Tenure Track Process

Leibniz Universität Hannover views appointment to be the most effective means for profile development and strategically the most important task in order to attract and retain outstanding researchers. The university considers the recruitment and employment of professors via the tenure track option to be a necessary development, in order to retain highly qualified junior researchers in the academic system, enabling them to gain academic independence.

The following provides detailed information on the individual phases of the tenure track process, from appointment via the standard or fast-track process to the interim and tenure evaluations.

Please contact  us with any queries.


STANDARD PROCESS

At Leibniz Universität Hannover, the tenure appointment process follows the principle to select the best candidates, increase international competitiveness and promote equality.

The ordinance governing tenure track requires that all tenure track professorships are publicly advertised with reference to the tenure option and should be filled via proper appointment procedures in accordance with laws governing higher education in Lower Saxony (NHG) and appointment regulations. Junior professorships (W1) with tenure track according to salary grade W2 or W3 are initially subject to a fixed-term contract of three years. This contract can be extended by a further three years following a positive interim evaluation. Temporary professorships according to salary grade W2 with tenure track according to salary grade W2 or W3 are advertised with a fixed-term contract not exceeding five years.

FAST-TRACK PROCESS

Leibniz Universität Hannover is committed to promoting outstanding junior researchers, recognising potential professors at an early stage and retaining them at Leibniz Universität Hannover. A special fast-track process is available to outstanding junior research group leaders. When a new junior research group is established, the opportunity to undertake a tenure track professorship should be systematically checked during the application process.
Further information on the fast-track process can be found here.

EVALUATION PROCESS

The evaluation process is based on national and international standards. Transparent criteria and external, international expertise ensure the quality assurance of the process. In order to be granted tenure and thereby life-long professorship, proof of academic excellence and pedagogic eligibility are essential.

The faculty, in which the junior professorship or temporary professorship is allocated, will evaluate the candidate’s research and teaching achievements. In addition, research achievements will be evaluated by an independent body of experts, the Leibniz Tenure Board. A statement is submitted by the Leibniz Tenure Board to the presidential board, based on the candidate’s self-evaluation and two externally obtained expert reports.

Junior professorships with tenure track

Junior professorships are subject to a two-stage evaluation process. The first evaluation (interim evaluation) occurs in the third year for three-year employment agreements and is the basis for an extension of a further three years, provided that research and teaching performance warrant this. A positive interim evaluation is required in order to apply for the tenure track evaluation. The tenure track evaluation is conducted in the final year of employment (maximum fixed-term contract of six years).

W2 professorships with tenure track

In the third year of a temporary W2 professorship, the professor must submit an interim report to the dean's office. The report is based on the evaluation criteria, determined in the application for approval. Based on the interim report, the dean or an assigned representative will conduct a structured (documented) progress meeting. The meeting will contribute towards early reflection of performance and progress with respect to the tenure criteria. At the request of the holder of the position, the tenure track evaluation will be conducted by the faculty one year before expiration of employment. The decision should be made at least six months before the end of the employment agreement.

Tenure-Track Verfahren

Die Leibniz Universität Hannover versteht Berufungen als das wirkungsvollste Mittel zur Profilbildung und als die strategisch wichtigste Aufgabe zur Gewinnung und Bindung hervorragender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Sie sieht in der Ausschreibung und Besetzung von Professuren mit Tenure-Track-Option eine notwendige Weiterentwicklung, um hochqualifizierten Nachwuchs im Wissenschaftssystem zu halten und ihm frühzeitig den Eintritt in die wissenschaftliche Selbständigkeit zu ermöglichen.

Nachfolgend finden Sie Informationen zu den einzelnen Phasen von Tenure-Track-Verfahren, von der Berufung im Normal- oder im Fast-Track-Verfahren bis zur Zwischen- und Tenure-Evaluation.

Bei weiteren Fragen nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt zu uns auf.


NORMALVERFAHREN

Berufungsverfahren an der Leibniz Universität folgen dem Prinzip der Bestenauslese, der Erhöhung der internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sowie der Erfüllung des gesetzlich verankerten Gleichstellungsauftrages.

Die Tenure-Track-Ordnung regelt, dass alle TT-Professuren grundsätzlich öffentlich mit dem Verweis auf die Tenure Option auszuschreiben und im Rahmen ordentlicher Bestellungs- oder Berufungsverfahren gemäß NHG und Berufungsordnung zu besetzen sind. Juniorprofessuren (W1) mit Tenure-Track nach Besoldungsgruppe W2 oder W3 werden zunächst befristet auf drei Jahre ausgeschrieben mit der Möglichkeit der Verlängerung um weitere drei Jahre nach positiver Zwischenevaluation. Professuren auf Zeit der Besoldungsgruppe W2 mit Tenure-Track nach Besoldungsgruppe W2 oder W3 werden befristet auf maximal fünf Jahre ausgeschrieben.

FAST-TRACK VERFAHREN

Die Leibniz Universität will exzellenten wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs fördern, geeignete Professorinnen und Professoren frühzeitig erkennen und an die Leibniz Universität Hannover binden. Für exzellente Nachwuchsgruppenleiterinnen und Nachwuchsgruppenleiter gibt es dafür ein spezielles Fast-Track-Verfahren. Im Fall der Neueinwerbung einer Nachwuchsgruppe, soll die Möglichkeit einer Tenure-Track-Professur bereits im Rahmen der Antragstellung systematisch geprüft werden.
Weitere Informationen zum Fast-Track-Verfahren finden Sie hier.

EVALUATIONSVERFAHREN

Das Evaluationsverfahren basiert auf nationalen und internationalen Standards und erfolgt zur Qualitätssicherung nach transparenten Kriterien und unter Einbeziehung externer und internationaler Expertise. Für die Gewährung von Tenure und damit die Berufung auf eine Lebenszeitprofessur ist der Nachweis wissenschaftlicher Exzellenz und pädagogischer Eignung maßgeblich.

Die Bewertung der Leistungen in Forschung und Lehre erfolgt durch die Fakultät, der die Juniorprofessur oder Professur auf Zeit zugeordnet ist. Die Forschungsleistungen werden zusätzlich von einem unabhängigen Expertengremium evaluiert, dem Leibniz-Tenure-Board. Das Leibniz-Tenure-Board gibt gegenüber dem Präsidium auf Grundlage des Selbstberichtes der Kandidatin oder des Kandidaten und zwei extern eingeholter strukturierter Gutachten eine Stellungnahme ab.

für Juniorprofessuren mit Tenure Track

Für Juniorprofessuren ist ein zweistufiges Evaluationsverfahren vorgesehen. Die erste Evaluation (Zwischenevaluation) erfolgt im dritten Jahr des auf drei Jahre befristeten Dienstverhältnisses und ist Grundlage für eine Verlängerung um weitere drei Jahre, wenn die Leistungen in Forschung und Lehre dies rechtfertigen. Eine positive Zwischenevaluation ist Voraussetzung für die Beantragung der Tenure-Track-Evaluation. Diese erfolgt im letzten Jahr des auf maximal sechs Jahre befristeten Beschäftigungsverhältnisses.

für W2-Professuren mit Tenure Track

Bei W2-Professuren auf Zeit legt die Professorin oder der Professor im dritten Jahr dem Dekanat einen Zwischenbericht vor, der sich an den Bewertungskriterien orientiert, die im Freigabeantrag festgelegt wurden. Die Dekanin oder der Dekan oder eine von ihr oder ihm beauftragte Person führt auf der Grundlage des Zwischenberichtes ein strukturiertes (zu protokollierendes) Statusgespräch, das frühzeitig zur Reflexion über die Leistungen und Fortschritte mit Blick auf die Tenure-Kriterien beitragen soll. Die Tenure-Track-Evaluation wird ein Jahr vor Ablauf des Dienstverhältnisses auf Antrag der Stelleninhaberin oder des Stelleninhabers von der Fakultät durchgeführt. Das Ergebnis soll spätestens sechs Monate vor Ende des Dienstverhältnisses vorliegen.