nachdem uni-assist die Unterlagen geprüft hat, leitet uni-assist die Bewerbung an die gewünschte Universität weiter.

Sollten Sie anschließend eine Zusage für einen Studienplatz an der Universität Hannover erhalten, bekommen Sie einen Zulassungsbescheid ausschließlich per Post von der Leibniz Universität (nicht per Email!). Der Studienplatz muss innerhalb einer angegebenen Frist angenommen werden. Verpassen Sie diese Frist wird der Studienplatz anderweitig vergeben.

Auch die Einladung zum Studienkolleg erhalten Sie von der Universität.

Vor Studienbeginn ist eine persönliche Einschreibung im ServiceCenter erforderlich.

Rechtzeitig vor Studienstart erhalten Sie dann alle wichtigen Unterlagen zum Studium, wie z.B. Ihre LeibnizCard.

VIDEO: NACH DER BEWERBUNG


WAS IST DAS STUDIENKOLLEG?

Wenn Ihr Schulabschlusszeugnis nicht als gleichwertig mit dem deutschen Abitur bewertet wird, müssen Sie in Deutschland eine Prüfung ablegen, um studieren zu dürfen. Diese Prüfung heißt „Feststellungsprüfung“. Das Studienkolleg bereitet Sie ein Jahr lang (2 Semester) auf diese Feststellungsprüfung in einem Kurs vor. Jedes Semester kann einmal wiederholt werden.

Sie können nur einen der folgenden Kurse am Studienkolleg besuchen:

  • T - Kurse für alle technischen und mathematisch- naturwissenschaftlichen Studienfächer,  Landschaftsarchitektur und Umweltplanung (Unterrichtsfächer Deutsch, Mathematik, Physik, Chemie, Informatik)
  • M - Kurse für Biologie, Biochemie, Chemie, Medizin, Pharmazie und ähnliche Fächer
    (Unterrichtsfächer Deutsch, Mathematik, Physik, Chemie, Biologie, Informatik)
  • W - Kurse für alle wirtschafts- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Studienfächer sowie Rechtswissenschaften
    (Unterrichtsfächer Deutsch, Mathematik, Wirtschaftskunde, Geschichte, Politik, Englisch, Informatik)
  • G - Kurse für Germanistik, Geschichte, Philosophie und geisteswissenschaftliche Fächer sowie Rechtswissenschaften
    (Unterrichtsfächer Deutsche Sprache und Literatur, Geschichte, Sozialkunde)

In den einzelnen Kursen werden je 20 Teilnehmer/Innen aufgenommen.


AUFNAHMETEST AM STUDIENKOLLEG

Um das Studienkolleg besuchen zu können, muss ein Aufnahmetest absolviert werden.


FESTSTELLUNGSPRÜFUNG UND EXTERNE FESTSTELLUNGSPRÜFUNG

Feststellungsprüfung

Werden Sie in einen Vorbereitungskurs aufgenommen, besuchen Sie diesen zwei Semester lang. Jedes Semester kann einmal wiederholt werden. Am Ende findet eine Abschlussprüfung statt. Diese Prüfung heißt Feststellungsprüfung.

Diese Feststellungsprüfung besteht aus einem schriftlichen und einem mündlichen Teil. Die Prüfung beinhaltet immer eine sog. Fachbindung, d.h. Sie können anschließend nur die Fächer studieren, die dem Kurstyp entsprechen. Nach Bestehen der Feststellungsprüfung müssen Sie sich erneut (unter Berücksichtigung Ihrer Fachbindung) um einen Studienplatz bei einer Hochschule bewerben.

Zulassungsbeschränkte Studienfächer werden von den Universitäten in einem Auswahlverfahren vergeben. Entscheidend sind hierfür die Noten der Bildungsnachweise aus Ihrer Heimat und der Feststellungsprüfung. Darüber hinaus gibt es auch zulassungsfreie Studiengänge. Hierfür ist keine bestimmte Note erforderlich.

Externe Feststellungsprüfung

Wenn Sie meinen, dass Ihr Kenntnisstand so gut ist, dass Sie auf den Besuch des Studienkollegs verzichten können, gibt es die Möglichkeit, die Feststellungsprüfung extern zu machen. Dort haben Sie dieselben Prüfungsaufgaben wie Ihre Kommilitonen nach einjähriger Vorbereitung im Studienkolleg zu lösen.

Vor einer Überschätzung Ihrer Kenntnisse wird ausdrücklich gewarnt. Die Durchfallrate bei externen Prüfungen ist sehr hoch. Die Prüfung kann nur einmal wiederholt werden. Feststellungsprüfungen von Studienkollegs der Fachhochschulen berechtigen nicht zum Studium an Universitäten.

Feststellungsprüfungen von Studienkollegs der Universitäten berechtigen zum Studium (fachgebunden) an Universitäten und Fachhochschulen in allen Bundesländern.


WANN BEWERBE ICH MICH FÜR DAS STUDIENKOLLEG?

Die Bewerbung erfolgt auch über Uni Assist. Eine direkte Bewerbung am Studienkolleg ist nicht möglich.

Bewerbung für das Wintersemester (Beginn: 1. Oktober): die Bewerbung für alle Kurse am Studienkolleg ist möglich zwischen dem 15. April und dem 31. Mai.

Bewerbung für das Sommersemester (Beginn: 1. April): eine Bewerbung ist ausschließlich für den T-Kurs am Studienkolleg möglich.

ACHTUNG:

Möchten Sie sich zum Sommersemester auf einen anderen Kurs des Studienkollegs bewerben, muss die Bewerbung über eine andere niedersächsische Hochschule erfolgen! Mehr Informationen zu den niedersächsischen Hochschulen finden Sie auf www.studieren-in-niedersachsen.de.


WICHTIGE INFORMATIONEN ZU VISA

Visa

Viele internationale Studierende benötigen ein Visum, um in Deutschland studieren zu können. Informationen zur Visumspflicht erhalten Sie beim Auswärtigen Amt.

  • a) Visum zur Studienbewerbung

    Wer noch keine Zulassung einer Hochschule erhalten hat und zunächst die Voraussetzungen für ein Studium schaffen möchte, z.B. noch einen Deutschkurs besuchen muss, kann ein Visum zur Studienvorbereitung beantragen.

  • b) Visum zu Studienzwecken

    Wer eine Zulassung zum Studium oder zum Studienkolleg bekommen hat, benötigt in der Regel ein Visum zu Studienzwecken. Weitere Informationen und Unterstützung für internationale Studienbewerber und Studierende erhalten Sie bei unserem Hochschulbüro für Internationales. 

Fragen zum Studium?

Die Servicehotline hilft Ihnen gerne weiter!

Bei Fragen zum Studium kommen Sie gerne in unser ServiceCenter oder kontaktieren Sie unsere Servicehotline (0511-762 2020) oder schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail: