Internationalisation Strategy

© David Carreno Hansen
Photo: David Carreno Hansen/LUH

Leibniz University Hannover (LUH) attaches great importance to internationalisation and is part of an international network. These principles are established in the mission statement and applied throughout the university. People from more than 125 nations study, research, and work at LUH. More than 3,800 out of 28,000 students come from abroad. LUH aims to support students and researchers in their international activities and prepare them for the international employment market.

Photo: Faculty of Mechanical Engineering/LUH
Photo: Christian Bierwagen/LUH
Photo: Birgit Barden-Läufer/LUH

OUR INTERNATIONALISATION STRATEGY IS BASED ON THE FOLLOWING PRINCIPLES:

Provide an international environment for

research, teaching, and learning

throughout the university

Raise the

international visibility of teaching and research

at Leibniz University Hannover

Prepare and educate students and doctoral candidates for the international

employment market

and to become world citizens

The internationalisation process is underpinned by the basic principles of diversity management, as well as by the language policy of LUH. Accordingly, linguistic and cultural diversity of all members of the university is conceived as a resource and promoted as an element of global education.

THE STRATEGY OPERATES ON FOUR LEVELS

  • 1. Teaching and Studying

    At LUH, an international environment is provided for students and doctoral candidates, which will prepare them for a future in the global employment market. Internationalisation in teaching and studying is not limited to expanding periods abroad, but also includes local internationalisation. In addition to master’s programmes in English, language competence is encouraged during the bachelor’s programme.

    In order to increase the number of qualified international students, short-term exchange programmes are expanded. Connecting international students and local students is of particular importance not only for integration, but also for academic success. Among other things, this is achieved through tandem projects and mentoring programmes.

  • 2. Research

    International connection and visibility is fostered by implementing collaborative research programmes. The exchange required for this is facilitated via research mobility. In this respect, invitations are extended to renowned guest researchers to visit LUH. Additionally, the mobility of local researchers is increased.

    Junior researchers are the most important foundation for excellent research. International doctoral candidates and guest researchers are made aware of the opportunities available at Leibniz University Hannover through proactive recruitment and by providing an appealing job portal.

  • 3. Strategic Partnerships and Collaborations

    Leibniz University Hannover is networking with key regions worldwide. For example, such a partnership exists between LUH and Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University. A similar collaboration is currently being expanded with Tongji University in Shanghai.

    Leibniz University Hannover actively participates in thematic networks in order to strengthen its profile internationally, create synergies, and capitalise on opportunities for international marketing. In addition, international companies and NGOs are recruited as cooperation partners to create opportunities for both research and teaching, as well as to give students an insight into future fields of work.

  • 4. Administration and Advice

    LUH views internationalisation as a common obligation that affects all areas of the university. It is accomplished when university staff participates actively. A fundamental requirement for internationalisation of administration is the linguistic and intercultural qualification of staff through further training and mobility programmes. Furthermore, the visibility of international efforts and activities is increased. Research marketing is intensified for this. Moreover, administrative processes are consistently adapted to accommodate international students, teaching staff, and researchers.


View complete internationalisation strategy in the staff portal

VICE PRESIDENT FOR INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

Photo: Prof. Teresa Carlomagno Photo: Prof. Teresa Carlomagno
Prof. Dr. Teresa Carlomagno
Photo: Prof. Teresa Carlomagno Photo: Prof. Teresa Carlomagno
Prof. Dr. Teresa Carlomagno

Internationalisierungsstrategie

© David Carreno Hansen
Foto: David Carreno Hansen/LUH

Die Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) ist international ausgerichtet und vernetzt. Dies ist im Leitbild verankert und wird in allen Bereichen der Universität gelebt. Menschen aus über 125 Nationen studieren, forschen und arbeiten hier. Mehr als 3.800 der rund 28.000 Studierenden kommen aus dem Ausland. Es gehört zum Selbstverständnis der LUH, alle Studierenden und Forschenden bei ihren internationalen Aktivitäten zu unterstützen und sie für den Arbeitsmarkt in einer global vernetzten Welt zu befähigen.

Foto: Fakultät für Maschinenbau/LUH
Foto: Christian Bierwagen/LUH
Foto: Birgit Barden-Läufer/LUH

UNSERE INTERNATIONALISIERUNGSSTRATEGIE ORIENTIERT SICH AN FOLGENDEN PRINZIPIEN

Ein internationales

Forschungs-, Lehr- und Lernumfeld

bieten

Die Bereiche

Lehre und Forschung an der Leibniz Universität

international sichtbar machen

Studierende und Doktoranden für den

internationalen Arbeitsmarkt qualifizieren

und sie zu Weltbürgern ausbilden

Der Prozess der Internationalisierung wird flankiert von den Grundsätzen des Diversity Managements und der Sprachenpolitik der LUH. Dementsprechend wird sprachliche und kulturelle Vielfalt aller Universitätsangehörigen als Ressource begriffen und als Element globaler Bildung gefördert.

DIE UMSETZUNG DER STRATEGIE FOKUSSIERT SICH AUF VIER BEREICHE

  • 1. Lehre und Studium

    An der LUH wird Studierenden und Doktoranden ein internationales Umfeld geboten, welches auf eine Zukunft in der globalisierten Arbeitswelt vorbereitet. Internationalität in Lehre und Studium beschränkt sich dabei nicht auf die Ausweitung von Auslandsaufenthalten, sondern setzt bei der Internationalisierung vor Ort an. Neben einem Ausbau des englischsprachigen Masterangebots wird bereits im Bachelorstudium die englische Sprachkompetenz gefördert.

    Um die Anzahl qualifizierter internationaler Studierender zu erhöhen, werden Kurzaustauschprogramme ausgebaut. Von großer Bedeutung für die soziale und fachliche Integration ist die Vernetzung von internationalen und lokalen Studierenden. Diese wird u.a. durch Tandemprojekte und Mentoringprogramme verstärkt.

  • 2. Forschung

    Die internationale Vernetzung und Sichtbarkeit der LUH wird weiter verstärkt, insbesondere durch kooperative Forschungsprogramme. Der hierfür erforderliche Austausch wird durch Forschungsaufenthalte gefördert. Dies betrifft sowohl die Einladung renommierter Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler an die LUH, als auch die Mobilität von hannoverschen Forscherinnen und Forschern.

    Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs ist die entscheidende Basis für exzellente Forschung. Durch proaktive Rekrutierung und ein attraktives Angebotsportal werden vor allem internationale Promovierende und Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler auf die Angebote der Leibniz Universität aufmerksam gemacht.

  • 3. Strategische Partnerschaften und Kooperationen

    Die Leibniz Universität vernetzt sich weltweit mit Schwerpunktregionen. Die LUH unterhält beispielsweise mit der „Peter der Große Polytechnische Universität St. Petersburg“ eine strategische Partnerschaft. Derzeit wird die Zusammenarbeit mit der Tongji Universität in Shanghai in ähnlicher Weise ausgeweitet.

    Die Leibniz Universität beteiligt sich aktiv an thematischen Netzwerken, um ihr Profil international zu stärken, Synergien zu erreichen und Möglichkeiten zum internationalen Marketing zu nutzen. Auch werden vermehrt internationale Firmen und NGOs als Kooperationspartner gewonnen, um somit Angebote sowohl für die Forschung als auch für die Lehre zu schaffen und Studierenden einen Einblick in künftige Arbeitsfelder zu geben.

  • 4. Verwaltung und Beratung

    Die LUH versteht Internationalisierung als Querschnittsaufgabe, die dann gelingt, wenn alle Beschäftigten der Universität aktiv beteiligt werden. Eine elementare Voraussetzung für die Internationalisierung der Verwaltung ist die sprachliche und interkulturelle Qualifikation der Beschäftigten durch Fortbildungen und Mobilitätsprogramme. Außerdem werden internationales Handeln und internationale Aktivitäten stärker sichtbar gemacht. Hierfür wird das Forschungsmarketing ausgebaut. Ferner werden Verwaltungsprozesse konsequent an internationale Studierende, Lehrende und Forschende angepasst.


Die vollständige Internationalisierungsstrategie im internen Beschäftitgenportal

VIZEPRÄSIDENTIN FÜR INTERNATIONALES

Foto: Prof. Dr. Teresa Carlomagno Foto: Prof. Dr. Teresa Carlomagno
Prof. Dr. Teresa Carlomagno
Adresse
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
234
Foto: Prof. Dr. Teresa Carlomagno Foto: Prof. Dr. Teresa Carlomagno
Prof. Dr. Teresa Carlomagno
Adresse
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
234