Foundation model - Presidential Board and MWK negotiate terms for the possible establishment of a foundation

The diagram illustrates the process necessary to adopt the foundation model. Discussions open to all university members have been held. In a resolution dated 21.07.2021, the Senate authorised the Presidential Board to open negotiations with the MWK. This enables the Presidential Board to negotiate terms for the establishment of a foundation with the MWK, which need to be resolved by the Senate prior to converting the university into a foundation in accordance with the NHG. The diagram illustrates the process necessary to adopt the foundation model. Discussions open to all university members have been held. In a resolution dated 21.07.2021, the Senate authorised the Presidential Board to open negotiations with the MWK. This enables the Presidential Board to negotiate terms for the establishment of a foundation with the MWK, which need to be resolved by the Senate prior to converting the university into a foundation in accordance with the NHG. The diagram illustrates the process necessary to adopt the foundation model. Discussions open to all university members have been held. In a resolution dated 21.07.2021, the Senate authorised the Presidential Board to open negotiations with the MWK. This enables the Presidential Board to negotiate terms for the establishment of a foundation with the MWK, which need to be resolved by the Senate prior to converting the university into a foundation in accordance with the NHG.
Process for adopting the foundation model: On 21 July 2021, the Senate authorised the Presidential Board to negotiate terms for the establishment of a foundation with the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK) as per section 55 (1) of the Lower Saxony Higher Education Act (NHG).

STAGE II – NEGOTIATIONS WITH THE MWK

Since August 2021

In 2020/2021, the possible conversion of Leibniz University Hannover into a foundation model was discussed comprehensively and intensively. The pros and cons were weighed up on many occasions, where all members of the university were able to exchange insights as well as to address insecurities or concerns. Within the scope of meetings open to all university members, LUH received support from experts who shared their experience with the foundation model.

On 21 July 2021, the Senate authorised the Presidential Board to negotiate terms for the establishment of a foundation with the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK) as per section 55 (1) of the Lower Saxony Higher Education Act (NHG). Based on this, the Senate will subsequently decide whether a request for converting Leibniz University Hannover into a foundation under public law may be put forward.

Information on completed process stages

TERMS FOR NEGOTIATIONS WITH THE MWK

The mandate for negotiating terms for the establishment of a foundation with the MWK has been granted under the following conditions:

1. Discussion open to all university members

Once negotiations have been concluded, a discussion open to all groups and members of the university shall be held prior to the Senate’s decision whether a request for converting LUH into a foundation under public law may be put forward.

2. Work group attends negotiations

A small work group consisting of two members representing university teaching staff and one member each representing the other groups shall attend the negotiations.

3. Discussing the Senate’s proposal

During the negotiations, issues such as the purpose of the foundation, employee rights or participation in decision-making in accordance with the Senate’s proposal, shall be discussed.

IN CHARGE OF PREPARING DOCUMENTS FOR NEGOTIATING WITH THE MWK

  • Prof. Dr. Bernd H. Oppermann
  • Prof. Dr. Lidia Becker
  • Dr. Hartmut Lehne
  • Jan Hoffmann
  • Dr. Volker Domeyer

ANY QUESTIONS OR SUGGESTIONS?

Contact address for any questions regarding the foundation model
Contact address for any questions regarding the foundation model

Stiftungsuniversität - Präsidium handelt mögliche Stiftungsverordnung mit dem MWK aus

Grafik zeigt Prozess zu einer möglichen Stiftungsuniversität. Hochschulöffentliche Diskussionen und haben stattgefunden. Der Senat hat dem Präsidium in einem Beschluss vom 21.07.2021 die Verhandlungsermächtigung mit dem MWK erteilt. Nun kann das Präsidium mit dem MWK eine Stiftungsverordnung aushandeln, die anschließend vom Senat beschlossen werden muss bevor eine Überführung in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung nach NHG vonstatten gehen kann. Grafik zeigt Prozess zu einer möglichen Stiftungsuniversität. Hochschulöffentliche Diskussionen und haben stattgefunden. Der Senat hat dem Präsidium in einem Beschluss vom 21.07.2021 die Verhandlungsermächtigung mit dem MWK erteilt. Nun kann das Präsidium mit dem MWK eine Stiftungsverordnung aushandeln, die anschließend vom Senat beschlossen werden muss bevor eine Überführung in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung nach NHG vonstatten gehen kann. Grafik zeigt Prozess zu einer möglichen Stiftungsuniversität. Hochschulöffentliche Diskussionen und haben stattgefunden. Der Senat hat dem Präsidium in einem Beschluss vom 21.07.2021 die Verhandlungsermächtigung mit dem MWK erteilt. Nun kann das Präsidium mit dem MWK eine Stiftungsverordnung aushandeln, die anschließend vom Senat beschlossen werden muss bevor eine Überführung in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung nach NHG vonstatten gehen kann.
Der Prozess auf dem Weg zur Stiftungsuniversität. Der Senat hat am 21. Juli 2021 dem Präsidium die Verhandlungsermächtigung erteilt, mit dem MWK eine Stiftungsverordnung gem. § 55 (1) NHG auszuhandeln.

PHASE II - VERHANDLUNG MIT DEM MWK

Seit August 2021

In den Jahren 2020/2021 wurde an der Leibniz Universität eine breit angelegte und intensiv geführte Diskussion über die Überführung der Leibniz Universität Hannover in ein Stiftungsmodell geführt. In vielen Gesprächsrunden wurde das Für- und Wider besprochen, alle  Universitätsmitglieder haben unterschiedliche Erfahrungen aus­tauschen, aber auch Ängste und Vorbehalte adressieren können. In den hochschulöffentlichen Veranstaltungen wurde die LUH an der ein oder anderen Stelle dabei auch durch Expertinnen und Experten unterstützt, die bereits Erfahrung mit dem Stiftungsmodell sammeln konnten.

Der Senat hat am 21. Juli 2021 dem Präsidium die Verhandlungser­mächtigung erteilt, mit dem MWK eine Stiftungsverordnung gem. § 55 (1) NHG auszuhandeln. Auf dieser Basis wird der Senat anschließend darüber beschließen, ob ein Antrag auf Überführung der Leibniz Universität in eine Trägerschaft einer Stiftung öffentlichen Rechts gestellt wird.

Informationen zu abgeschlossenen Prozessphasen

MAßGABEN ZUR VERHANDLUNG MIT DEM MWK

Das Verhandlungsmandat, mit dem MWK eine Stiftungsverordnung auszuhandeln, wurde unter folgenden Maßgaben erteilt:

1. Hochschulöffentliche Diskussion

Nach dem Abschluss der Verhandlungen wird eine hochschulöffentliche Diskussion unter Beteiligung aller Gruppen stattfinden, bevor im Senat über den Antrag auf Überführung der LUH in eine Trägerschaft einer Stiftung öffentlichen Rechts entschieden wird.

2. Begleitung einer Arbeitsgruppe

Die Verhandlungen werden durch eine kleine Arbeitsgruppe, in der die Gruppe der Hochschullehrenden mit zwei Personen vertreten ist, die anderen Gruppen mit jeweils einer Person, begleitet.

3. Einbringung des Senatsvorschlag

Bei den Verhandlungen sollen die Verhandlungsinhalte, wie beispielsweise der Stiftungszweck, die Arbeitnehmerrechte und die Mitbestimmung gemäß Senatsvorschlag eingebracht werden.

SCHREIBTEAM STIFTUNGSUNIVERSITÄT

  • Prof. Dr. Bernd H. Oppermann
  • Prof. Dr. Lidia Becker
  • Dr. Hartmut Lehne
  • Jan Hoffmann
  • Dr. Volker Domeyer

WEITERE INFORMATIONEN ZUR STIFTUNGSUNIVERSITÄT

OFFENE FRAGEN ODER ANREGUNGEN?

E-Mail-Adresse für alle Fragen rund um die Stiftungsuniversität
E-Mail-Adresse für alle Fragen rund um die Stiftungsuniversität