Foundation council

The foundation council consists of seven members: five external members, one University Senate representative as well as one ministry representative. In addition to advising the university, making decisions on matters of fundamental importance to the foundation, and monitoring the activities of the Presidential Board, the foundation council has the following responsibilities:

  • Nominating, appointing or dismissing members of the university’s Presidential Board
  • Deciding on changes to and charges on basic assets as well as on taking out loans
  • Approving budgets
  • Receiving the accountability report of the Presidential Board
  • Determining the annual financial statement and discharging the foundation’s Presidential Board
  • Approving the foundation’s participation in businesses or start-ups
  • Supervising legal issues within the university
  • Resolving amendments to the foundation's statutes as well as issuing, amending or annulling other statutes of the foundation.


  • Dr. Ulrike Albrecht
    (Consultant for Global Research Cooperation and Internationalization Strategies; former head of the department Strategy and External Relations of the Humboldt Foundation)
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Falk
    (head of the Institute of Transplant Immunology at Hannover Medical School)
  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Fettweis
    (Vodafone Chair for Mobile Communications Systems at TU Dresden)
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Köster
    (member of the LUH Senate, professorship in the field of sanitary engineering at Leibniz University Hannover)
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Mlynek
    (chairperson, chairperson of the board of trustees of the Falling Walls Foundation, former president of the Helmholtz Association)
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Schachtner
    (state secretary, Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony)
  • Silke Sehm
    (executive board member of Hannover Rück SE)

Members in an advisory capacity

  • Prof. Dr. iur. Volker Epping (President)
  • Dr. Christoph Strutz (Senior Vice President)
  • Prof. Dr. Julia Gillen (Vice President for Education)
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Blume (Vice President for Research and Transfer)
  • Prof. Dr. rer. hort. Christina von Haaren (Vice President for International Affairs and Sustainability)
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Escher (Vice President for Human Resources Development)
  • Sarah Peters (equal opportunities officer)
  • Katja Bohne (staff council representative)
  • Maximilian Karl Matthias (student body representative)


Nina Moritz
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover
Nina Moritz
Welfengarten 1
30167 Hannover