ResearchStrategic Research Cooperations
Non-university Research Facilities

Research cooperations with non-university research facilities

geralt | pixabay.com

Leibniz Universität Hannover is continually expanding its strategic cooperation agreements with nationally and internationally leading non-university research institutions. Selected institutions with which Leibniz Universität maintains close research cooperation agreements, especially in the form of bridge professorships, are listed here:


COOPERATION AGREEMENTS WITH THE MAX PLANCK SOCIETY

Together with the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute), Leibniz Universität runs the gravitational wave detector GEO600 and the International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Gravitational Wave Astronomy. The Hannover Institute of Technology (HITec) currently under construction at Leibniz Universität will provide a further cross-thematic research infrastructure to be used jointly by researchers from the university and the Max Planck Institute.


COOPERATION AGREEMENTS WITH THE HELMHOLTZ ASSOCIATION

The Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI)

In the area of biomedical research, Leibniz Universität cooperates particularly closely with the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI), among others via the university’s Centre of Biomolecular Drug Research (BMWZ) and various cooperation projects between individual institutes and HZI.

Helmholtz Zentrum München - German Research Center for Environmental Health (HMGU)

In the area of medicinal chemistry and drug research, Leibniz Universität also cooperates in research, education and teaching with Helmholtz Zentrum München - German Research Center for Environmental Health (HMGU).


COOPERATION AGREEMENTS WITH FRAUNHOFER-GESELLSCHAFT

Fraunhofer Institute for Toxicology and Experimental Medicine (ITEM)

Leibniz Universität and the Fraunhofer Institute for Toxicology and Experimental Medicine (ITEM) collaborate especially in the field of biomedical research. Within the Translation Alliance in Lower Saxony (TRAIN) they and other university and non-university research institutions concentrate their expertise and infrastructures to speed the process of transferring potential active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) and vaccines from the laboratory to the patient.

Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology (IWES)

Joint activities in wind energy research characterise the collaboration between Leibniz Universität and the Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology (IWES). As part of the cooperation agreement between both institutions, the Test Centre for Support Structures was set up at Leibniz Universität. Furthermore, both cooperate within ForWind, the joint Centre for Wind Energy Research of the Universities of Hannover, Oldenburg and Bremen, and in the Research Association Wind Energy.


COOPERATION AGREEMENTS WITH THE LEIBNIZ ASSOCIATION

Technische Informationsbibliothek (TIB)

The Technische Informationsbibliothek (TIB) ‒ Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology, and the University Library is a public-law foundation of the Federal State of Lower Saxony, and a member of the Leibniz Association. In its function as the university library, TIB provides specialist literature for Leibniz Universität Hannover, serving also all the humanities and social science subjects locally. It is closely connected to Leibniz Universität, both structurally and on a staffing level.

Academy for Spatial Research and Planning (ARL)

Academy for Spatial Research and Planning (ARL), Leibniz Forum for Spatial Sciences, is a forum and skills centre for research in the field of spatial research and development, their causes and effects, and political and planning control options. Leibniz Universität Hannover cooperates closely with ARL, in research, teaching and promoting young researchers, in particular via the Research Centre TRUST (Transdisciplinary Rural and Urban Spatial Transformation).


COOPERATION AGREEMENTS WITH FURTHER NON-UNIVERSITY RESEARCH INSTITUTIONS

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB)

Leibniz Universität has for many years been a close research cooperation partner of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt in Braunschweig. Under the auspices of the Cluster of Excellence QUEST, several DFG joint research projects and in the research building HITec, scientists from PTB and Leibniz Universität work at the top international level to advance developments in the area of precise metrology.

German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW)

Leibniz Universität has cooperated with the DZHW and its predecessor, the Institut für Hochschulforschung der HIS GmbH, since 2006. In the Leibniz Centre for Science and Society, the research activities of the participating researchers also strengthen the university’s core research area “Interdisciplinary Studies of Science and Academia” through joint positions, lectures and research projects, and a research cooperation agreement.

German Institute of Rubber Technology (DIK)

The German Institute of Rubber Technology (DIK) is an independent research institution cooperating closely with Leibniz Universität Hannover and with industry. DIK and Leibniz Universität have been closely linked for many years through research projects, and on the structural and staffing level. In cooperation with the Wirtschaftsverband der deutschen Kautschukindustrie (WDK) and Leibniz Universität Hannover, a continuing education and training course of studies in rubber technology has run successfully since 1985.


AN-INSTITUTES - AFFILIATED INSTITUTES

In addition, cooperation with the affiliated institutes of the university plays a significant role as they complement the university’s competences by conducting applied research in important areas. The following facilities are institutes affiliated with Leibniz Universität Hannover:


YOUR CONTACT PERSON

Dr. Johanna Schanz
Management
Address
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
Address
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room

ForschungStrategische Forschungskooperationen
Außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen

Forschungskooperationen mit außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen

geralt | pixabay.com

Die Leibniz Universität Hannover baut ihre strategischen Kooperationen mit national und international führenden außeruniversitären Einrichtungen kontinuierlich aus. Eine Auswahl der Institutionen, mit denen die Leibniz Universität enge Forschungskooperationen, besonders im Rahmen von Brückenprofessuren, etabliert hat, finden Sie hier:


KOOPERATIONEN MIT DER MAX-PLANCK-GESELLSCHAFT

Gemeinsam mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik (Albert-Einstein-Institut) betreibt die Leibniz Universität den Gravitationswellendetektor GEO600 sowie die "International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Gravitational Wave Astronomy". Über den Bau des Hannover Instituts für Technologie (HITec) entsteht an der Leibniz Universität außerdem eine weitere themenübergreifende Forschungsinfrastruktur, die gemeinsam von Forschenden der Universität und des Max-Planck-Instituts genutzt wird.


KOOPERATIONEN MIT DER HELMHOLTZ-GEMEINSCHAFT

Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung (HZI)

Die Leibniz Universität pflegt im Bereich der Biomedizinforschung besonders enge Kooperationen mit dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung (HZI) u.a. über das universitäre Zentrum für Biomolekulare Wirkstoffe (BMWZ) sowie über diverse Kooperationen einzelner Institute mit dem HZI.

Helmholtz-Zentrum München – Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Gesundheit und Umwelt (HMGU)

Im Bereich der Medizinalchemie und Wirkstoffforschung kooperiert die Leibniz Universität in Forschung, Ausbildung und Lehre darüber hinaus mit dem Helmholtz Zentrum München – Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Gesundheit und Umwelt (HMGU).


KOOPERATIONEN MIT DER FRAUNHOFER-GESELLSCHAFT

Fraunhofer-Institut für Toxikologie und Experimentelle Medizin (ITEM)

Die Leibniz Universität und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Toxikologie und Experimentelle Medizin (ITEM) arbeiten besonders auf dem Feld der Biomedizinforschung zusammen. Im Rahmen der Translationsallianz in Niedersachsen (TRAIN) bündeln sie gemeinsam mit weiteren universitären und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen ihr Wissen und ihre Infrastrukturen, um mögliche Wirk- und Impfstoffe schneller aus dem Labor zum Patienten zu bringen.

Fraunhofer-Institut für Windenergie und Energiesystemtechnik (IWES)

Gemeinsame Aktivitäten im Bereich der Windenergieforschung kennzeichnen die Zusammenarbeit der Leibniz Universität mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Windenergie und Energiesystemtechnik (IWES). Als Teil des Kooperationsvertrags zwischen beiden Institutionen wurde das Testzentrum für Tragstrukturen an der Leibniz Universität eingerichtet. Des Weiteren kooperieren beide innerhalb von ForWind, dem gemeinsamen Zentrum für Windenergieforschung der Universitäten Hannover, Oldenburg und Bremen sowie im Forschungsverbund Windenergie.


KOOPERATIONEN MIT DER LEIBNIZ-GEMEINSCHAFT

Technische Informationsbibliothek (TIB)

Die Technische Informationsbibliothek (TIB) – Leibniz-Informationszentrum Technik und Naturwissenschaften und Universitätsbibliothek ist eine Stiftung öffentlichen Rechts des Landes Niedersachsen und Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft. In ihrer Funktion als Universitätsbibliothek stellt die TIB die Literaturversorgung der Leibniz Universität Hannover sicher und bedient vor Ort auch alle geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächer. Sie ist strukturell und personell eng mit der Leibniz Universität verbunden.

Akademie für Raumplanung und Landesforschung (ARL)

Die Akademie für Raumforschung und Landesplanung (ARL), Leibniz-Forum für Raumwissenschaften, versteht sich als Forum und Kompetenzzentrum für die Erforschung räumlicher Strukturen und Entwicklungen, ihrer Ursachen und Wirkungen sowie ihrer politisch-planerischen Steuerungsmöglichkeiten. Die Leibniz Universität Hannover kooperiert u. a. über das Forschungszentrum TRUST (Transdisciplinary Rural and Urban Spatial Transformation) in Forschung, Lehre und Nachwuchsförderung eng mit der ARL.


KOOPERATIONEN MIT WEITEREN AUßERUNIVERSITÄREN FORSCHUNGSINSTITUTEN

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB)

Mit der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt in Braunschweig pflegt die Leibniz Universität seit vielen Jahren enge Forschungskooperationen. Im Rahmen des Exzellenzclusters QUEST, mehrerer DFG-Verbundprojekte sowie im Forschungsbau HITec arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der PTB und der Leibniz Universität auf internationalem Spitzenniveau daran, die Entwicklungen im Bereich des präzisen Messens voranzutreiben.

Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung (DZHW)

Die Leibniz Universität kooperiert bereits seit dem Jahr 2006 mit dem DZHW bzw. mit der Vorgängerinstitution des DZHW, dem Institut für Hochschulforschung der HIS GmbH. Im Leibniz Forschungszentrum für Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft stärken die Forschungsaktivitäten der beteiligten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler im Rahmen von gemeinsamen Berufungen, Lehrveranstaltungen und Forschungsprojekten sowie einer Kooperationsvereinbarung auch den universitären Forschungsschwerpunkt Wissenschaftsreflexion.

Deutsches Institut für Kautschuktechnologie e. V. (DIK)

Das Deutsche Institut für Kautschuktechnologie ist eine selbstständige Forschungseinrichtung mit enger Kooperation zur Leibniz Universität Hannover und zur Industrie. Über Forschungsprojekte sowie auf struktureller und personeller Ebene sind DIK und Leibniz Universität seit vielen Jahren miteinander verbunden. So führen die Leibniz Universität, das DIK und der Wirtschaftsverband der deutschen Kautschukindustrie (WDK) seit 1985 das Weiterbildungsstudium Kautschuktechnologie erfolgreich durch.


AN-INSTITUTE

Darüber hinaus besitzen die Kooperationen mit den An-Instituten der Universität eine hohe Bedeutung, da sie die Kompetenzen der Universität durch anwendungsbezogene Forschung auf wichtigen Gebieten ergänzen. Folgende Einrichtungen sind Institute an der Leibniz Universität Hannover:


IHRE ANSPRECHPERSON

Dr. Johanna Schanz
Leitung
Adresse
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
Adresse
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum