UniversityInternationalComing to Hannover
Visa and Administrative Requirements

Visa and Official Administrative Procedures

This page provides information on formalities at the citizen centre and visa issues regarding your stay in Hannover.

REGISTRATION AT THE CITIZEN CENTRE IN HANNOVER

New residents (coming from the EU or from outside the EU) must register with one of the eight citizen centres (“Bürgeramt”) in Hannover. They must register within 2 weeks of their arrival in Hannover.

Appointments must be booked online. Please bring your passport, the completed and signed form  "Wohnungsgeberbestätigung" (confirmation of your move signed by your landlord), and your rental agreement.


VISA AND RESIDENCE PERMIT

Visa

Non-EU nationals require a visa to enter the Federal Republic of Germany. Please apply for a visa in your home country before your stay and remember to apply for a residence permit at the Foreigners’ Registration Office (“Ausländerbehörde”) in Hannover after your arrival. Please be sure to apply for a long-term visa with the possibility to enter the Federal Republic of Germany on multiple occasions, not a tourist visa. Please note that family members travelling with you also require a visa.

IMPORTANT: Students from “positive third countries” such as the United States of America, Israel, Brazil, or South Korea can enter Germany without a visa (details are available on the website of the Federal Foreign Office). However, if their stay in Germany is longer than 90 days, they will have to apply for a student residence permit at the Foreigners’ Registration Office in Hannover (as specified in section 16 of the German residence act, AufenthG).

Detailed information on visa requirements for specific countries can be found here: Federal Foreign Office

The following link provides information on the "Schengen visa".


Residence Permit

In order to stay in Germany, non-EU citizens require a residence permit as specified in section 16 of the German residence act (“Aufenthaltsgesetz”). This includes stays as preparation for university studies with a maximum duration of two years. Furthermore, non-EU citizens are required to provide proof of sufficient financial resources, which must be submitted to the German embassy in your home country or to the Foreigners’ Registration Office in Hannover. The required amount in Hannover is 8,640 euros per year or 720 euros per month (source: Student Services). Students may provide proof of sufficient financial resources

  • by depositing 720 euros per month of their stay in a blocked account (“Sperrkonto”, for one year: 12 months x 720 euros = 8,640 euros)
  • OR by presenting a formal pledge signed by a third party (such as parents) to cover a minimum of 720 euros per month (“Verpflichtungserklärung”)
  • OR through a recognised grant from public funds (such as DAAD or home institution) covering 720 euros per month or by providing proof of income from another source (such as salary).

Where?    Foreigners’ Registration Office (“Ausländerbehörde”), Leinstr. 14, 30159 Hannover (city railway line 3 or 7, stop “Markthalle/Landtag”), by appointment only

Required Documents

  • a valid passport and a biometric passport photo
  • proof of sufficient financial resources (to cover living expenses such as grant confirmation, payslip, etc.)
  • proof of health insurance
  • enrolment confirmation
  • married couples: marriage certificate (if the marriage took place after your arrival in Germany)
  • fee: 100 euros, reduced fee for students, free of charge for students in receipt of a grant from institutions in Germany

Visum und Behördengänge

Im folgenden finden Sie einige Informationen zur Stadtanmeldung, zur Einreise sowie Visa-Angelegenheiten für Ihren Aufenthalt in Hannover.

ANMELDUNG BEI DER STADT HANNOVER

Sämtliche Neu-Bürgerinnen und -Bürger (EU und Nicht-EU) müssen sich bei einem der acht Bürgerämter der Stadt Hannover anmelden, innerhalb von 14 Tagen nach Ankunft in Hannover.

Das ist in der Regel nur mit Terminvereinbarung möglich. Mitzubringen sind der Pass und das ausgefüllte und unterschriebene Formular "Wohnungsgeberbestätigung" zusammen mit dem Mietvertrag.


VISUM UND AUFENTHALTSGENEHMIGUNG

Visum

Grundsätzlich brauchen Sie als Nicht-EU-Bürgerin und Nicht-EU-Bürger ein Visum für die Einreise. Dieses müssen Sie vor Ihrem Aufenthalt in Ihrem Heimatland beantragen, nach der Einreise muss dann die Aufenthaltsgenehmigung bei der Ausländerbehörde in Hannover beantragt werden. Beachten Sie hierbei bitte, dass Sie kein Touristenvisum beantragen, sondern ein Visum für einen längeren Aufenthalt mit mehrmaliger Einreisemöglichkeit. Bitte bedenken Sie hierbei auch, dass für mitreisende Familienangehörige Entsprechendes benötigt wird.

WICHTIG: Studierende aus sogenannten "positiven Drittstaaten" wie z.B. den USA, Israel, Brasilien oder Südkorea (siehe unten bei "Auswärtiges Amt") können zwar ohne Visum nach Deutschland einreisen, müssen aber vor Ort, also bei der Ausländerbehörde in Hannover, einen Aufenthaltstitel für Studierende (in der Regel nach § 16 AufenthG) beantragen, falls ihr Aufenthalt mehr als 90 Tage beträgt. 

 

Studierende und Forscher aus Nicht-EU Ländern, die aktuell eine gültige Aufenthaltserlaubnis eines anderen EU-Mitgliedstaates besitzen, können in Deutschland bis zu 360 Tage lang ohne Visum studieren, bzw. 180 Tage forschen (Mobilitätsrichtlinie für außereuropäische Studierende und Forscher mit einem EU Aufenthaltstitel). Zu den Ausnahmen gehören Studierende mit einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Großbritannien, Irland oder Dänemark, da in einem solchen Fall noch ein nationales Visum für Deutschland beantragt werden muss.

Detaillierte Informationen zu Visabedingungen einzelner Länder erhalten Sie hier: Auswärtiges Amt.

Hier finden Sie Information zu den Regelungen für ein "Schengen-Visum".


Aufenthaltsgenemigung

Für den Aufenthalt in Deutschland benötigen Sie als Nicht-EU-Bürgerin und Nicht-EU-Bürger einen Aufenthaltstitel nach §16 Aufenthaltsgesetz. Dieser umfasst auch studienvorbereitende Maßnahmen, welche in der Regel max. zwei Jahre dauern dürfen. In jedem Falle benötigen Sie einen Finanzierungsnachweis, den Sie entweder bei der deutschen Botschaft in Ihrem Heimatland oder der Ausländerbehörde in Hannover vorlegen müssen. Der Betrag liegt in Hannover bei 8640,- Euro pro Jahr, das entspricht monatlich 720,- Euro (Quelle: Studentenwerk). Ein Finanzierungsnachweis kann erbracht werden

  • ENTWEDER durch Einrichten eines Sperrkontos von 720,- Euro pro Aufenthaltsmonat in Deutschland (für ein Jahr: 12 Monate x EUR 720 = EUR 8640).
  • ODER durch eine Verpflichtungserklärung über mindestens 720,- Euro/Monat durch dritte Personen (zum Beispiel Eltern)
  • ODER durch ein anerkanntes Stipendium aus öffentlichen Mitteln (z.B. DAAD oder Heimathochschule) in ausreichender Höhe von 720,- Euro oder andere Einkommensnachweise (z.B. Gehaltszahlungen).

Wo?    Fachbereich „Ausländerbehörde“, Leinstr. 14, 30159 Hannover (Stadtbahn Linie 3 oder 7, Haltestelle „Markthalle/ Landtag“), mit Terminvereinbarung

Welche Unterlagen sind mitzubringen?

  • einen gültigen Pass, ein biometrisches Passbild
  • Finanzierungsnachweis (Nachweis über Sicherung des Lebensunterhaltes wie Stipendien-Bescheinigung, Gehaltsnachsweise etc.)
  • Nachweis über Krankenversicherung
  • Immatrikulationsbescheinigung
  • für Verheiratete: Heiratsurkunde, wenn die Heirat nach Einreise in Deutschland erfolgt ist.
  • Gebühren: 100 €, Reduktion für Studentinnen und Studenten, kostenfrei für Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten deutscher Stipendiengeber