UniversityNews & EventsOnline Spotlights
Senat bestätigt Vizepräsidentinnen und Vizepräsidenten für das Jahr 2021

Senate Confirms Vice Presidencies for 2021

Succession in Presidential Board fixed

In the context of a meeting on 15 July 2020, the Senate has confirmed the recommendations of Prof. Dr. Volker Epping, President of LUH, regarding the vice presidencies from 2021. Prior to this, the University Council had approved the candidates.

From January 2021 and subject to the approval of the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK), the Presidential Board will comprise the following four vice presidents:

Prof. Dr. rer. hort. Christina von Haaren, Faculty of Architecture and Landscape Sciences, has been re-elected as Vice President for International Affairs and Sustainability for a second term in the Presidential Board. Prof. Dr. Joachim Escher, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, has been re-elected for a third term as Vice President for Appointments, Human Resources and Continuing Education.

Prof. Dr. Julia Gillen, director of the Leibniz School of Education and board member of the Institute of Vocational Education and Adult Education (Faculty of Humanities) has been elected as Vice President for Teaching and Academic Programmes following the retirement of Prof. Dr. Elfriede Billmann-Mahecha in January 2021.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Blume, managing director of the Institute of Microelectronic Systems (Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) has been elected as Vice President for Research and Transfer following the retirement of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Wriggers.

"I am delighted that both the Senate and the University Council have unanimously approved my recommendations regarding the members of the Presidential Board. This demonstrates both the high acceptance and the considerable expertise of the candidates and the team. With regard to my second term as President, I am confident that, as a team, the Presidential Board will be able to tackle challenges while seizing new opportunities", says Volker Epping, President of LUH.

In accordance with the basic order of Leibniz University Hannover, vice presidents are elected for a term of three years.