ResearchResearch Profile
Research Associations within the University

Research Associations within the University

Our wide variety of subjects enables our researchers and academics to consider diverse aspects when working on complex, cross-disciplinary questions. In order to support interdisciplinary associations in competitive core areas, Leibniz Universität Hannover has its own internal cross-faculty organisational structure.

The system is divided into the interdisciplinary Leibniz Research Initiatives, Leibniz Research Centres and Leibniz Research Schools, where researchers work on core areas across the disciplines and faculties. This system is progressive and, according the stage of development of the interdisciplinary research association in question, offers different types of support and institutionalisation from the university management.

LEIBNIZ RESEARCH INITIATIVES

At the first stage of development within the system are the Leibniz Research Initiatives, alliances of individual working groups on a clearly defined and extensive research topic across the disciplines and faculties. A Leibniz Research Initiative can be set up by the Presidential Board on the application of the researchers concerned. After a maximum term of three years, the research performance is assessed in an external evaluation. If the referees make a positive recommendation, the Presidential Board may convert the Leibniz Research Initiative to a Leibniz Research Centre.

LEIBNIZ RESEARCH CENTRES

As the second stage, Leibniz Research Centres draw international attention to their excellent research activities. They are evaluated regularly by external referees and collaborate with non-university research institutions. Successfully evaluated Leibniz Research Centres receive funding for a period of five years to an amount set by the Presidential Board according to the requirements of the centre in question.

LEIBNIZ RESEARCH SCHOOLS

As the highest stage, Leibniz Research Schools offer a flexible structural framework for cross-faculty research at the highest international level. They are set up for a limited period of time, collaborate with non-university research institutions and partner universities, and have a particularly high degree of organisation and far-reaching autonomy. They focus on interdisciplinary research and postgraduate education.

As a rule, their lifespan does not exceed fifteen years. They are set up by the university management on the application of professors from at least two faculties. The initial duration of five years can be extended on application for five years at a time. The success of the first and subsequent applications is on the basis of an external scientific evaluation.

QUEST Leibniz Research School was founded on 1 October 2009 as the first Leibniz Research School at our university.

Leibniz Research Schools

YOUR CONTACT PERSON

Dr. Johanna Schanz
Address
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
Address
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room

ForschungForschungsprofil
Hochschulinterne Forschungsverbünde

Hochschulinterne Forschungsverbünde

Die Vielfalt unseres Fächerspektrums ermöglicht unseren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern die Betrachtung unterschiedlichster Teilaspekte bei der Bearbeitung disziplinübergreifender, komplexer Fragestellungen. Zur Förderung interdisziplinärer Verbünde in wettbewerbsfähigen Schwerpunkten gibt es an der Leibniz Universität Hannover hochschulintern eine fakultätsübergreifende Organisationsstruktur.

Das System untergliedert sich in die interdisziplinär ausgerichteten Leibniz Forschungsinitiativen, Leibniz Forschungszentren und die Leibniz Forschungsschulen, in denen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Schwerpunktthemen fach- und fakultätsübergreifend bearbeiten. Dieses System ist progressiv angelegt und offeriert je nach Entwicklungsstufe des interdisziplinären Forschungsverbundes verschiedene Möglichkeiten der Förderung und der Institutionalisierung durch die Hochschulleitung.

LEIBNIZ FORSCHUNGSINITIATIVEN

Auf der ersten Entwicklungsstufe des Systems stehen Leibniz Forschungsinitiativen als Zusammenschlüsse einzelner Arbeitsgruppen zu einem klar beschriebenen und umfangreichen Forschungsthema, das fächer- und fakultätsübergreifend ausgerichtet ist. Eine Leibniz Forschungsinitiative wird auf Antrag der beteiligten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler durch das Präsidium eingerichtet. Nach einer Höchstdauer von drei Jahren soll die Forschungsleistung durch eine externe Evaluation bewertet werden. Bei positiver Empfehlung durch die Gutachterkommission kann das Präsidium die Leibniz Forschungsinitiative zum Leibniz Forschungszentrum erklären.

LEIBNIZ FORSCHUNGSZENTREN

Leibniz Forschungszentren als zweite Stufe kennzeichnen eine internationale und hohe wissenschaftliche Sichtbarkeit der Forschungsaktivitäten. Sie werden regelmäßig extern begutachtet und schließen auch die Beteiligung außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen ein. Erfolgreich evaluierte Leibniz Forschungszentren erhalten eine finanzielle Förderung in einem vom Präsidium festgelegten, am Bedarf des jeweiligen Zentrums orientierten Rahmen mit einer Laufzeit von fünf Jahren.

LEIBNIZ FORSCHUNGSSCHULEN

Leibniz Forschungsschulen bieten als höchste Stufe einen flexiblen strukturellen Rahmen für fakultätsübergreifende Forschung auf internationalem Spitzenniveau. Sie sind zeitlich befristet, schließen die Beteiligung außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen sowie kooperierender Hochschulen ein und verfügen über einen besonders hohen Organisationsgrad und weit reichende Autonomie. Der Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt liegt in der interdisziplinären Forschung und der postgradualen Ausbildung.

Als Regelfall ist eine Dauer von nicht mehr als 15 Jahren vorgesehen. Die Einrichtung erfolgt durch die Hochschulleitung auf Antrag von mindestens sechs Professorinnen und Professoren aus mindestens zwei Fakultäten. Die Laufzeit beträgt zunächst fünf Jahre und kann auf Antrag um jeweils fünf Jahre verlängert werden. Über den Erstantrag sowie über Fortsetzungsanträge wird auf der Grundlage einer externen wissenschaftlichen Evaluation entschieden.

Die QUEST-Leibniz-Forschungsschule wurde zum 1. Oktober 2009 als erste Leibniz Forschungsschule an unserer Hochschule eingerichtet.

Leibniz Forschungsschulen

IHRE ANSPRECHPERSON

Dr. Johanna Schanz
Adresse
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
Adresse
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum