Second Undergraduate Degree

Aufgereihte Bundstifte vor weißem Hintergrund Aufgereihte Bundstifte vor weißem Hintergrund Aufgereihte Bundstifte vor weißem Hintergrund © Photo by Kelli Tungay on Unsplash

WHAT IS A SECOND UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE?

We talk about a second undergraduate degree (Zweitstudium) when you have already completed a university degree successfully and embark on an additional undergraduate degree programme (e.g. leading to a Bachelor’s degree or a state examination). In contrast, a Master’s degree requiring prior completion of a Bachelor’s degree is not regarded as a second undergraduate degree.

If, at the time of applying for an additional degree programme, the student has not yet completed his or her first degree programme, it is not considered to be a second undergraduate degree.


Second undergraduate degree: applying for a degree programme with restricted admission

The following restrictions apply in the case of such degree programmes:

  • There is only a limited number (up to 3%) of places available for applicants for a second undergraduate degree.
  • Selection criteria are the final grade achieved in the first degree programme and the reasons why you wish to embark on a second undergraduate degree.
  • Points are awarded for both criteria. The applicants with the highest scores have the best chances of getting a place.

For more information about possible reasons for wanting to embark on a second undergraduate degree and how these reasons are assessed, visit Hochschulstart (Hochschulstart.de, German language only). These regulations also apply to places on degree programmes with restricted admission that universities themselves award.

 

Second undergraduate degree: applying for a degree programme with unrestricted admission

You may also register on degree programmes with unrestricted admission as an applicant for a second undergraduate degree without any admission-related problems. Degree programmes with unrestriced admission have no capacity limits.


APPLICATION PROCEDURE

As is the case with all other university applicants, applicants for a second undergraduate degree send in their application via the online portal of Leibniz Universität Hannover. The same deadlines apply for students pursuing their second undergraduate degree as those for first degree applicants.

A separate application for admission to a second undergraduate degree is not mandatory, but may be submitted additionally. You must only enclose your letter stating the reasons for applying for a second undergraduate degree.

Application form: Second Undergraduate Degree
PDF, 32 KB

TRANSFER OF CREDIT FROM THE FIRST DEGREE PROGRAMME

If you want to have credit transferred from your previous degree programme, please contact the faculty directly. Specialist advisors are usually responsible for transferring credit in two-subject Bachelor’s degree programmes. For transfer in the case of single-subject Bachelor’s degrees, please contact the Chair of the Examination Committee.

Find out who to contact

Previously earned credit can only be transferred if it is assessed as equivalent to the credit to be completed on the new degree programme. If you intend to gain a place in a higher semester based on the transfer of credit, you can apply directly for that particular higher semester as a transfer student. You can find more information about credit transfer here.


COSTS AND FINANCING OF THE SECOND UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE

In Lower Saxony, students must currently pay long-term study fees. Periods of study already completed in the first degree programme count towards the calculation to determine whether long-term study fees must be paid, even if these periods of study were completed outside Lower Saxony. For more information concerning this, please read the section on study costs.

As a rule, educational grants according to the Federal Training Assistance Act (BAföG) are only provided for initial training (Section 7 (1) BAföG), except, for example, if it is required by law to pursue another degree programme in order to enter the desired profession. Concerning this, you can obtain individual advice from the BAföG and Social Advice Centre of the Student Services Organisation.



Learn about studying at Leibniz University Hannover on social media:

Student Advisory Services
Student Advisory Services
Student Advisory Services
Service Hotline / Student Advisory Services
Our service hotline will be pleased to assist you! Contact us via phone, e-mail or in person!
Address
ServiceCenter
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Service Hotline / Student Advisory Services
Our service hotline will be pleased to assist you! Contact us via phone, e-mail or in person!
Address
ServiceCenter
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building

Zweitstudium an der Leibniz Universität Hannover

Aufgereihte Bundstifte vor weißem Hintergrund Aufgereihte Bundstifte vor weißem Hintergrund Aufgereihte Bundstifte vor weißem Hintergrund © Photo by Kelli Tungay on Unsplash

WAS IST EIN ZWEITSTUDIUM?

Ein Zweitstudium liegt dann vor, wenn Sie bereits ein Hochschulstudium erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben und einen weiteren grundständigen Studiengang (z.B. mit den Abschlüssen Bachelor oder Staatsexamen) aufnehmen. Ein Masterstudium, das den vorherigen Erwerb eines Bachelor-Abschlusses voraussetzt, gilt dagegen nicht als Zweitstudium.

Sollte zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung für ein weiteres Studium das erste Studium noch nicht vollständig abgeschlossen sein, so liegt hier noch kein Zweitstudium vor.


Zweitstudium: Bewerbung für einen zulassungsbeschränkten Studiengang

Es gelten hierfür folgende Einschränkungen:

  • Es steht nur eine begrenzte Anzahl (bis zu 3%)der Studienplätze für Zweitstudienbewerberinnen und -bewerber zur Verfügung.
  • Kriterien für die Auswahl sind die Abschlussnote des Erststudiums und die Gründe, die Sie für Ihr Vorhaben anführen.
  • Für beide Kriterien werden Punkte vergeben. Diejenigen mit den höchsten Punktzahlen haben die besten Chancen, einen Studienplatz zu bekommen.

Ausführliche Informationen über mögliche Begründungen und ihre Bewertung erhalten Sie bei Hochschulstart (Hochschulstart.de). Diese Regelungen gelten auch für die zulassungsbeschränkten Studiengänge, die von den Hochschulen selbst vergeben werden.

 

Zweitstudium: Bewerbung für einen zulassungsfreien Studiengang

In zulassungsfreie Studiengänge können Sie sich auch als Zweitstudienbewerberin oder -bewerber ohne zulassungsrechtliche Probleme immatrikulieren. In zulassungsfreien Studiengängen gibt es keine Kapazitätsbeschränkungen.


BEWERBUNGSABLAUF

Als Zweitstudienbewerberin oder Zweitstudienbewerber bewerben Sie sich wie alle anderen Studienbewerberinnen und Studienbewerber über das Onlineportal der Leibniz Universität Hannover.  Es gelten dieselben Fristen wie für die Erststudienbewerberinnen - und bewerber.

Ein gesonderter Antrag zur Aufnahme eines Zweitstudiums ist nicht zwingend notwendig, kann aber ergänzend eingereicht werden. Sie müssen lediglich Ihr Begründungsschreiben mit einreichen.

Antrag zur Aufnahme eines Zweitstudiums
PDF, 32 KB

Anerkennung von Leistungen aus dem Erststudium

Wenn Sie sich Studienleistungen aus einem bisherigen Studium anerkennen lassen wollen, wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die Fakultät. Zuständig für die Anerkennung in Zweifächer-Bachelorstudiengängen ist i.d.R. die Fachstudienberatung. Für die Anerkennung bei Einfach-Bachelorstudiengänge wenden Sie sich bitte an den/die Vorsitzenden des Prüfungsausschusses.

Ansprechpartner finden

Die Anerkennung kann nur erfolgen, wenn die bisher erbrachten Leistungen mit den im neuen Studiengang zu erbringenden Leistungen als gleichwertig bewertet werden. Sofern Sie durch die Anerkennung von Leistungen in ein höheres Semester eingestuft werden sollten, können Sie sich als Studienfortsetzer oder Studienfortsetzerin direkt in das entsprechend höhere Semester bewerben. Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zur Anerkennung von Studienleistungen.


Kosten und Finanzierung des Zweitstudiums

In Niedersachsen gibt es aktuell Langzeitstudiengebühren. Für die Berechnung von möglichen Langzeitstudiengebühren werden die bereits absolvierten Studienzeiten des Erststudiums mitgezählt, auch wenn diese außerhalb von Niedersachsen absolviert wurden. Bitte lesen Sie dazu die Informationen unter Studienkosten nach.

Grundsätzlich wird Ausbildungsförderung nach BAföG nur für eine Erstausbildung geleistet (§ 7 Abs. 1 BAföG), außer zum Beispiel wenn ein weiteres Studium für die Aufnahme eines angestrebten Berufes rechtlich erforderlich ist. Sie können sich diesbezüglich individuell beraten lassen bei der BAföG- und Sozialberatungsstelle des Studentenwerks.



Aktuelle Infos rund ums Studium an der Leibniz Universität Hannover:

Zentrale Studienberatung
Zentrale Studienberatung
Zentrale Studienberatung
Servicehotline / Zentrale Studienberatung
Die Servicehotline hilft Ihnen gerne weiter! Telefonisch, per E-Mail oder persönlich!
Adresse
ServiceCenter
Welfengarten 1
30167 hannover
Gebäude
Servicehotline / Zentrale Studienberatung
Die Servicehotline hilft Ihnen gerne weiter! Telefonisch, per E-Mail oder persönlich!
Adresse
ServiceCenter
Welfengarten 1
30167 hannover
Gebäude