Guided Tours: Permanent Exhibition Dedicated to Leibniz

Within the scope of a guided tour in the main university building, visitors can explore the technical inventions of the universal scholar Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz and see functional models of his mechanical devices in action.

Ariane Wahlsdorf Ariane Wahlsdorf Ariane Wahlsdorf © Marie-Luise Kolb (LUH)

The exhibition is dedicated to Leibniz’s ideas and innovations and creates a connection between the past and the present. The tour addresses students, members of teaching staff and guests of Leibniz University Hannover. Guided by the motto “experiencing and understanding Leibniz”, visitors enter the world of the great science communicator and the namesake of Leibniz University Hannover, whose ideas and thoughts continue to inspire us to this day.

Dr. Ariane Walsdorf from Communications and Marketing is a Leibniz researcher and an expert in the field of his calculating machines. In her guided tours of the exhibition, she focuses on the work of Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz, while explaining the context of individual models and providing perspectives on cultural history. Thus, visitors can experience Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz and his era.

Discover exciting objects and learn about fascinating findings! For mathematical models can depict unseen things that take place in our minds.

Tours must be booked in advance. Please register via phone or email.

All tours are currently suspended.

Führungen durch die Leibniz-Dauerausstellung

Interessierte können im Welfenschloss unter fachkundiger Führung den Universalgelehrten Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz kennenlernen und seine technischen Erfindungen anhand von Vorführungen mechanischer Funktionsmodelle entdecken.

Ariane Wahlsdorf demonstriert die Funktionsweise der Vier-Spezies-Rechenmaschine Ariane Wahlsdorf demonstriert die Funktionsweise der Vier-Spezies-Rechenmaschine Ariane Wahlsdorf demonstriert die Funktionsweise der Vier-Spezies-Rechenmaschine © Marie-Luise Kolb (LUH)

Die lebendige Vermittlung der Ideen und Innovationen von Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz schafft für Studierende, Lehrende und Gäste der Leibniz Universität Hannover eine Verbindung von der Vergangenheit zur Gegenwart. Mit dem Anspruch "Leibniz erleben und begreifen" tauchen die Besucherinnen und Besucher ein in die Welt des großen Wissenschaftskommunikators und Namenspatron der Leibniz Universität, dessen Ideen und Gedanken uns damals wie heute beflügeln.

Dr. des. Ariane Walsdorf, Referat für Kommunikation und Marketing, ist Leibniz-Forscherin und Expertin für die Leibniz-Rechenmaschinen. In ihren Führungen erläutert sie die Wirkungsgeschichte von Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz, kontextualisiert die Einzelmodelle und eröffnet kulturhistorische Perspektiven. So werden Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz und seine Zeit für den Besucher und die Besucherin erlebbar und lebendig.

Entdecken Sie spannende Objekte und faszinierende Erkenntnisse! Denn in mathematischen Modellen kann das, was ungesehen in den Köpfen stattfindet, räumlich Gestalt annehmen.

Eine Anmeldung für die Führungen ist telefonisch oder per E-Mail erforderlich.

Zurzeit finden keine Führungen statt.