Open Access Resolution at Leibniz University Hannover

PREAMBLE

Leibniz University Hannover supports the scientific and political request for open access to knowledge in the sciences and humanities, as determined in the “Berlin Declaration” issued October 2003 and the “Berlin 3 Open Access” recommendation confirmed March 2005, in Southampton, UK. In the spirit of this declaration, the following resolution was passed by the presidential board and the senate:

  1. We aim to provide comprehensive research results and scientific publications of academic authors at Leibniz University Hannover and to make these freely available to the public. Thereby, we act according to the maxim of our namesake Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz: “Theoria Cum Praxi – all action should be directed towards the common good.”

  2. We endorse and support free access to scientific information. We support the use of science-friendly copyright. We urge academic authors to publish their research in Open Access or to exercise their secondary publishing rights.

  3. Through the establishment of professional, high-quality publication management at Leibniz University Hannover, academic authors will receive support with publishing, whilst improving the visibility and long-term availability of their research.

Open Access-Resolution der Leibniz Universität Hannover

PRÄAMBEL

Die Leibniz Universität Hannover unterstützt die wissenschaftspolitische Forderung nach offenem Zugang ("Open Access") zu wissenschaftlichem Wissen, wie sie in der „Berliner Erklärung" vom Oktober 2003 niedergelegt und in der „Berlin 3 Open Access" Empfehlung vom März 2005 in Southampton, UK konkretisiert wurde. Im Geiste dieser Erklärung wird die folgende Resolution von Präsidium und Senat verabschiedet:

  1. Unser Ziel ist es, die Forschungsergebnisse und wissenschaftlichen Publikationen der wissenschaftlichen Autorinnen und Autoren der Leibniz Universität Hannover möglichst vollständig nachzuweisen und für die Öffentlichkeit frei zugänglich zu machen. Damit folgen wir der Maxime unseres Namensgebers Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz: „Theoria Cum Praxi – Alles Handeln soll auf das Allgemeinwohl gerichtet sein."

  2. Wir befürworten und unterstützen den freien Zugang zu wissenschaftlicher Information. Wir setzen uns für ein wissenschaftsfreundliches Urheberrecht ein. Wir fordern die wissenschaftlichen Autorinnen und Autoren auf, ihre Publikationen im Open Access zu veröffentlichen oder ihr Zweitveröffentlichungsrecht wahrzunehmen.

  3. Mit dem Aufbau eines professionellen und qualitativ hochwertigen Publikationsmanagements an der Leibniz Universität Hannover sollen die wissenschaftlichen Autorinnen und Autoren in ihrer Publikationstätigkeit unterstützt und die Sichtbarkeit und langfristige Verfügbarkeit ihrer Forschungspublikationen verbessert werden.