ResearchResearch ProfileKey research areas
Interdisciplinary Studies of Science

Interdisciplinary Studies of Science

Whether climate change, global food supply, energy supply, health development, species extinction or water shortage is concerned: worldwide, high expectations are placed in the scientific knowledge of tomorrow to solve most of the major challenges of the 21st Century. However, the successful development, communication and application of scientific knowledge are themselves great challenges. The state of conflict, in which scientists increasingly find themselves, is in many cases intensified through the increasing economisation, politicisation and mediatisation of science. The multi-faceted responsibilities of universities should especially be taken into account in the context of challenges concerning the scientific system.

The key research area, Interdisciplinary Studies of Science, pools research in the field of humanities and social sciences regarding the social, epistemological, normative and cultural conditions of science.

In April 2016, Leibniz Center for Science and Society (LCSS) was established at Leibniz Universität Hannover to create a central location for science studies and higher education research. There, as well as at the Centre for Ethics and Law in the Life Sciences (CELLS) at the Faculty of Humanities - with its main research area in the philosophy of science and the research training group ‘Integrating Ethics and Epistemology of Scientific Research’ - as well as in further departments of the three participating faculties, researchers study science as a social, cultural and cognitive phenomenon as the focus of their research. Leibniz University Hannover has evolved into a focal point for this research.

Wissenschaftsreflexion

Ob Klimawandel, Welternährung, Energieversorgung, Gesundheitsentwicklung, Artensterben oder Wassermangel – zur Lösung der meisten großen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts werden weltweit beträchtliche Erwartungen in zukünftiges wissenschaftliches Wissen gesetzt. Doch die erfolgreiche Entwicklung, Vermittlung und Anwendung wissenschaftlichen Wissens stellt selbst eine große Herausforderung dar. Das Spannungsfeld, in dem sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler immer häufiger finden, wird in vielen Fällen durch die Kräfte einer zunehmenden Ökonomisierung, Politisierung und Medialisierung der Wissenschaften verstärkt. Auch die vielschichtigen Aufgaben der Hochschulen verdienen es, im Kontext der Herausforderungen des Wissenschaftssystems besonders in den Blick genommen zu werden.

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt Wissenschaftsreflexion bündelt geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungen über die sozialen, erkenntnistheoretischen, normativen und kulturellen Bedingungen von Wissenschaft.

Das Leibniz Forschungszentrum Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft (Leibniz Center for Science and Society, LCSS) wurde im April 2016 an der Leibniz Universität Hannover neu eingerichtet, um einen zentralen Ort für die Wissenschafts- und  Hochschulforschung zu schaffen. Dort, sowie auch am Centre for Ethics and Law in the Life Sciences (CELLS), am Institut für Philosophie mit seinem wissenschaftsphilosophischen Profilschwerpunkt und dem DFG-Graduiertenkolleg „Integrating Ethics and Epistemology of Scientific Research“ und in weiteren Arbeitsbereichen der beteiligten drei Fakultäten, nehmen Forscherinnen und Forscher die Wissenschaft als ein soziales, kulturelles und kognitives Phänomen selbst in den Fokus ihrer Arbeit. Die Leibniz Universität Hannover hat sich zu einem Zentrum dieser Forschung entwickelt.