UniversityProfileObjectives & PoliciesFoundation
Process for adopting the foundation model

Process for adopting the foundation model at LUH

STAGE I – DISCUSSIONS OPEN TO ALL UNIVERSITY MEMBERS

October 2020 – July 2021

Leibniz University Hannover (LUH) too could benefit from the foundation model. For this reason, the Presidential Board initiated a dialogue with all status groups and university members in order to assess the opportunities and risks of this model. Prior to this, the idea had already been discussed with the Senate, the deans, the staff council and the student representatives of the Senate.

LUH currently has the legal form of a corporation under public law with the right to self-government. At the same time, Leibniz University Hannover is a state institution. Transforming the university into a foundation under public law has no effect on this status. Instead, a foundation is established that is positioned between the state and the university, therefore taking over the duties of the state.

SENATE’S RESOLUTION TO OPEN NEGOTIATIONS ON THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A FOUNDATION WITH THE MWK

Yesterday, the Senate - the elected committee of all status groups - decided whether the Presidential Board should be mandated to open negotiations with the state of Lower Saxony
Prof. Dr. Volker Epping, President of Leibniz University Hannover

STAGE II – NEGOTIATIONS WITH THE MWK

August 2021 - July 2022

In 2020/2021, the possible conversion of Leibniz University Hannover into a foundation model was discussed comprehensively and intensively. The pros and cons were weighed up on many occasions, where all members of the university were able to exchange insights as well as to address insecurities or concerns. Within the scope of meetings open to all university members, LUH received support from experts who shared their experience with the foundation model.

On 21 July 2021, the Senate of the university authorised the Presidential Board to negotiate terms for the establishment of a foundation with the Ministry of Science and Culture (MWK). This process has been supported by the Senate and the team in charge of preparing documents for the negotiations and has been announced in the Senate meetings open to all university members.

Regulations and statutes for the establishment of a foundation have now been prepared. In a meeting held on 15 June 2022, the Senate approved the drafted regulations and statutes for the establishment of a foundation. Moreover, an agreement on safeguarding employee rights during and after the conversion of Leibniz University Hannover into a foundation under public law has been concluded with the staff council in order to ensure that LUH members of staff do not experience any disadvantages due to this change of legal form. In a meeting held on 20 July 2022 and based on these documents, a large majority of the Senate approved the conversion of LUH into a foundation. A corresponding request will be submitted to the state government shortly.

Frequently Asked Questions

ANY QUESTIONS OR SUGGESTIONS?

Contact address for any questions regarding the foundation model
Contact address for any questions regarding the foundation model

Der Weg zur LUH Stiftungsuniversität

PHASE I - HOCHSCHULÖFFENTLICHE DISKUSSIONEN

Von Oktober 2020 - Juli 2021

Auch die Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) könnte vom Modell Stiftungsuniversität profitieren. Das Präsidium trat deshalb mit allen Statusgruppen und Akteuren der Universität in den Dialog, um Chancen und Risiken abzuwägen. Mit dem Senat, in der Dekanerunde, mit dem Personalrat sowie mit den studentischen Vertretern des Senates wurde die Idee zuvor bereits diskutiert.

Die aktuelle Rechtsform der LUH ist die Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts mit dem Recht auf Selbstverwaltung, gleichzeitig stellt die Leibniz Universität Hannover eine staatliche Einrichtung dar. Bei Überführung in eine Stiftung öffentlichen Rechts ändert sich an diesem Status nichts. Es wird lediglich zusätzlich eine Stiftung gegründet, die zwischen Land und Hochschule angesiedelt ist und damit in den Aufgabenbereich des Landes einrückt.

SENATSBESCHLUSS ZUR AUSHANDLUNG DER STIFTUNGSVERORDNUNG MIT DEM MWK

Der Senat als gewähltes Gremium aller Statusgruppen hatte gestern die Entscheidung darüber zu fällen, dem Präsidium ein Mandat für die Verhandlungen mit dem Land Niedersachsen zu erteilen. Ich freue mich persönlich sehr, dass er dies mit klarer Mehrheit getan hat.
Prof. Dr. Volker Epping, Präsident der Leibniz Universität Hannover

PHASE II - VERHANDLUNG MIT DEM MWK

August 2021 - Juli 2022

In den Jahren 2020/2021 wurde an der Leibniz Universität eine breit angelegte und intensiv geführte Diskussion über die Überführung der Leibniz Universität Hannover in ein Stiftungsmodell geführt. In vielen Gesprächsrunden wurde das Für- und Wider besprochen, alle  Universitätsmitglieder haben unterschiedliche Erfahrungen aus­tauschen, aber auch Ängste und Vorbehalte adressieren können. In den hochschulöffentlichen Veranstaltungen wurde die LUH an der ein oder anderen Stelle dabei auch durch Expertinnen und Experten unterstützt, die bereits Erfahrung mit dem Stiftungsmodell sammeln konnten.

Der Senat der Universität hat am 21. Juli 2021 dem Präsidium die Ermächtigung erteilt, mit dem Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) eine Stiftungsverordnung und Stiftungssatzung auszuhandeln. Dieser Prozess ist eng durch ein „Schreibteam Stiftungsuniversität“ und den Senat begleitet und in den Senatssitzungen öffentlich kommuniziert worden.   

Die entsprechende Stiftungsverordnung sowie die Stiftungssatzung liegen nun vor. Der Senat nahm zu dem Entwurf der Stiftungsordnung und dem Entwurf der Stiftungssatzung in seiner Sitzung vom 15.6.2022 zustimmend Stellung. Zudem ist mit dem Personalrat eine „Dienstvereinbarung zur Sicherung der Beschäftigtenrechte während und nach der Überführung der Leibniz Universität Hannover in die Trägerschaft einer Stiftung öffentlichen Rechts“ abgeschlossen worden, um sicherzustellen, dass den Beschäftigten der LUH durch den Rechtsformwechsel keine Nachteile entstehen. Auf der Basis dieser Dokumente hat sich der Senat in seiner Sitzung vom 20. Juli 2022 mit großer Mehrheit für die Umwandlung der LUH in eine Stiftungshochschule ausgesprochen. Ein entsprechender Antrag soll kurzfristig bei der Landesregierung eingereicht werden.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

OFFENE FRAGEN ODER ANREGUNGEN?

E-Mail-Adresse für alle Fragen rund um die Stiftungsuniversität
E-Mail-Adresse für alle Fragen rund um die Stiftungsuniversität