Nobel Prizes

In his last will and testament, the Swedish inventor and entrepreneur Alfred Nobel (1833-1896) stated that his fortune was to be used to donate prizes. Those, “who, during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind” should receive the prize. The Nobel Prizes, which have been awarded since 1901, are widely regarded as the most prestigious distinctions available in the fields of chemistry, medicine, physics, literature, economics, and peace efforts.

The following researchers and alumni of Leibniz University Hannover received the Nobel Prize. The year in which the award was received is indicated in brackets:



  • Johannes Hans Daniel Jensen (1963)

    In 1963, J. Hans D. Jensen and Maria Goeppert-Mayer received the Nobel Prize in Physics "for their discoveries concerning nuclear shell structure”. From 1937, J. Hans D. Jensen was a lecturer in Theoretical Physics; he received an associate professorship in 1946, and held a professorship in Theoretical Physics at the former Technische Hochschule from 1946 to 1947.

    Further information on the laureate by the Nobel Foundation