ResearchResearch ProfileKey research areas
Quantum Optics and Gravitational Physics

Quantum Optics and Gravitational Physics

© © S. Ossokine, A. Buonanno
Gravitational wave. Source: S. Ossokine, A. Buonanno (Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics), Simulating eXtreme Spacetimes project, W. Benger (Airborne Hydro Mapping GmbH)

QUANTUM OPTICS AND GRAVITATIONAL PHYSICS

In the key research area Quantum Optics and Gravitational Physics, more than 350 scientists are researching current issues within the research fields Quantum Engineering, Gravitational Wave Research, precision measurement of space and time, light and matter, as well as the development of laser systems and atomic clocks. QUEST Leibniz Research School comprises a cross-disciplinary network of expertise from physics, mathematics, engineering and natural sciences, to push the boundaries of measurement with new technologies in the most minute and significant detail. This will lay the foundations for navigation, time synchronisation and cryptography of tomorrow.

Together with Hannover Institute of Technology (HITec), a new comprehensive research infrastructure for quantum technologies is available from 2018, which, in addition to a fibre-drawing facility for producing radiation-resistant optical high performance fibres and a 10-metre-long atom fountain (VLBAI - Very Large Baseline Atom Interferometer) for fundamental research into atom interferometry, also includes an Einstein Elevator for experiments under zero-gravity conditions.

Through close cooperation with strong university partners and non-university research facilities, research in quantum optics and gravitational physics is firmly embedded in a unique research environment at Leibniz Universität Hannover. Its success is illustrated by globally-observed accomplishments in research, such as proving Einstein’s theory on gravitational waves, to which researchers at Leibniz Universität Hannover contributed significantly, in collaboration with colleagues at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics.

ForschungForschungsprofilForschungsschwerpunkte
Quantenoptik und Gravitationsphysik

Quantenoptik und Gravitationsphysik

© S. Ossokine, A. Buonanno
Gravitationswelle Quelle: S. Ossokine, A. Buonanno (Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik), Simulating eXtreme Spacetimes Projekt, W. Benger (Airborne Hydro Mapping GmbH)

QUANTENOPTIK UND GRAVITATIONSPHYSIK

Im Forschungsschwerpunkt Quantenoptik und Gravitationsphysik forschen mehr als 350 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an aktuellen Fragestellungen des Quantenengineering,  der Gravitationswellenforschung, der Präzisionsmessung von Raum und Zeit, Licht und Materie sowie der Entwicklung von Lasersystemen und Atomuhren. Die QUEST Leibniz Forschungsschule bündelt als interdisziplinäres Netzwerk Kompetenzen aus der Physik, Mathematik sowie den Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften, um mit neuen Technologien die Grenzen des Messbaren im Kleinsten wie auch im Größten zu verschieben. Damit werden Grundlagen für die Navigation, Zeitsynchronisation oder Kryptographie von morgen gelegt.

Mit dem Hannover Institute of Technology (HITec) steht ab 2018 eine neue themenübergreifende Forschungsinfrastruktur für Quantentechnologien zur Verfügung, die neben einer Faserziehanlage für die Herstellung strahlungsfester optischer Hochleistungsfasern und einer 10 m langen Atomfontaine (VLBAI - Very Large Baseline Atom Interferometer) für Grundlagenforschung in der Atominterferometrie auch einen Einstein-Elevator für Experimente unter Bedingungen der Schwerelosigkeit umfasst.

Durch enge Kooperation mit starken universitären Partnern und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen ist die Forschung an Quantenoptik und Gravitationsphysik an der Leibniz Universität in eine einzigartige Forschungslandschaft eingebettet. Der Erfolg zeigt sich durch weltweit beachtete Forschungsleistungen, wie z.B. den Nachweis der von Einstein vorhergesagten Gravitationswellen, zu dem Forscherinnen und Forscher der Leibniz Universität gemeinsam mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen des Max-Planck-Instituts für Gravitationsphysik Hannover einen wesentlichen Beitrag geleistet haben.