Gottfried in a Nutshell #3

Did Gottfried's dog have a soul?

In 1713, Duke Moritz of Saxe-Zeitz wrote to Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz: "I recently saw a curiosity in Leipsic, namely a real, living, natural dog which could say more than 50 words [...] and the ABC except for M, N, X and Y." The dog was shown to Gottfried in Zeitz shortly afterwards. Rather underwhelmed, he reported to the French Academy of Sciences in a dry fashion that the chien parlant were able to pronounce 30 words, including Thé, Caffé, Chocolat and Assemble.

It is unconfirmed if Gottfried had a dog himself. However, dogs were definitely omnipresent in everyday life of the 17th century, whether they were stray dogs, precious pets at royal courts or simply curious attractions. French philosopher René Descartes had shaped the mechanistic world view where God was regarded as a clockmaker and man as a "divine machine". Descartes considered animals to be "dull and unreasonable" (animaux sans raison), emotionless machines which could feel neither pain nor joy. He would only believe in a place in heaven for human, "rational" souls, as animals, according to him, did not have a soul. Many dogs were mistreated. In England, "turnspit dogs" had to run inside wooden wheels for hours to turn meat skewers in the kitchens. Some were luckier. At royal courts, a dog served as a status symbol. Lords would mostly keep hunting dogs while ladies would prefer smaller breeds. In France, people would adorn themselves with a bichon (lap dog). In England, noble ladies would carry a "comforter" in front of them as a living alternative to a hot-water bottle to warm their souls. Referring to her mother Elisabeth Stuart, who had given birth to thirteen children, Electress Sophia remarked, sharply as usual: "She clearly preferred the sight of her monkeys and dogs to that of her own children." Famous painters such as van Dyck, Rubens or Velásquez depicted ducal masters and mistresses together with their darling dogs in oils. Even Electress Sophia had a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel placed next to her daughter Sophia Charlotte on a velvet cushion for a child's portrait. The painting was crafted during a visit to Louis XIV at Versailles in 1679. People at the court of Hannover were, of course, just as passionate about keeping dogs. Legend has it that the Hundestein (dog stone), an obelisk in the Georgengarten south of the Leibniz Temple, is meant to remind people of how Sophia Charlotte was rescued by a greyhound, a gift from Peter the Great. As the story goes, the dog saved the princess when she fell into the water while playing in the park.

Photo of a painting showing Sophie Charlotte with her dog Photo of a painting showing Sophie Charlotte with her dog Photo of a painting showing Sophie Charlotte with her dog © Photo: Roland Handrick
Sophia Charlotte, Princess of Brunswick-Lüneburg (1668-1705), (GK I 739), courtesy of the Stiftung Preußische Schlösser und Gärten Berlin-Brandenburg

Gottfried knew about the affection the House of Welf had for its dogs. When he was looking to purchase a new kind of steam digester made by French inventor Denis Papin for research purposes, he aroused the interest of his "sponsors" with a humorous letter of protest written from the perspective of dogs. In the letter, the dogs complained about pressure-cooking which allowed bones to be soft-boiled so that humans could eat them themselves. The eloquently phrased complaint even made reference to Homer and the Bible. It was signed by Laelaps, Amarille and Pug. Gottfried evidently had a waggish sense of humour. The letter certainly made the dog-owning masters and mistresses chuckle. After all, people shared a social bond with their dogs back then just as much as they do today. Duchess Sophia Charlotte was therefore concerned about whether her dogs were soulless machines and what might happen to them after they died. Gottfried replied in a comforting manner: "This much is certain: nothing is insignificant or lost in the universe, neither are the dogs of Madame which, like all animals, are undoubtedly machines, but each of them inspired by the immortal unit we call a soul [...]." To Gottfried, the difference between humans and animals was merely gradual. All living beings, in his view, were made up of an indivisible, eternal unit (monad) created by God. Since only humans were capable of self-reflection and reason, the human soul went to heaven without losing its "personality". Animals, as Gottfried suggested, were able to feel joy and pain though. Their souls were also immortal and merged into nature after death. For "death is nothing but the folding and unfolding of a true and everlasting life". Relieved, the duchess replied: "When I think of my dear dogs, it gives me great comfort to know that animals do not die completely. Descartes's concept of the clockwork seemed utterly absurd to me." And she went on to confront the Archbishop of Reims, an advocate of Descartes's theories about soulless animals, with the following question: "When you are jealous, are you a machine or human? For I know no one more jealous than you, except for my dogs; therefore, I would like to know whether this is the movement of a machine or the passion of a soul." The bishop "got angered and went away without giving an answer." Gottfried did not think "that you insult people by not granting them the privilege of being the only ones having a soul". For that would mean: "to think very little of the wealth of nature if you set such tight limits to it."

My dog would have liked Gottfried!

CONTACT INFORMATION

Dr. Ariane Walsdorf
Communications and Marketing
Dr. Ariane Walsdorf
Communications and Marketing

Gottfried in a Nutshell #3

Hatte Leibniz‘ Hund eine Seele?

1713 schrieb Herzog Moritz von Sachsen-Zeitz an Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz: "Zu Leiptzig habe ich eine rarität gesehen, nemlich einen rechten lebendigen natürlichen Hund, so reden können, zum wenigsten mehr als 50. Worte [...] und das A B C biß auff M N X und Y aussprechen können". Leibniz wurde daraufhin der Hund in Zeitz vorgeführt. Er berichtete an die Pariser Akademie der Wissenschaften unbeeindruckt trocken, der chien parlant könne 30 Wörter aussprechen, darunter die Worte Thé, Caffé, Chocolat und Assemble.

Es ist nicht belegt, ob Leibniz einen Hund hatte. Sicher ist aber, Hunde waren im Alltag des 17. Jahrhunderts allgegenwärtig, ob als streunende Straßenhunde, als Luxushund an den Fürstenhöfen oder eben als kuriose Attraktion. Der französische Philosoph René Descartes hatte das Mechanistische Weltbild geprägt, mit Gott als Uhrmacher, und dem Menschen als "Göttliche Maschine". Tiere sah er als "geist- und vernunftlos" ["animaux sans raison"] an. Als gefühllose Automaten konnten sie seiner Meinung nach weder Schmerz noch Freude empfinden. Einen Platz im Himmel gestand er nur der menschlichen, "vernunftbegabten" Seele zu, denn Tiere hatten keine Seelen. Viele Hunde wurden schlecht behandelt. In England drehten "Turnspit dogs" in hölzernen Laufrädern stundenlang die Fleischspieße in den Küchen. Anderen erging es besser. An den Fürstenhöfen war der Hund ein Status-Symbol. Während die Herren meist Jagdhunde hielten, waren bei den höfischen Damen besonders kleine Rassen beliebt. Man schmückte sich in Frankreich mit einem "Bichon" ["Schoßhund"] in England trugen die adligen Damen den "Comforter" ["Tröster"] als lebendige Wärmflaschen und Seelenwärmer auf dem Bauch. Über ihre Mutter Elisabeth Stuart, die dreizehn Kinder zur Welt brachte, berichtete Kurfürstin Sophie gewohnt scharfzüngig: "Den Anblick ihrer Meerkatzen und Hunde zog sie dem unsrigen entschieden vor". Berühmte Maler, wie van Dyck, Rubens oder Velásquez verewigten die Porträts der herzöglichen 'Herrchens und Frauchens' mit Hund in Öl. Auch Kurfürstin Sophie stellte ihrer Tochter Sophie Charlotte einen Cavalier King Charles Spaniel auf einem Samtkissen auf einem Kinderporträt zur Seite. Das Gemälde entstand während eines Besuchs bei Ludwig XIV. in Versailles 1679. Natürlich hielt man auch am Hof von Hannover leidenschaftlich Hunde. Der "Hundestein", ein Obelisk im Georgengarten südlich des Leibniz-Tempels, soll dem Volksmund nach an die Rettung Sophie Charlottes durch einen Windhund - ein Geschenk Peters des Großen - erinnern. Demnach rettete der Hund die Prinzessin, als sie beim Spielen im Park ins Wasser fiel.

Foto eines Gemäldes, das Sophie Charlotte mit ihrem Hund zeigt Foto eines Gemäldes, das Sophie Charlotte mit ihrem Hund zeigt Foto eines Gemäldes, das Sophie Charlotte mit ihrem Hund zeigt © Foto: Roland Handrick
Sophie Charlotte Prinzessin von Braunschweig-Lüneburg (1668-1705), (GK I 739), Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Stiftung Preußische Schlösser und Gärten Berlin-Brandenburg

Leibniz wusste um die Zuneigung der Welfen zu ihren Hunden. Als er zu Forschungszwecken einen neuartigen Dampftopf des französischen Erfinders Denis Papin anschaffen wollte, weckte er das Interesse seiner "Sponsoren" mit einer humoristischen Protestschrift, geschrieben aus der Sicht von Hunden. Die Hunde beklagen sich darin über das Kochen unter Dampfdruck, welches die Knochen so weichkocht, dass die Menschen sie nun selber essen können. In der elaboriert formulierten Klage berufen sich die Hunde gelehrt auf Homer und die Heilige Schrift. Die Eingabe ist unterzeichnet von "Lailaps", "Amarille" und "Mops". Leibniz saß hier der Schalk im Nacken. Sicher traf die Schrift den Humor seiner Dienstherren und -damen mit Hund. Damals wie heute hatten die Menschen eben auch eine soziale Bindung an ihre Hunde. Herzogin Sophie Charlotte trieb deshalb die Sorge um, ob ihre Hunde seelenlose Maschinen seien und was nach dem Tod mit ihnen geschehe. Leibniz antwortete tröstend: "So viel ist wahr, dass nichts unbedeutend ist oder sich im All verliert, auch nicht die Hunde von Madame, die wie alle Tiere ohne Zweifel Maschinen sind, aber jeder eine Maschine beseelt durch seine unvergängliche Einheit, welche das ist, was man Seele nennt [...]." Für Leibniz ist der Unterschied zwischen Mensch und Tier nur ein "gradueller". Alle Lebewesen bestehen für ihn aus einer unteilbaren, zeitlos existenten, von Gott geschaffenen Einheit ("Monade"). Da nur der Mensch fähig sei zur geistigen Reflexion und Vernunft, gelange die menschliche Seele, ohne Verlust ihrer "Persönlichkeit" in den Himmel. Tiere, so Leibniz, seien aber fähig, Freude und Schmerz zu empfinden. Ihre Seelen sind ebenfalls unendlich, nach dem Tod gehen sie auf in der Natur. Denn "der Tod ist nichts anderes als Einfaltungen und Ausfaltungen eines wahren und immerwährenden Lebens". Die Herzogin antwortete erleichtert: "Das die thier nicht ganzt absterben tröst mich sehr vor Meine lieben hunden, Descartes opinion von das uhrwerk, ist mir ser abgeschmackt vorkommen". Den Erzbischof von Reims, einen Anhänger von Descartes Theorien von den seelenlosen Tieren, konfrontierte die Herzogin darauf mit folgender Frage: "Wenn Sie eifersüchtig sind, sind Sie dann Maschine oder Mensch, denn neben Ihnen kenne ich nichts Eifersüchtigeres als meine Hunde; darum möchte ich wissen, ob dies die Bewegung einer Maschine ist oder eine Leidenschaft der Seele." Der Bischof "wurde böß undt gieng fort ohne antwort". Leibniz war nicht der Meinung, "dass man die Menschen beleidigt, wenn man ihnen nicht das ausschließliche Privileg einräumt, dass sie als Einzige Seelen haben". Denn das hieße: "Vom Reichtum der Natur eine sehr geringe Meinung haben, wenn man ihm so enge Grenzen setzt."

Mein Hund hätte Leibniz gemocht!

KONTAKT

Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Referat für Kommunikation und Marketing
Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Referat für Kommunikation und Marketing