ResearchResearch Profile
Research Buildings and Infrastructure

Research Buildings and Infrastructure

Apart from the Welfenschloss, the buildings on Königsworther Platz and at Welfengarten, and the Technische Informationsbibliothek (TIB) ‒ Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology, and the University Library, which is located there, Leibniz Universität Hannover has further sites in and around Hannover: at Schneiderberg, in Herrenhausen and in Garbsen. Over the past ten years, the University, the State of Lower Saxony, the Federal Government and the European Union have invested € 350m in new buildings and the existing physical infrastructure of Leibniz Universität Hannover. In particular, the infrastructure of core research areas has been enhanced.

Centre of Biomolecular Drug Research - Source: Faculty of Natural Sciences (Office of the Dean)
© © Fritz Schulze-Wischeler
Laboratory of Nano and Quantum Engineering
Main building of Leibniz Universität
© © Nico Niemeyer
Hannover Centre for Production Technology - Source: Nico Niemeyer

 

Apart from the buildings of the Centre of Biomolecular Drug Research (BMWZ) and the new Laboratory of Nano and Quantum Engineering (LNQE) with laboratories, equipment and in particular clean rooms, which were funded by the State and Federal Governments, the first phase of the Mechanical Engineering Campus Garbsen has been completed, and the seven Institutes of Production Technology have moved in. In a second phase, seven further buildings for eleven Institutes in the fields of Energy and Process Engineering, Construction and Development, and a research building for the Dynamics of Energy Conversion are being built on a nine hectare site. Completion of all the buildings is planned for the beginning of the winter semester 2019/20 in October 2019. The total costs of the building project funded by the State and Federal Governments amount to € 143m, including initial setup costs.

A research building for Hannover Institute of Technology (HITec) currently under construction at Leibniz Universität will provide a cross-thematic research infrastructure for quantum technologies. Here, scientists in physics, geodesy, and engineering will conduct pure and applied research and develop technology in quantum physics and geodesy. As well as the Einstein-Elevator, a further development of the traditional drop tower for experiments under zero-gravity conditions, there will be fibre-draw equipment for the development and production of radiation-hardened optical high-performance fibres.

COOPERATIONS UNDER ONE ROOF

As a research centre, Hannover benefits from close cooperation between Leibniz Universität and its university and non-university partners. The joint use of buildings and infrastructure is a major advantage here.

NIFE

At the Lower Saxony Centre for Biomedical Engineering, Implant Research and Development (NIFE), scientists from Leibniz Universität, Hannover Medical School (MHH), the University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover, Foundation (TiHo) and Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH) have been working under one roof since 2015. NIFE’s goal is to pool transdisciplinary research and development with special emphasis on implant research in Lower Saxony. The resulting synergies and direct contacts serve the efficient development of innovative implants.

Albert Einstein Institute Hannover

Together with the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics Hannover, and partners from Scotland and England, Leibniz Universität Hannover runs the interferometric gravitational wave detector GEO600. Scientists from the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics and the Institute for Gravitational Physics at Leibniz Universität analyse data streams from the international network of gravitational wave detectors. GEO600, which is part of the worldwide LIGO Science Collaboration (LSC), is unique in Germany.

Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V.

At the Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH), scientists from Leibniz Universität collaborate with colleagues from Technische Universität Clausthal and Technische Universität Braunschweig, among others. Research, development, advice, training and staff development, and the education of young researchers are the primary responsibilities in the core research areas of optical components and systems, optical production technologies, and biomedical photonics.

Large Wave Flume (GWK)

The Large Wave Flume (GWK), which has been in operation at Leibniz Universität since 1983, is the largest public research facility of its kind in Europe. The overall aim of the investigations in GWK is to conduct scientific research into hydrodynamic, morphodynamic and ecological processes at the coast and in coastal zones, including the effects on hydraulic structures. An expansion of the facility run jointly with Technische Universität Braunschweig is currently being planned.

Test Centre for Support Structures (TTH)

The Test Centre for Support Structures (TTH) is a cooperation project between Leibniz Universität Hannover and Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology, set up with the support of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi), the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the State of Lower Saxony. Since 2014 it has been possible to investigate the load-bearing and fatigue behaviour of support structures and foundations of wind-energy plants on a large scale.

Picture of a foundation test pit Picture of a foundation test pit Picture of a foundation test pit © Mathias Schuhmacher / LUH
Foundation engineering test pit at the Test Centre for Support Structures. Photo: Mathias Schuhmacher / LUH

YOUR CONTACT PERSON

Dr. Johanna Schanz
Address
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
Address
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room

ForschungForschungsprofil
Forschungsbauten und Infrastrukturen

Forschungsbauten und -infrastrukturen

Die Leibniz Universität Hannover unterhält neben dem Welfenschloss, den Gebäuden am Königsworther Platz und am Welfengarten sowie der dort angesiedelten Technischen Informationsbibliothek weitere Standorte in und um Hannover: am Schneiderberg, in Herrenhausen und in Garbsen. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren haben die Universität, das Land Niedersachsen, der Bund und die Europäische Union 350 Mio. Euro in Neubauten und die vorhandene bauliche Infrastruktur der Leibniz Universität Hannover investiert. Damit wurden insbesondere die Forschungsschwerpunkte infrastrukturell gestärkt.

Biomolekulares Wirkstoffzentrum - Quelle: Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät (Dekanat)
Laboratorium für Nano- und Quantenengineering
Hauptgebäude der Leibniz Universität
Produktionstechnisches Zentrum Hannover - Quelle: Nico Niemeyer

Neben den Gebäuden für das Biomolekulare Wirkstoffzentrum (BMWZ) und das neue Laboratorium für Nano- und Quantenengineering (LNQE) mit Laboren, Geräten und insbesondere Reinräumen, konnte der erste Bauabschnitt des Campus Maschinenbau in Garbsen – das Produktionstechnische Zentrum Hannover (PZH) – bereits 2004 von den produktionstechnischen Instituten der Fakultät für Maschinenbau bezogen werden. Im zweiten Bauabschnitt entstehen auf der etwa neun Hektar großen Fläche derzeit sieben weitere Gebäude für elf Institute der Bereiche Energie- und Prozesstechnik, Konstruktion und Entwicklung sowie ein Forschungsbau für Dynamik der Energiewandlung. Der Bezug aller Gebäude ist zum Beginn des Wintersemesters im Oktober 2019 geplant. Die Gesamtkosten des von Land und Bund finanzierten Bauvorhabens belaufen sich inklusive Ersteinrichtungskosten auf 143 Millionen Euro.

Mit dem Hannover Institut für Technologie (HITec) entsteht an der Leibniz Universität eine themenübergreifende Forschungsinfrastruktur für Quantentechnologien. Unter Beteiligung der Fachgebiete Physik, Geodäsie und Ingenieurwissenschaften sollen hier Grundlagenforschung und angewandte Forschung sowie Technologieentwicklung auf dem Gebiet der Quantenphysik und Geodäsie betrieben werden. Zum HITec wird neben dem Einstein-Elevator, einer Weiterentwicklung eines klassischen Fallturms für Experimente unter Bedingungen der Schwerelosigkeit, auch eine Faserziehanlage für die Entwicklung und Herstellung strahlungsfester optischer Hochleistungsfasern gehören.

KOOPERATIONEN UNTER EINEM DACH

Der Wissenschaftsstandort Hannover zeichnet sich durch enge Kooperationen zwischen der Leibniz Universität und ihren universitären sowie außeruniversitären Partnern aus, die insbesondere durch die gemeinsame Nutzung von Forschungsbauten und -infrastrukturen befördert werden.

NIFE

Im Niedersächsischen Zentrum für Biomedizintechnik, Implantatforschung und Entwicklung (NIFE) forschen seit 2015 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Leibniz Universität, der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover, der Stiftung Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover und dem Laser Zentrum Hannover in einem Gebäude. Die sich ergebenden Synergien und kurzen Wege dienen der effizienten Entwicklung innovativer Implantate.

Albert-Einstein-Institut

Im Albert-Einstein-Institut arbeiten Forscherinnen und Forscher des Max-Planck-Instituts für Gravitationsphysik Hannover mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus dem Institut für Gravitationsphysik der Leibniz Universität an der Analyse von Datenströmen des internationalen Netzwerks der Gravitationswellendetektoren. Mit dem GEO600, der Teil eines weltweiten Netzes erdgestützter interferometrischer Gravitationswellendetektoren ist, verfügt der Standort Hannover über eine deutschlandweit einzigartige Infrastruktur.

Laserzentrum Hannover e.V.

Am Laserzentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH) arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Leibniz Universität u.a. mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Technischen Universität Clausthal und der Technischen Universität Braunschweig. Forschung, Entwicklung, Beratung, Aus- und Weiterbildung sowie Nachwuchsförderung sind die zentralen Aufgaben, die in den Forschungsschwerpunkten Optische Komponenten und Systeme, Optische Produktionstechnologien sowie Biomedizinische Photonik gemeinsam wahrgenommen werden.

Der Große Wellenkanal (GWK)

Mit dem bereits 1983 in Betrieb gegangenen Großen Wellenkanal (GWK) steht an der Leibniz Universität die weltweit größte öffentlich zugängliche Forschungseinrichtung ihrer Art zur Verfügung. Ziel der Untersuchungen im GWK ist die wissenschaftliche Erforschung hydrodynamischer, morphodynamischer und ökologischer Prozesse an der Küste und im Küstenvorfeld, einschließlich ihrer Wirkungen auf wasserbauliche Strukturen. Ein Ausbau der gemeinsamen Einrichtung mit der Technischen Universität Braunschweig ist derzeit geplant.

Testzentrum Tragstrukturen (TTH)

Das Testzentrum Tragstrukturen (TTH) ist ein Kooperationsprojekt der Leibniz Universität Hannover und dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Windenergie und Energiesystemtechnik, das mit Unterstützung des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi), dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und dem Land Niedersachsen realisiert wurde. Hier können seit 2014 Trag- und Ermüdungsverhalten von Tragstrukturen und Gründungen für Windenergieanlagen im großen Maßstab erforscht werden.

Foto der Grundbauversuchsgrube des Testzentrums Tragstrukturen Foto der Grundbauversuchsgrube des Testzentrums Tragstrukturen Foto der Grundbauversuchsgrube des Testzentrums Tragstrukturen
Grundbauversuchsgrube des Testzentrums Tragstrukturen. Foto: Mathias Schuhmacher / LUH

IHRE ANSPRECHPERSON

Dr. Johanna Schanz
Adresse
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
Adresse
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum