Frequently Asked Questions

1. GENERAL INFORMATION

  • 1.1 Why has LUH initiated the process for discussing a possible transformation of the university into a foundation only now – even though this has been possible since the amendment to the Higher Education Act in 2002?

    The scientific commission of Lower Saxony (WKN) has evaluated the implementation of the foundation model for higher education institutions in Lower Saxony and has reached the conclusion to recommend it.

    Excerpt from the WKN report issued at the end of 2019:

    "Overall, the foundation model for higher education institutions in Lower Saxony has proved a success. Rights included in this model, such as the right to appoint professors or the authority to plan and implement building projects, as well as additional aspects such as the supervisory role of the foundation council, have resulted in a positive development of higher education institutions that have implemented the foundation model, especially with regard to fulfilling the increasing demands that higher education institutions face. For members of higher education institutions, the implementation of the foundation model led to an increased ability to identify themselves with their institution, thus creating another success factor for a positive development of foundations under public law in higher education." (p. 49)

    "In view of the model's benefits, the WKN encourages higher education institutions in Lower Saxony that are currently funded by the state to evaluate the possibility of implementing the foundation model." (p. 5)

    Based on this evaluation and taking into account the experience of existing foundations under public law in Lower Saxony, as well as the encouragement of the WKN quoted above, the Presidential Board of LUH has decided to discuss a possible transformation of the university structure.

  • 1.2 Is the foundation model for higher education institutions in Lower Saxony based on a private foundation model?

    Upon their request and by decree of the state government, higher education institutions can be transformed into a foundation under public law which has legal capacity, not a private foundation. If the university became a foundation, it would be less dependent on the state; however, this would not constitute a form of privatisation. The term foundation is not legally registered. For this reason, foundation models in higher education implemented in other federal states cannot be compared to the foundation model for state-run institutions in Lower Saxony.

  • 1.3 Which additional duties would LUH perform if the university became a foundation?

    LUH would exercise autonomy in personnel matters and have the right to plan and implement building projects. These privileges would be granted indefinitely. The latter has already been granted by decree of the Ministry of Science and Culture – however, this right may be revoked at any time. In the foundation model, the right to plan and implement building projects as well as autonomy in personnel matters are established by law. Moreover, the right to appoint professors would be granted indefinitely.

  • 1.4 Would the university require additional administrative staff for supporting the foundation council – and how would such personnel be funded?

    The University Council too is currently supported via positions within the staff unit. These might need to be expanded to a certain extent, since the foundation council would require more support than the current University Council.

  • 1.5 In the foundation model, the State of Lower Saxony would give up influence while continuing to provide funding – why would the state still support this transformation?

    The State of Lower Saxony actively approves of the increased independence that the foundation model provides for higher education institutions, since they are not considered subordinate regional administrations, but publicly funded institutions competing on a national and international level. Additional autonomy and greater leeway in higher education is an advantage for all involved parties – both for the state and the institutions. Other federal states have granted more leeway in higher education via different legal models, such as the corporate model implemented in North Rhine-Westphalia. 

2. IMPACT ON MEMBERS OF STAFF

Agreement on safeguarding employee rights during and after the conversion of LUH into a foundation under public law

3. IMPACT ON STUDENTS

4. IMPACT ON THE FINANCIAL SITUATION OF LUH

5. ESTABLISHMENT OF A FOUNDATION COUNCIL

6. FURTHER COURSE OF ACTION

  • 6.1 What has happened so far?

    In 2020/2021, the conversion of Leibniz University Hannover (LUH) into a foundation under public law was discussed comprehensively and intensively. On 21 July 2021, the Senate of the university authorised the Presidential Board to negotiate terms for the establishment of a foundation with the Ministry of Science and Culture (MWK).

    This process has been supported by the Senate and the team in charge of preparing documents for the negotiations and has been announced in the Senate meetings open to all university members. Regulations and statutes for the establishment of a foundation have now been prepared. In a meeting held on 15 June 2022, the Senate approved the drafted regulations and statutes for the establishment of a foundation. Moreover, an agreement on safeguarding employee rights during and after the conversion of Leibniz University Hannover into a foundation under public law has been concluded with the staff council in order to ensure that LUH members of staff do not experience any disadvantages due to this change of legal form. In a meeting held on 20 July 2022 and based on these documents, a large majority of the Senate approved the conversion of LUH into a foundation. The corresponding request has been submitted to the state government by the Presidential Board of LUH.

  • 6.1.1 How will the process be continued?

    The conversion of LUH into a foundation under public law with legal capacity is scheduled to take effect on 1 January 2023.

Stiftungsuniversität - Häufig gestellte Fragen

1. ALLGEMEINES

  • 1.1 Warum hat die LUH erst jetzt den Prozess angestoßen, die Überführung der Universität in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung zu diskutieren – die Möglichkeit besteht doch bereits seit der Novellierung des Hochschulgesetzes im Jahr 2002?

    Die Wissenschaftliche Kommission Niedersachsen (WKN) hat das niedersächsische Stiftungsmodell evaluiert und ist eindeutig zu der Überzeugung gelangt, den Hochschulen in Niedersachsen dieses Modell zu empfehlen.

    Aus dem Ende 2019 veröffentlichten WKN-Bericht:

    "Insgesamt gesehen hat sich das Modell der Stiftungshochschulen in Niedersachsen nach Meinung der Evaluationskommission bewährt. Die in diesem Modell enthaltenen Rechte, wie das Berufungsrecht und die Bauherreneigenschaft, sowie weitere Aspekte, wie die Aufsicht durch den Stiftungsrat, haben dazu geführt, dass sich die Stiftungshochschulen positiv in einem Umfeld steigender Ansprüche an Universitäten und Hochschulen insgesamt entwickeln und diesen Ansprüchen gerecht werden konnten. Zudem hat die Einführung des Stiftungsmodells die Identifikation der Mitglieder mit ihrer Einrichtung erhöht und so einen weiteren Erfolgsfaktor für eine positive Entwicklung der Stiftungshochschulen hin zum besseren beeinflusst." (S. 49)

    "Angesichts der Vorteile des Modells ermuntert die WKN die Universitäten und Hochschulen in Niedersachsen, die sich weiterhin in staatlicher Trägerschaft befinden, zu prüfen, ob sie sich ebenfalls in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung begeben wollen." (S. 5)

    Auf Basis der Evaluation und Erfahrungen bereits existierender Stiftungsuniversitäten im Land sowie der vorzitierten Ermunterung der WKN hat sich das Präsidium der LUH entschieden, diesen Strukturprozess in die Diskussion zu bringen.

  • 1.2 Handelt es sich bei dem niedersächsischen Stiftungsmodell um die Einrichtung einer privaten Stiftung?

    Eine Hochschule kann auf ihren Antrag durch Verordnung der Landesregierung in die Trägerschaft einer rechtsfähigen Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts überführt werden. Es handelt sich explizit nicht um eine private Stiftung. Die mit dem Übergang der Hochschule in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung verbundene größere Staatsferne ist nicht mit einer Privatisierung gleichzusetzen. Der Stiftungsbegriff ist kein geschützter Begriff. Daher lassen sich Stiftungsmodelle insbesondere in anderen Bundesländern nicht mit dem niedersächsischen Stiftungsmodell für staatliche Hochschulen vergleichen.

  • 1.3 Welche zusätzlichen Aufgaben würde die LUH bei einer Überführung in das Stiftungsmodell erhalten?

    Die LUH würde die Dienst- und die Bauherreneigenschaft unbefristet erhalten. Letztere hat die LUH bereits per Erlass des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kultur übertragen bekommen – dies ist jedoch jederzeit aufhebbar. Bei einer Universität in Trägerschaft einer Stiftung sind die Bauherreneigenschaft ebenso wie die neu hinzukommende Dienstherreneigenschaft gesetzlich fixiert. Auch das Berufungsrecht würde unbefristet übertragen.

  • 1.4 Würde weiteres Verwaltungspersonal benötigt, um die Geschäfte des Stiftungsrates zu führen – und wie würde dieses Personal finanziert?

    Auch der Hochschulrat wird bereits durch Stellenanteile im Stab betreut. Ggf. müsste man hier geringfügig aufstocken, da der Stiftungsrat betreuungsintensiver sein wird als der derzeitige Hochschulrat.

  • 1.5 Das Land Niedersachsen gibt mit dem Modell der Stiftungsuniversität Einfluss auf und verspricht trotzdem die weitere Finanzierung – welche Motivation hat das Land, die Umwandlung zu unterstützen?

    Das Land Niedersachsen hat die Hochschulen durch das Stiftungsmodell bewusst in mehr Eigenständigkeit entlassen, da diese nicht wie eine nachgeordnete Behörde der Landesverwaltung zu sehen sind, sondern als öffentlich finanzierte Einrichtungen, die im nationalen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Wettbewerb stehen. Hierfür ist mehr Autonomie und Eigenverantwortung der Hochschulen für alle Beteiligten – Land und Hochschulen – von Vorteil. Die anderen Bundesländer haben ihren Hochschulen über andere rechtliche Modelle (z.B. in NRW über das Körperschaftsmodell) ebenfalls entsprechende Freiräume eingeräumt.

2. AUSWIRKUNGEN FÜR BESCHÄFTIGTE

Dienstvereinbarung zur Sicherung der Beschäftigtenrechte während und nach der Überführung der LUH in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung öff. Rechts

3. AUSWIRKUNGEN FÜR STUDIERENDE

4. AUSWIRKUNGEN AUF DIE FINANZSITUATION DER LUH

5. EINRICHTUNG EINES STIFTUNGSRATES

6. WEITERES VORGEHEN

  • 6.1 Was ist bisher geschehen?

    In den Jahren 2020/2021 wurde an der Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) breit angelegt und intensiv über die Überführung der LUH in ein öffentlich-rechtliches Stiftungsmodell diskutiert. Der Senat der Universität hat am 21. Juli 2021 dem Präsidium die Ermächtigung erteilt, mit dem Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) eine Stiftungsverordnung und Stiftungssatzung auszuhandeln.

    Dieser Prozess ist eng durch ein „Schreibteam Stiftungsuniversität“ und den Senat begleitet und in den Senatssitzungen öffentlich kommuniziert worden. Die entsprechende Stiftungsverordnung sowie die Stiftungssatzung liegen nun vor. Der Senat nahm zu dem Entwurf der Stiftungsordnung und dem Entwurf der Stiftungssatzung in seiner Sitzung vom 15.6.2022 zustimmend Stellung. Zudem ist mit dem Personalrat eine „Dienstvereinbarung zur Sicherung der Beschäftigtenrechte während und nach der Überführung der Leibniz Universität Hannover in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung öffentlichen Rechts“ abgeschlossen worden, um sicherzustellen, dass den Beschäftigten der LUH durch den Rechtsformwechsel keine Nachteile entstehen. Auf der Basis dieser Dokumente hat sich der Senat in seiner Sitzung vom 20. Juli 2022 mit großer Mehrheit für die Umwandlung der LUH in eine Stiftungshochschule ausgesprochen. Der entsprechende Antrag durch das Präsidium der LUH wurde an die Landesregierung gestellt.

  • 6.1.1 Wie geht der Prozess weiter?

    Zum 1. Januar 2023 soll die LUH in die Trägerschaft einer rechtsfähigen Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts überführt werden.