ResearchResearch Profile
Research information

Research Information

Research information is basic data on research activities and results, e.g. metadata on publications and current research projects, patents, scientific awards and research-related activities, such as conference attendances, editorships or memberships.

© Gerd Altmann | pixabay
Notice

The Research Information System (FIS) is not yet productive, but is currently in the implementation phase. The rollout of the FIS software is expected to take place in late 2019.

ESTABLISHING A RESEARCH INFORMATION SYSTEM AT LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITY HANNOVER

A research information system is a database application that brings together information on research activities of a research institution from various sources and links them to persons and organisational units. The research information itself can also be interlinked. This makes it easy to map, for instance, which publication was produced in which project, or which participation in a conference was important for a project.

The future research information system is currently still in the implementation phase. Among other things, it will be used to promote the public image of Leibniz University Hannover (LUH) and to inform various interest groups. It enables researchers at LUH to use the data for various purposes, for example to create publication lists for websites, project reports or research proposals. Our aim is to integrate existing data into the research information system as effectively as possible in order to reduce multiple data entry.

THE PURE SOFTWARE

After an extensive selection procedure, Leibniz University Hannover opted for the research information system “Pure”. Pure was developed by the Danish company Atira A/S and is now part of Elsevier’s SciVal Suite. The software is already in use or being implemented at over 250 scientific institutions worldwide.

The Research Portal

The research information system will be linked to a central research portal that enables the public presentation of content based on the research information system. Only information that has been released for this purpose by the responsible individual will publicly visible. The research information system will not only fulfill the requirements of the transparency guideline of the state government and the Rectors' Conference of Lower Saxony, it also meets increasing demands to make research activities publicly visible. Moreover, it serves to promote Open Access, because publication references to full texts and research data can be specified.

CURRENT STATUS OF THE PROJECT

The basic organisational and personal data as well as project data in the research information system originate from SAP. The interface for these synchronisations was specified and created in cooperation with the project team, CCC and Leibniz University IT Services. The project data entered into the system follows the specification of the “Kerndatensatz Forschung” (“core data set research”), whose purpose is to ensure consistent documentation of research activities. The Kerndatensatz Forschung was recommended by the German Council of Science and Humanities in January 2016 as a standard for the consistent documentation of research results. At present, system adaptations are being made and live operation is being prepared, e.g. by creating short instructions and help texts. Other focal points of work are the connection of further systems available at LUH such as the future research data repository and the preparation of documents for the Staff Council and the Data Protection Office.

Since January 2018, the project team has been collaborating with the software provider on the future central research portal, which will be filled with data from the research information system.

Further information for employees of Leibniz University Hannover

CONTACT

Dr. Sandra Broll
Address
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Building
Room
015
Address
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Building
Room
015
Julia Geidel
Address
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Building
Room
015
Address
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Building
Room
015

ForschungForschungsprofil
Forschungsinformationen

Forschungsinformationen

Forschungsinformationen sind grundlegende Daten über Forschungsaktivitäten und -ergebnisse, z.B. Metadaten zu Publikationen und laufenden Forschungsprojekten, Patenten, wissenschaftlichen Preisen und forschungsbezogenen Aktivitäten, wie Konferenzteilnahmen, Herausgeberschaften oder Mitgliedschaften.

EIN FORSCHUNGSINFORMATIONSSYSTEM FÜR DIE LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITÄT HANNOVER

Ein Forschungsinformationssystem ist eine Datenbankanwendung, die Informationen zu Forschungsaktivitäten einer Forschungseinrichtung aus verschiedenen Quellen zusammenführt und mit Personen und Organisationseinheiten verknüpft.  Auch die Forschungsinformationen selbst können untereinander verknüpft werden. So wird auf einfache Weise abbildbar, welche Publikation in welchem Projekt entstanden ist oder welche Teilnahme an einer Konferenz für ein Projekt von Bedeutung war.

Das künftige Forschungsinformationssystem soll u.a. der Außendarstellung der Universität und der Information unterschiedlicher Interessensgruppen dienen. Den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern der Leibniz Universität Hannover ermöglicht es die multifunktionale Nutzung der Daten, beispielsweise zur Erstellung von Publikationslisten für Webseiten, Projektberichte oder -anträge. Ziel ist es, bereits vorhandene Daten möglichst effektiv in das künftige Forschungsinformationssystem zu integrieren, um Mehrfacherfassung zu reduzieren.

DIE SOFTWARE PURE

Nach einem ausführlichen Auswahlverfahren hat sich die Leibniz Universität Hannover für das For­schungs­in­for­ma­ti­ons­sys­tem „Pure”entschieden. Pure wurde von der dänischen Firma Atira A/S entwickelt und gehört mittlerweile zu Elseviers SciVal Suite. Die Software wird inzwischen an über 250 wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen weltweit schon genutzt oder implementiert.

Das Forschungsportal

Verbunden mit dem Forschungsinformationssystem ist ein zentrales Forschungsportal, das die öffentliche Präsentation von Inhalten aus dem Forschungsinformationssystem ermöglicht. Es werden nur solche Informationen öffentlich sichtbar, die von jedem und jeder Einzelnen für diesen Zweck freigegeben wurden. Neben den Anforderungen der Transparenzleitlinie von Landesregierung und Landeshochschulkonferenz erfüllt das Forschungsinformationssystem so das steigende Bedürfnis nach Sichtbarkeit von Forschungsaktivitäten und dient der Förderung von Open Access, da Verweise zu Volltexten von Publikationen und Forschungsdaten angegeben werden können.

AKTUELLER STAND DES PROJEKTS

Die grundlegenden Organisations- und Personendaten sowie Projektdaten im Forschungsinformationssystem stammen aus SAP. Die Schnittstelle für diese Synchronisationen wurde in Zusammenarbeit von Projektteam, CCC und den Leibniz Universität IT Services spezifiziert und erstellt. Die eingespeisten Projektdaten folgen dabei der Spezifikation des Kerndatensatz Forschung, der für eine einheitliche Dokumentation von Forschungsaktivitäten sorgen soll. Der Kerndatensatz Forschung wurde vom Wissenschaftsrat im Januar 2016 als Standard zur einheitlichen Dokumentation von Forschungsergebnissen empfohlen. Derzeit werden Systemanpassungen vorgenommen sowie der Produktivbetrieb, z.B. durch Erstellung von Kurzanleitungen und Hilfetexten, vorbereitet. Sonstige Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind die Anbindung weiterer an der LUH vorhandenen Systeme wie das künftige Forschungsdatenrepositorium sowie die Vorbereitung der Unterlagen für den Personalrat und das Datenschutz-Büro.

Seit Januar 2018 arbeitet das Projektteam gemeinsam mit dem Softwareanbieter am künftigen zentralen Forschungsportal, das mit Daten aus dem Forschungsinformationssystem gefüllt wird.

Weitere Informationen für Beschäftigte der Leibniz Universität

KONTAKT

Dr. Sandra Broll
Adresse
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
015
Adresse
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
015
Julia Geidel
Adresse
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
015
Adresse
Brühlstraße 27
30169 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
015