Gottfried in a Nutshell #1

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz was born 374 years ago today, on 1 July.
However, he celebrated his birthday on another day ...

Gottfried Wilhelm was born in the evening hours of 21 June 1646 in the building of "Großes Fürstenkolleg" on Ritterstraße in Leipzig. The following entry by his father Friedrich Leibniz can be found in the family chronicle: "21. Junii am Sontag 1646. Ist mein Sohn Gottfried Wilhelm, post sextam vespertiam ¼ uff 7 uhr abents zur welt gebohren, im Wassermann."* Two days later, the infant was baptised in St. Nicholas Church.

Nowadays, we celebrate Leibniz's birthday on 1 July. But why?

Time scales are determined by astronomers. Since the beginning of time, people have tried to illustrate the cycle of nature by means of a calendar dividing the year into months, weeks and days. One year is defined as the time it takes the Earth to orbit the Sun. A complete orbit takes exactly 365 days, 5 hours, 48 minutes and 45.252 seconds – a quarter of a day longer than our calendar year. For this reason, Julius Caesar first implemented a periodic leap year in 45 BC. Since this rule was imprecise, the date “21 March” (first day of spring) slowly drifted away from the astronomical event of the spring equinox in the Northern Hemisphere. By the 16th century, the discrepancy in the Julian calendar had added up to 10 days.

This became a problem - especially when setting the dates of moveable religious festivals. In particular, Easter is determined by astronomical events (Easter Sunday = first Sunday after the first full moon following the first day of spring). In 1582, Pope Gregory XIII solved this problem by omitting the days between Thursday 4 October and Friday 15 October. The Gregorian calendar was soon adopted in Catholic Spain and Portugal as well as in most parts of Italy, while the Protestant territories refused to accept it. In the Protestant city of Hannover, Leibniz later joined the much-needed efforts to reform the existing system, promoting an interdenominational solution. Along the way, he identified a large market for printed calendars that were much sought-after among the public. In addition to dates, these calendars contained popular astrological tips - such as the perfect day for a haircut, for weaning infants or for bloodletting. With the construction of the Berlin observatory in 1700 and a "calendar patent" (monopoly-like privilege), he succeeded in acquiring funding for establishing a "Society of Sciences" (today's Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities), which brought together the humanities and natural sciences. During the Diet of Regensburg in 1699 and encouraged by Leibniz's initiative, the Protestant German territories finally reached an agreement and adopted the new calendar, which was quite similar to the Catholic calendar.
Henceforth, the date of Leibniz's birthday was moved by 10 days.

Happy Birthday, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz!


* Sunday 21 June 1646. My son Gottfried Wilhelm was born this evening at 6.45 p.m., in the sign of Aquarius.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Communications and Marketing
Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Communications and Marketing

Gottfried in a Nutshell #1

Am 1. Juli vor 374 Jahren wurde Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz geboren.
Gefeiert hat er seinen Geburtstag allerdings an einem anderen Tag ...

Abends am 21. Juni 1646 wurde Gottfried Wilhelm im Gebäude des großen Fürstenkollegs (in der Ritterstraße) in Leipzig geboren. In der Familienchronik finden wir den Eintrag des Vaters Friedrich Leibniz: "21. Junii am Sontag 1646. Ist mein Sohn Gottfried Wilhelm, post sextam vespertiam ¼ uff 7 uhr abents zur welt gebohren, im Wassermann." Zwei Tage später wurde der Säugling in der Nikolaikirche getauft.

Heute feiern wir Leibniz' Geburtstag am 1. Juli. Warum ist das so?

Zeiteinteilung ist Sache der Astronomen. Von jeher versuchen die Menschen, mit einem Kalender und der Einteilung des Jahres in Monate, Wochen und Tage den Zyklus der Natur abzubilden. Ein Jahr ist definiert als die Zeit, die die Erde für eine Umrundung der Sonne braucht. Ein Umlauf dauert genau 365 Tage, 5 Stunden, 48 Minuten und 45,252 Sekunden, also etwa ¼ Tag länger als unser Kalenderjahr. 45 v.Chr. hatte Julius Cäsar deshalb erstmals eine periodische Schaltjahresregel festgelegt. Weil diese aber noch nicht exakt genug war, entfernte sich das Tagesdatum "21. März" (Frühlingsanfang) immer weiter vom astronomischen Ereignis des Primar-Äquinoktiums (Frühlings-Tag-Nacht-Gleiche der nördlichen Erdhalbkugel). Im 16. Jh. hatten sich die Fehler des julianischen Kalenders auf 10 Tage aufaddiert.

Dies wurde insbesondere bei der Festlegung der 'beweglichen, kirchlichen Feiertage zum Problem: Vor allem das Osterfest wird nach astronomischen Ereignissen berechnet (Ostersonntag = erster Sonntag nach dem ersten Vollmond nach Frühlingsanfang). Papst Gregor XIII. löste das Problem, indem er im Jahr 1582 auf Donnerstag, den 4. Oktober, sofort Freitag, den 15. Oktober, folgen ließ. Seinen gregorianischen Kalender setzte er bald im katholischen Spanien, Portugal und dem größten Teil Italiens durch, die protestantischen Territorien akzeptierten ihn aber nicht. Im protestantischen Hannover beteiligte sich Leibniz später an einer dringend anstehenden Reform und sprach sich für eine interkonfessionelle Lösung aus. Nebenbei erkannte er den großen Absatzmarkt für gedruckte Kalender, die in der Bevölkerung sehr beliebt waren und neben den Kalenderdaten auch populäre astrologische Tipps, wie den perfekten Tag zum Schneiden der Haare, Abstillen von Säuglingen oder dem Aderlass, enthielten. Mit dem Bau einer Sternwarte in Berlin (1700) und einem "Kalenderpatent" (monopolartiges Privileg) ließ sich auch sein Plan von der Gründung einer Sozietät der Wissenschaften (spätere Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften) finanzieren, die Geistes- und Naturwissenschaft verbinden sollte. Auf dem Reichstag in Regensburg einigten sich schließlich 1699 - nicht zuletzt auch auf Leibniz' Initiative hin - die protestantischen deutschen Territorien und führten den neuen Kalender ein, der nur unwesentlich vom katholischen Kalender abwich.
Von da an änderte sich das Datum von Leibniz' Geburtstag um 10 Tage.

'Happy Birthday' Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz!

KONTAKT

Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Referat für Kommunikation und Marketing
Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf
Referat für Kommunikation und Marketing