Third Mission

© Menzelmann | pixabay

In addition to research and teaching, Leibniz University Hannover is also committed to the so-called “Third Mission”. This term outlines the various activities of Leibniz University Hannover concerning knowledge and technology transfer, further education and social commitment.

KNOWLEDGE AND TECHNOLOGY TRANSFER

Leibniz University Hannover considers it increasingly important to approach non-academic partners in order to advance the science-based development of society and to better meet the increased expectations of politics and society with regard to the achievements of the science system.

FURTHER EDUCATION

At Leibniz University Hannover, further education is a major priority – whether job-related or regarding general education. Among other things, the university offers programmes for post-graduate, complementary and part-time studies.

SOCIAL COMMITMENT

We consider ourselves to be part of a community that wishes to contribute to sustainable, peaceful and responsible solutions to key future issues. Hence, our efforts are guided by the principle: shaping the future with knowledge. We encourage the participation in scientific life through many different offers.

Knowledge development

From knowledge to innovation: networks, events and further structures ensure that application-oriented knowledge generated at Leibniz University Hannover is made available to the society and economy. Examples of this include:

Arrangement of internships

Theses in companies

Technology-transfer

Mediator between science and business

Start-Up Support

ERDF projects approved


Knowledge transfer

At Leibniz University Hannover, different structures and formats connect and share knowledge with non-academic target groups.
Here are few examples:

Die Nacht, die Wissen schafft


Marketing knowledge

Commissioned research and the marketing of patents and licenses enable the knowledge generated to be used in economy.

Patents and Licenses

Job-related training

Annually, more than 6 000 people participate in the various offers available. For example, programmes for small and medium-sized companies or numerous scientific conferences and seminars. Links to our activities can be found her:

Continuing Education

Zentrum für Schlüsselqualifikationen


Academic further education

Among other things, the university offers programmes for post-graduate, complementary and part-time studies. For example:

Fernstudium Umwelt und Wasser

Weiterbildungsstudium Arbeitswissenschaften

Civil commitment

Our commitment contributes to ensuring and strengthening the community’s solidarity. We are committed to the common good and act responsibly in public space.

Zukunftstag


Widening Participation

Leibniz University Hannover not only endeavours to increase the number of young people that enter higher education, but also the proportion of under-represented groups.

Studieren ohne Abitur

Third Mission

Die Leibniz Universität Hannover engagiert sich neben Forschung und Lehre auch im Bereich der sogenannten Third Mission. Der Begriff umfasst die vielfältigen Aktivitäten der Leibniz Universität Hannover in den Bereichen Wissens- und Technologietransfer, Weiterbildung und Gesellschaftliches Engagement.

WISSENS- UND TECHNOLOGIETRANSFER

Die Leibniz Universität erachtet es zunehmend als wichtig, auf Partner außerhalb der Wissenschaft zuzugehen, um die wissenschaftsbasierte Weiterentwicklung der Gesellschaft voranzutreiben und den gestiegenen Erwartungen aus Politik und Gesellschaft an die Leistungen des Wissenschaftssystems besser gerecht zu werden.

WEITERBILDUNG

Immer weiter bilden wird an der Leibniz Universität Hannover groß geschrieben – ob berufsbezogen oder allgemeinbildend. Die Hochschule bietet unter anderem Aufbau- und Ergänzungsstudiengänge sowie berufsbegleitende Studiengänge an.

GESELLSCHAFTLICHES ENGAGEMENT

Wir verstehen uns als Gemeinschaft die zur nachhaltigen, friedlichen und verantwortungsbewussten Lösung zentraler Zukunftsthemen beitragen will. Unsere Arbeit steht daher unter dem Leitsatz: Mit Wissen Zukunft gestalten. Wir fördern die Teilhabe am wissenschaftllichen Leben durch viele unterschiedliche Angebote.

Wissensentwicklung

Vom Wissen zur Innovation: Netzwerke, Veranstaltungen und weitere Strukturen stellen sicher, dass das an der Leibniz Universität generierte anwendungsnahe Wissen seinen Weg in Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft findet. Beispiele hierfür sind unter anderem:

Vermittlung von Praktika

Abschlussarbeiten in Unternehmen

Technologietransfer

Mittler zwischen Wissenschaft und Unternehmen

Gründungsförderung

Bewilligte EFRE-Projekte


Wissensvermittlung

Unterschiedliche Strukturen und Formate vernetzen und vermitteln das Wissens an der Leibniz Universität Hannover mit nicht wissenschaftlichen Zielgruppen.
Hier einige Beispiele:

Die Nacht, die Wissen schafft


Wissensvermarktung

Auftragsforschung sowie die Vermarktung von Patenten und Lizenzen dient der Nutzung des generierten Wissens in der Wirtschaft.

Erfindungen und Patente

Berufsbezogene Fortbildung

Mehr als 6.000 Personen nehmen jährlich an den unterschiedlichsten Angeboten teil. Zum Beispiel an den Programmen für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen oder an einer Vielzahl wissenschaftlicher Tagungen und Seminare. Links zu unseren Aktivitäten finden Sie hier:

Zentrale Einrichtung für Weiterbildung

Zentrum für Schlüsselqualifikationen


Akademische Weiterbildung

Die Hochschule bietet unter anderem Aufbau- und Ergänzungsstudiengänge sowie berufsbegleitende Studiengänge an. Zum Beispiel:

Fernstudium Wasser und Umwelt

Weiterbildungsstudium Arbeitswissenschaften

Bürgerliches Engagement

Unser Engagement trägt zur Sicherung und Stärkung des Zusammenhaltes der Gesellschaft bei. Wir zeigen Interesse am Gemeinwohl und agieren mitverantwortlich im öffentlichen Raum.

Zukunftstag


Widening Participation

Die Leibniz Universität ist bestrebt, nicht nur die Zahl der jungen Menschen zu erhöhen, die in die Hochschulbildung eintreten, sondern auch den Anteil der unterrepräsentierten Gruppen.

Studieren ohne Abitur