Insurances

HEALTH INSURANCE

Compulsory Insurance

All students in Germany must have health insurance. There are public and private health insurance companies. They must provide basic health protection. The fees for students are different and depend on additional costs of the respective health insurance company. They are of approx. € 90 per month.

Prices and services vary much more between the several private health insurance companies, ensure to check in advance before negotiating. Attention: Once you have private health insurance protection as a student you cannot change to the public system any more while studying.

Special regulations:

  • If you have reached the age of 30 and still enrolled as a student or if your semester you are in is higher than the 14th, you cannot get student health insurance protection.
  • PhD students cannot get health insurance to students' prices either. What is more, they are allowed to enter to the Public Health Insurance System only when having a working contract and earning more than €450 per month.
  • Special reguations apply as well when having health insurance protection through your parents or marriage partner.

Special Information for Foreign Students

International studenst must provide health insurance protection for obtaining visa or residence permit. You may not register without it. Please, purchase health insurance shortly after your arrival in Hannover. Germany has insurance agreements with all EU countries ("Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte") and with Turkey and Tunesia. Insurance policies (insurance card) from these countries are accepted in Germany. Students can keep their own insurance and are not obligated to pay any insurance fees in Germany.

Generally, students who are attending a DSH preparatory course or a pre-degree course (Studienkolleg) need to prove that they have a private medical insurance.

There are many different medical insurance providers for international students. You should check in advance if these insurances are sufficient for your stay  (many international travel insurances from foreign countries do not meet the requirements!).

Public Health Insurance Companies (examples)


ACCIDENT INSURANCE

All students and PhD students are insured by the Leibniz Universität for accidents happening during classes or on the way to or from classes. Also, if you have an accident on campus, in the library or during an excursion you are covered by university insurance.

If you are outside university for an intern e.g. or simply in your free time, the accident insurance protection of university will not apply. Therefore, it is highly recommended to have a private accident insurance on your own.


LIABILITY INSURANCE

If you hurt somebody else or damage somebod else's property you are responsible for all costs which can sometimes be very high. Therefore, it is advisable to get private liability insurance (Haftpflicht Versicherung). However, it is a good idea to inform yourself about your liability insurance in your home country to see if you are covered during your stay in Germany. If you find that you are not covered in your home country, you can get private liability insurance in Hannover.

You will find information of Insurance Companies in Hannover at "Gelbe Seiten" (Yellow Pages), section "Versicherungen".

Versicherungen

KRANKENVERSICHERUNG

Versicherungspflicht

Wer an einer deutschen Hochschulte studieren möchte, muss eine Krankenversicherung nachweisen. In Deutschland gibt es die Möglichkeit, eine „gesetzliche“ oder „private“ Krankenversicherung abzuschließen. Alle gesetzlichen Versicherungen müssen eine Basisversicherungsleistung anbieten. Der Preis für Studenten ist unterschiedlich. Er hängt vom Zusatzbeitrag der jeweiligen Krankenversicherung ab und beträgt ca. € 90/ Monat.

Preise und Leistungen bei privaten Anbietern hingegen können stark variieren. Es ist deshalb unbedingt notwendig, dass Sie sich vor Abschluss einer Versicherung gut über die Leistungen und die Vertragsbedingungen informieren. Achtung: Einmal als Student privat versichert, können Sie im Laufe Ihres Studiums nicht mehr in eine gesetzliche Krankenkasse wechseln (Befreiung von der gesetzl. Krankenversicherungspflicht)!

Wer 30 Jahre alt und noch immatrikuliert ist oder das 14. Fachsemester überschritten hat, kann nicht nach dem Studententarif versichert werden. Promotionsstudenten können sich grds. nicht zum Studententarif versichern. Für sie gelten besondere Regelungen.

Besondere Reglungen gelten auch für Studierende, die über ihre Eltern oder Ehepartner mitversichert sind (Familienversicherung).

Wichtige Hinweise für internationale Studierende

Internationale Studierende müssen ihre Krankenversicherungen auch für den Erhalt ihres Aufenthaltstitels bei der Ausländerbehörde nachweisen. Bitte, schließen Sie kurz nach Ankunft in Deutschland eine Krankenversicherung ab. Mit allen EU-Ländern (durch die sogenannte "Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte") sowie mit der Türkei und Tunesien hat Deutschland ein Sozialversicherungsabkommen. Das heißt, dass Bürger dieser Länder ihre Kranversicherung aus ihrem Heimatland nutzen und sich in Deutschland medizinisch behandeln lassen können.

Teilnehmer an DSH-Vorbereitungs- oder anderen Sprachkursen sowie Teilnehmer am Studienkolleg benötigen in der Regel eine private Krankenversicherung.

Sollten Sie sich für eine private Krankenversicherung entscheiden, müssen Sie prüfen, ob Ihre Krankenversicherung die Leistungskriterien einer gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung entspricht und von der Ausländerbehörde anerkannt werden (bei vielen internationalen Reiseversicherungen ist das nicht der Fall!).

Gesetzliche Krankenkassen (Beispiele)


UNFALLVERSICHERUNG

Alle Studierenden - auch Gasthörer und Doktoranden - sind durch die Universität während der Aus- und Fortbildung an der Hochschule unfallversichert. Der Versicherungsschutz umfasst auch sogenannte "Wegeunfälle", das heißt, dass Sie sind auf dem Weg zu einer Veranstaltung und zurück nach Hause versichert sind. Auch bei Unfällen auf dem Unigelände, in der Bibliothek, bei Exkursionen etc. gilt der Versicherungsschutz.

Dieser Versicherungsschutz bei Unfall gilt nicht für Tätigkeiten außerhalb der Universität wie zum Beispiel bei Praktika oder in der Freizeit. Deswegen ist der Abschluss einer privaten Unfallversicherung empfehlenswert.


HAFTPFLICHTVERSICHERUNG

Wenn Sie andere Personen verletzen oder Gegenstände anderer Personen beschädigen (zum Beispiel bei Laborarbeiten in der Universität), müssen Sie als Verursacher dafür haften. Es ist deshalb empfehlenswert, eine Privat-Haftpflichtversicherung abzuschließen.
Bitte informieren Sie sich bei Ihrer Haftpflichtversicherung in der Heimat, ob Sie auch im Ausland versichert sind oder schließen Sie eine neue Versicherung hier in Hannover ab.

Die einzelnen Versicherungsgesellschaften finden Sie in den "Gelben Seiten" unter dem Stichwort "Versicherungen".