Gottfried in a Nutshell #2

Business Travel Denied: Leibniz Required to Work from Home...

Once in a while, everybody gets bitten by the travel bug. Leibniz too was familiar with the urge to travel, the search for unknown places and cultures. In the course of his life, he covered a distance of approximately 20,000 kilometres at an average speed of 2-4 horsepower. He was constantly on the go. "Rest precedes stupidity. One must always find something interesting to do, to think, to design - either for the benefit of all or for the benefit of individuals", he once wrote.

Leibniz travelled to Italy by means of his horse and wagon, explored the Harz Mountains by stagecoach on more than 38 occasions, sailed to England and went on sleigh rides through the Bavarian and Bohemian Forest in winter. He spent 2 years and 7 ½ months in Southern Germany, Austria and Italy conducting research. He verified the ancestors of the House of Welf using archive material and tombstones in order to obtain the title of "Electorate" for the House of Hanover. Leibniz later wrote that he "gained true satisfaction from people, not documents". While travelling, he maintained contact with fellow scholars, enjoyed the theatre and the opera, visited historical churches, art and mineral collections as well as pumping stations and mines to learn about the latest technologies. He climbed Mount Vesuvius in 1689.

Since travelling in the 17th century was quite uncomfortable, Leibniz worked on improving coach suspensions and commissioned a portable folding chair for his journeys. Initially, post riders delivered messages across borders. They were later replaced by stagecoaches that also carried passengers. A network of relay stations located at a distance of 15-30 kilometres facilitated the replacement of horses, the coach itself or the postillion (driver).

Moreover, Leibniz designed a flexible passenger cabin for stagecoaches, which consisted of a waxed fabric covering that could be moved to another coach, such as in the event of a lane change. Due to the different types of stagecoaches used in various countries, the deep furrows carved into the dirt roads varied considerably.

Leibniz’s foldable travel chair Leibniz’s foldable travel chair Leibniz’s foldable travel chair © GWLB Hannover
Leibniz’s foldable "travel chair", circa 1700

However, his constant absence from the residence city did not go unnoticed. "Monsieur, I am overjoyed to learn that you have not passed away to continue your search for the origin of the House of Brunswick in the afterworld. [...] Since your departure we had not heard anything that lead us to believe that you are still alive", wrote a slightly disgruntled Duchess Sophia after Leibniz had not sent word for months while spending time in Italy. Duke George Luis even compared his court historiographer with the "White Lady": "When asked why he is rarely seen he always offers the same excuse, that he works on his invisible book [the history of the House of Welf] [...]". In 1704 and once more in 1711, Leibniz was officially banned from travelling and asked to stay in Hannover until he finished his work on the history of the House of Welf.

While working from home, Leibniz maintained contact with many international scholars he had met during his travels and exchanged letters with approximately 1,200 correspondents based in Europe and beyond. In the end, his research contributed to the award of the title "Electorate" for the House of Hanover. However, Leibniz did not give up travelling after all. Following an official stay in Wolfenbüttel, he suddenly turned up in Berlin. On another occasion, he pretended to undergo a course of treatment in Karlsbad while travelling on to Vienna. In a letter dated 1708 and addressed to the worldly scholar based in Hannover, Electress Sophia jested: "The Elector says he intends to advertise a reward in the papers as an incentive for locating you".

CONTACT INFORMATION

Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Communications and Marketing
Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Communications and Marketing

Gottfried in a Nutshell #2

Dienstreiseantrag abgelehnt: Leibniz im Homeoffice...

Fernweh, wer kennt es nicht? Die Sehnsucht zu Reisen, die Suche nach fremden Orten und Kulturen kannte auch Leibniz. Geschätzt 20.000 km Wegstrecke mit 2 bis 4 PS legte er im Laufe seines Lebens zurück. Er war ein umtriebiger Geist. "Die Ruhe ist eine Stufe zur Dummheit. Man muss stets etwas finden, was es zu tun, zu denken, zu entwerfen gilt, wofür man sich interessiert, sei es für die Öffentlichkeit oder den einzelnen" notierte er einst.

Leibniz reiste mit eigenem Pferd und Wagen bis nach Italien, mit der Postkutsche über 38 Mal auf den Harz, setzte mit dem Segelschiff über nach England und glitt auch schon einmal mit dem Reiseschlitten durch den bayrisch-böhmischen Winterwald. Alleine 2 Jahre und 7 ½ Monate dauerte sein Forschungsaufenthalt in Süddeutschland, Österreich und Italien. In Archiven und auf Grabsteinen wies er die Urahnen der Welfen nach, um so für das Haus Hannover die Kurwürde zu erlangen. "Die wahre Befriedigung haben mir die Menschen gebracht nicht die Urkunden" schrieb Leibniz später. Auf seinen Reisen pflegte er gelehrte Kontakte, besuchte Theater und Opern, besichtigte historische Kirchen, Kunst- und Mineraliensammlungen genauso wie Pumpanlagen und Bergwerke, um sich über den Stand der Technik zu informieren. 1689 bestieg er den Vesuv.

Weil das Reisen im 17. Jahrhundert noch sehr unkomfortabel war, machte sich Leibniz Gedanken zu einer verbesserten Federung für Reisekutschen und ließ einen faltbaren, transportablen Reisesessel anfertigen. Anfänglich transportierten Postreiter die Nachrichten über die Ländergrenzen, sie wurden von Postkutschen abgelöst, die erstmals auch Personenbeförderung ermöglichten. Ein Netzwerk aus Umspann- und Relaisstationen alle 15 bis 30 km ermöglichte den Tausch der Pferde, manchmal der Kutsche selbst oder des Postillions (Kutschers).

Leibniz entwarf eine variable Passagier-Kabine mit gewachster Stoffbespannung für Postkutschen, zum schnellen Umsetzen von einem auf den anderen Wagen z.B. beim Spurwechsel: Die tief eingegrabenen Furchen auf den unbefestigten Straßen variierten von Land zu Land durch die unterschiedlichen Kutschenmodelle.

Foto von Leibniz' Reisestuhl Foto von Leibniz' Reisestuhl Foto von Leibniz' Reisestuhl © GWLB Hannover
Leibniz‘ faltbarer "Reisestuhl", ca. 1700

Doch seine ständige Abwesenheit blieb in der Residenzstadt nicht unbemerkt. "Ich muss Ihnen unbedingt meine Freude darüber ausdrücken, Monsieur, dass Sie nicht ins Jenseits hinüber gegangen sind, um dort die Ursprünge des Hauses Braunschweig zu suchen. [...] Denn seit Ihrer Abreise hat man nichts gehört, was uns hätte glauben lassen, Sie sein noch am Leben" schrieb Herzogin Sophie etwas verschnupft, nachdem sich Leibniz über Monate nicht aus Italien gemeldet hatte. Herzog Georg Ludwig verglich seinen Hofhistoriographen auch schon mal mit der "weißen Frau": "Fragt man ihn woher es komme, daß man ihn nicht sieht? So hat er stets zur Entschuldigung, daß er an seinem unsichtbaren Buche arbeitet [die Welfengeschichte] [...]". 1704 und erneut 1711 bekam Leibniz schließlich offiziell Reiseverbot. Bis zur Fertigstellung der Welfengeschichte sollte er am Arbeitsplatz in Hannover verbleiben.

Im 'Homeoffice' pflegte Leibniz die vielen internationale Kontakte, die er auf seinen Reisen geknüpft hatte weiter. Er korrespondierte mit etwa 1.200 Briefpartnern in ganz Europa und darüber hinaus. Seine Forschungsergebnisse verhalfen schließlich den Welfen in Hannover zur Kurwürde. Gänzlich jedoch verzichtete Leibniz nicht auf seine Bewegungsfreiheit; z. B. tauchte er nach einem offiziellen Aufenthalt in Wolfenbüttel in Berlin wieder auf oder er gab vor in Karlsbad zu Kuren und reiste von dort weiter nach Wien. "Der Kurfürst sagt, er wolle in den Zeitungen eine Belohnung für den ausschreiben lassen, der Sie wieder auffinde", schrieb Kurfürstin Sophie 1708 nicht ohne Humor an ihren weltoffenen Gelehrten mit 'Office' in Hannover.

KONTAKT

Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Referat für Kommunikation und Marketing
Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Referat für Kommunikation und Marketing