Alliance of Universities in Europe: European Universities Linking Society and Technology (EULIST)

The photo shows a globe accompanied by the EULIST logo to the right. The photo shows a globe accompanied by the EULIST logo to the right. The photo shows a globe accompanied by the EULIST logo to the right.

Linking Science and Society – Leibniz University Hannover intends to take up this challenge in cooperation with eight strong partner universities in Europe. The alliance EULIST – European Universities Linking Society and Technology aims to manifest the European experience for all students and university members.

Together with our EULIST partners, we intend to make our vision of a European University a reality – through cooperation in the context of studies, research and administration. Strong partners and close networks ensure our future viability in international competition.

PARTNERS

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

When was EULIST established?

Leibniz University Hannover and seven leading higher education institutions initiated the alliance EULIST – European Universities Linking Society and Technology in 2020. EULIST brings together partners with complementing strengths in technical subjects, humanities and social sciences. Through joint and integrated approaches in social sciences, natural sciences and engineering, we aim to develop new sustainable solutions to major social challenges that we face today and in the future. To achieve this goal, complementary educational opportunities as well as an inter-university campus will be developed in order to bring together teaching staff, students and researchers as well as to promote mobility.

The alliance is currently in the development phase. Various work groups identify connecting factors and exchange ideas in order to establish innovative interdisciplinary fields of action. Please feel free to contribute your ideas!

What are European Universities?

In 2018, the European Commission launched the European Universities initiative in order to modernise higher education in Europe in a comprehensive and sustainable manner. Objectives of the initiative include:

  • Fostering and strengthening the European idea
  • Promoting the performance and competitiveness of the European higher education system by significantly increasing and improving the quality, performance and appeal of universities in Europe
  • Bringing together a new generation of Europeans to promote shared values and a European identity.

OBJECTIVES

Overall objectives of EULIST include:

  • Educating multilingual, socially responsible European citizens, bridging the gap between science and society and bringing them closer together
  • Building an analogue and virtual European inter-university EULIST campus with a strong culture of diversity, inclusion and sustainability
  • Developing innovative, flexible and interactive teaching formats and curricula integrating cutting-edge research closely and sustainably
  • Establishing international teams consisting of students, researchers and regional partners in order to develop sustainable solutions to current social challenges in transnational, interdisciplinary constellations across sectors
  • Building a knowledge and transfer network for collaboration between the involved regions as science locations in order to promote knowledge-oriented research and innovation as well as evidence-based politics.

Initial thematic synergies and key areas have already been identified in the following four Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations:

  • SDG 4 - High-quality education
  • SDG 7 - Affordable and clean energy
  • SDG 9 - Industry, innovation and infrastructure
  • SDG 11 - Sustainable cities and communities 

However, this does not rule out cooperation and joint activities in other thematic fields.

STRUCTURE

Structure of the EULIST alliance Structure of the EULIST alliance Structure of the EULIST alliance
EULIST governance structure (March 2021)

Prof. Dr. Volker Epping appointed senior chairperson of the Presidents‘ Board of the alliance “EULIST – European Universities Linking Society and Technology”

The network has elected Prof. Dr. Volker Epping, President of LUH, as senior chairperson of the Presidents' Board, the most important decision-making body of the new alliance. Prof. Andreas Boudouvis, Rector of National Technical University of Athens (NTUA), has been appointed deputy chairperson. The chairpersons are in charge of managing the network, as well as the Presidents‘ Board.

WORK GROUPS

In order to develop joint activities and projects, work groups in four fields of action have been established. The work groups comprise networking members of all partner universities.

Within Leibniz University Hannover, the work groups are led by members of the Presidential Board. In addition, one coordinator per work group has been appointed as a central point of contact for LUH members, as well as to coordinate internal activities and communication between the partners.

WG Studying and Teaching

Led by: Prof. Dr. Julia Gillen

Coordination: Francesca Cristaldi

WG Research

Led by: Prof. Dr. Holger Blume

Coordination: Stephan Fuchs

WG Outreach, Transfer, Engagement 

Led by: Prof. Dr. Joachim Escher

Coordination: Dr. Martina Venschott

Subgroup contact information:

BRANDING

  • The logo of the alliance comprises the locations of the partners.
  • Further information on how to use the EULIST logo at LUH can be found in the EULIST logo manual.
  • In case of any queries regarding the logo, please contact Communications and Marketing at kommunikation@uni-hannover.de 
EULIST logo files
ZIP, 4 MB
EULIST logo manual
PDF, 1 MB

YOU ARE WELCOME TO CONTRIBUTE!

In the context of this process, university management encourages students, researchers and administrative staff to contribute their ideas in order to shape the alliance!

Material available for all university members
EULIST coordination office
EULIST coordination office

Europäische Hochschulallianz: European Universities Linking Society and Technology (EULiST)

Auf dem Foto ist ein Globus zu sehen, rechts daneben das EULIST-Logo Auf dem Foto ist ein Globus zu sehen, rechts daneben das EULIST-Logo Auf dem Foto ist ein Globus zu sehen, rechts daneben das EULIST-Logo

Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft verknüpfen – dieser Herausforderung will sich die Leibniz Universität gemeinsam mit neun starken Partneruniversitäten in Europa stellen. Die Allianz "EULiST – European Universities Linking Society and Technology" soll Europa für alle Universitätsmitglieder und Studierende erfahrbar und erlebbar machen.

Mit unseren EULiST-Partnern wollen wir in Studium, Forschung und Verwaltung kooperieren, um so die Vision der Europäischen Hochschule umsetzen. Starke Partner und enge Netzwerke sichern unsere Zukunftsfähigkeit im internationalen Wettbewerb.

PARTNER

HINTERGRÜNDE

Wann ist EULiST entstanden?

2020 hat die Leibniz Universität mit sieben führenden Hochschulen die Allianz "EULiST - European Universities Linking Society and Technology" initiiert. EULiST vereint nunmehr zehn Partner mit sich ergänzenden Stärken in den technischen Fächern und den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften. Ziel ist es, durch gemeinsame, integrative Ansätze der Gesellschafts-, Natur- und Technikwissenschaften, neue nachhaltige Lösungen für die großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen von heute und morgen zu entwickeln. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, sollen abgestimmte Bildungsangebote sowie ein interuniversitärer Hochschulcampus entwickelt werden, der Lehrende, Lernende und Forschende vernetzt und Mobilität fördert.

Derzeit befindet sich die Allianz im Aufbau. In unterschiedlichen Work Packages werden Anknüpfungspunkte identifiziert und Ideen ausgetauscht, um innovative, disziplinübergreifende Aktionsfelder zu etablieren. Vorschläge sind herzlich willkommen!

Was sind Europäische Hochschulen?

Die Europäische Kommission hat 2018 die Initiative "Europäische Hochschulen" ins Leben gerufen, um die europäische Hochschulbildung umfassend und nachhaltig zu modernisieren. Ziele der Initiative sind:

  • Unterstützung und Stärkung der europäischen Idee
  • Weiterentwicklung der Leistungs- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des europäischen Hochschulsystems durch eine deutliche Erhöhung, bzw. Verbesserung der Qualität, der Leistungen und der Attraktivität von europäischen Hochschulen
  • das Zusammenbringen einer neuen Generation von Europäern, die gemeinsame Werte und eine europäische Identität fördert.

ZIELE

Die übergeordneten Ziele von EULiST sind:

  • Mehrsprachige, sozial verantwortliche europäische Bürger auszubilden, die Brücken zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft schlagen und stärken
  • Aufbau eines analogen und virtuellen europäischen interuniversitären EULiST-Campus mit einer starken Kultur der Vielfalt, Inklusion und Nachhaltigkeit
  • Entwicklung innovativer, flexibler und interaktiver Lehrformate und -curricula mit enger und nachhaltiger Integration der Spitzenforschung
  • Etablierung von grenzüberschreitenden Teams aus Studierenden, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern und regionalen Akteuren, die nachhaltige Lösungen für aktuelle gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen in transnationalen, disziplin- und sektorenübergreifenden Konstellationen entwickeln
  • Aufbau eines kooperierenden Wissens- und Transfernetzwerks zwischen den beteiligten Regionen als Wissenschaftsstandorte, um erkenntnisorientierte Forschung, Innovation und evidenzbasierte Politikgestaltung zu fördern.

Erste thematische Synergien und Schwerpunkte wurden bereits unter den folgenden fünf Nachhaltigkeitszielen der Vereinten Nationen identifiziert:

  • SDG 4 - Hochwertige Bildung
  • SDG 7 - Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
  • SDG 9 - Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
  • SDG 11 - Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden 
  • SDG 13 - Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz

Diese schließen aber keinesfalls Kooperationen und gemeinsame Aktivitäten in anderen thematischen Bereichen aus. 

STRUKTUR

s. Bildbeschreibung s. Bildbeschreibung s. Bildbeschreibung
Governance-Struktur (Stand: März 2022)

Prof. Dr. Volker Epping ist erster Vorsitzender des Presidents' Board der Allianz "EULiST - European Universities Linking Society and Technology"

Das Netzwerk hat nun den LUH-Präsidenten Prof. Dr. Volker Epping zum ersten Vorsitzenden des Presidents' Board gewählt, dem wichtigsten Entscheidungsgremium der neuen Allianz. Stellvertretender Vorsitzender ist Prof. Andreas Boudouvis, Rektor der Nationalen Technischen Universität Athen (NTUA). Die Vorsitzenden sind für die Gesamtsteuerung des Netzwerks und die Leitung des Presidents' Board verantwortlich.

WORK PACKAGES

Für die Entwicklung gemeinsamer Aktivitäten und Projekte wurden Work Packages in fünf Handlungsfeldern etabliert. In den Work Packages engagieren und vernetzen sich Angehörige aller Partneruniversitäten.

Work Package

WP Lead

WP Co-Lead

WP 1) EULiST Management, Coordination & Strategy

Volker Epping
(Leibniz Universität Hannover)

Jari Hämäläinen
(Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology LUT)

WP 2) EULiST Campus

Lene Foss
(Jönköping University)

Jiří Hirš
(Brno University of Technology)

WP 3) EULiST Teaching & Learning

Kurt Matyas
(Technische Universität Wien)

Bruno Rubino
(University L’Aquila)

WP 4) EULiST Research & Innovation

Sotirios Karellas
(National Technical University of Athens)

Liisa-Maija Sainio
(Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology LUT)

WP 5) EULiST Outreach, Engagement and Transfer

Maria Luisa Humanes Humanes
(Universidad Rey Juan Carlos)

Maximilián Strémy
(Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava)

MARKE

  • Das Logo des Verbundes leitet sich aus den Standorten der Partner ab.
  • Den Gebrauch des EULiST-Logos an der LUH finden Sie im EULiST-Logo-Manual
  • Bei Fragen zum Logo wenden Sie sich an das Referat für Kommunikation und Marketing unter
    kommunikation@uni-hannover.de 
EULiST-Logo-Dateien
ZIP, 6 MB
EULIST-Logo-Manual
PDF, 2 MB

GESTALTEN SIE MIT!

Im Rahmen dieses Prozesses bittet die Hochschulleitung alle Studierenden, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und Verwaltungsangestellten herzlich, bei der Ausgestaltung der Allianz mitzuwirken!

Hochschulöffentliche Materialien
EULiST-Koordinationsbüro
EULiST-Koordinationsbüro