Research Collaboration with Hannover Medical School

The collaboration between Leibniz University Hannover and Hannover Medical School brings together technical, scientific, and medical research excellence.

Since the 1970s, the collaboration between the two universities has been fostered through joint courses and projects. It has evolved into a top-level research consortium with strong regional partners, distinguished by outstanding academic achievements. By collaborating in major projects, such as the Clusters of Excellence REBIRTH and Hearing4all (led by Oldenburg University), as well as through the acquisition of the Lower Saxony Centre for Biomedical Engineering, Implant Research and Development (NIFE), both universities have refined their research profiles, especially in their joint key research area biomedical engineering.

In addition, the consortium ensures its performance and sustainability by extending its collaboration to other disciplines, such as philosophy, law, and economics. By including ethical, legal and economic issues at an early stage, research outcomes from projects at the joint facilities CHERH (Centre for Health Economics Research Hannover) and CELLS (Centre for Ethics and Law in the Life Sciences) are transferred successfully.

The consortium is a key driver of innovation, as well as a magnet and promoter for new projects. This quality is fostered by collaborations with regional universities and non-academic research institutions including the Translational Alliance in Lower Saxony (TRAIN), Hannover Science Initiative, and the Metropolregion Hannover Braunschweig Göttingen Wolfsburg.

 Leibniz University Hannover and Hannover Medical School have successfully acquired four Clusters of Excellence in the Excellence Strategy of the German federal and state governments. Therefore, the consortium submitted a joint proposal in the Universities of Excellence funding line.

CONTACT PERSON

Dr. Johanna Schanz
Address
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
Address
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room

ForschungStrategische Forschungskooperationen
Medizinische Hochschule Hannover

Forschungskooperation mit der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover

In der Kooperation der Leibniz Universität Hannover und der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover verbindet sich technische und naturwissenschaftliche mit medizinischer Forschungsexzellenz. 

Die enge Zusammenarbeit beider Universitäten hat sich seit den 1970er Jahren über gemeinsame Lehrangebote und Projekte zu einem Spitzenforschungsverbund mit starken regionalen Partnern weiterentwickelt, der sich durch herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen auszeichnet. Die Zusammenarbeit in großen Verbundprojekten, wie z.B. den Exzellenzclustern REBIRTH und Hearing4all (koordiniert von der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg) und die Einwerbung des Niedersächsischen Zentrums für Biomedizintechnik, Implantatforschung und Entwicklung (NIFE) haben das Forschungsprofil beider Universitäten vor allem im gemeinsamen Forschungsschwerpunkt Biomedizintechnik entscheidend weiterentwickelt. 

Der Verbund sichert darüber hinaus seine Leistungsstärke und Nachhaltigkeit, indem er die Kooperation auf weitere Disziplinen, wie die Philosophie, die Rechts- und die Wirtschaftswissenschaften, ausweitet. Die Forschung im gemeinsamen Center for Health Economics Research Hannover (CHERH) sowie im Center for Ethics and Law in the Life Sciences (CELLS) schafft durch den frühzeitigen Einbezug ethischer, juristischer und ökonomischer Fragestellungen die Voraussetzungen für den erfolgreichen Transfer von Forschungsergebnissen.

In enger Vernetzung mit regionalen Hochschulen und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen u.a. im Rahmen der Translationsallianz Niedersachsen (TRAIN), der Initiative Wissenschaft Hannover und der Metropolregion Hannover Braunschweig Göttingen Wolfsburg ist der Verbund Innovationstreiber, Magnet und Promotor neuer Vorhaben. 

In der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und Länder konnten die Leibniz Universität und die Medizinische Hochschule Hannover insgesamt vier Exzellenzcluster einwerben. Beide Universitäten haben als Leibniz Alliance Hannover im Dezember 2018 einen gemeinsamen Antrag in der Förderlinie Exzellenzuniversität eingereicht.

ANSPRECHPERSON

Dr. Johanna Schanz
Adresse
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
Adresse
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum